We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here often” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay here often”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have had to travel weekly to DC and have stayed at this hotel most of the year. The hotel is always clean, the rooms are very professionally laid out and I can attest that you will feel welcomed here every time you check in. I would recommend staying here. Its very easy to get on the Toll way from here, and the Airport is really close.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for you continued loyalty to our property and brand. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our rooms, customer service, and location. Our team looks forward to your return, and we hope to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    234
    119
    49
    29
See reviews for
120
114
129
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed Sun 2nd to Fri 7th and was very happy with the quality of the hotel, nice room, very quiet despite being close to the airport and very good service from all of the staff. Moved downtown over the weekend, left most of my luggage here which was a real bonus. Checked back in on 10th Dec to a very tired looking room on the 1st floor, I asked for King, got Queen, non-smoking but the room smells smoky. Rang reception as soon as I got to the room but apparently the hotel is full, according to the website all room types are still available! Too tired to argue but it has spoilt my stay. Ready for bed and found out that the drapes don't close, which isn't great when you're on the first floor looking out onto the car park! Was happy the first week, not so much now.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Lou1311,

Thank you for your review. Our team is happy that you enjoyed the room quality and customer service. We do apologize that your return visit was not as pleasant as the first. I'm sorry for any issues you had with the room. These discrepencies will be discussed with our operations and engineering teams in order to correct them. We hope you can give us another chance to provide you with an experience more like your first one.

Warm Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

By the looks of the lobby I thought my room would feel the same. Check in and out ran smooth. Ate dinner in the restaurant, a bit too noisy for my liking. Room was a little outdated more was the bathroom. A hike to my room. Maybe I will try again another time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We appreciate your review and compliments on our lobby. We are also content that you were able to enjoy a smooth check-in and check-out process. I do apologize for any noise you encountered during dinner or room quality issues. Our team will consider your comments and suggestions in order to better the hotel.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This review addresses only the wheelchair access aspects of this hotel. For general comments, read other peoples’ reviews!

This hotel offers a wheelchair accessible airport shuttle bus. But only one of their shuttles is accessible so it has to be booked. On the night I stayed here, the accessible shuttle was "in the shop" and unavailable which is frustrating in the extreme. Perhaps having two accessible shuttles would be a good idea? The hotel staff was very apologetic, and booked a taxi for the morning which the hotel paid for. The manager made a point of meeting me to personally apologize.

There is a flat entrance to the hotel with automatic doors. There is level access throughout the lobby, bar and restaurant area.

I stayed in a two double bed room with tub (kudos to Hilton website that allows you to select a room to this level of detail). Room was on ground floor, a bit of a haul to get there from the lobby over thick carpet and a short ramp. The room is large and spacious, not over crammed with furniture. There is enough room between the beds to fit a wheelchair comfortably, access to either bed is no problem. The work desk is a little low and I was unable to wheel under it. The desk lamp has two easily accessed electric sockets. No wired internet that I could find, but the wifi worked well.

It took me a while to find the closet - unusually it is located in the bathroom. Closet has a bar at a comfortable height for hanging shirts etc. There are three light switches between the beds that allow you to turn off certain room lights from the bed. Experiment to find what which ones!

The bed is at a reasonable height for transfer, a little high but not as bad as many places.

Air conditioning unit has an easily accessed wall mounted temperature control (old style analog slider) but the on/off control is high on the wall and blocked by the armchair. If you want to turn it off you are out of luck.

The bathroom is large with plenty of turn space. Ample knee room under sink. Large mirror gives a decent view, but it is not angled so you won’t be able to see yourself completely. Toilet is easily accessible for transfer. Grab rails well positioned. The towels are stored on a shelf above the bath tub that is totally inaccessible from a wheelchair. The tub is easy to access but the grab rails are badly positioned and too high to assist in a transfer. They are fine for ambulant disabled. Once in the tub, the water controls are easy to reach. However, the hand held shower rose is mounted on a rail but even at its lowest point is too high for a wheelie to reach. There is no temperature cut-off so you need to be careful when adjusting the temperature to avoid scalding de-sensitized areas of your body.

Overall, the room is a bit tired and in need of a refurb. It's acceptable, but the recently redone rooms in the Marriott are nicer. But the Marriott only offers king size beds in the handicapped rooms which makes it useless if you are travelling with young kids. I would use the Hilton again if the price was right, or I needed to have two beds in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very good hotel for the business traveler.
Pros: close to airport, modern rooms, many conveniences. Mary at the executive lounge was very sweet And wished us safe travels. Great personal touch.
Cons: not a great hotel for leisure, very big. Our check in could have been friendlier, the guy didn't smile or greet us. Just asked for last name.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hilton is a venerable brand with a reputation of quality and connivence. Unfortunately, this particular branch needs a bit of work on their service. They have a great location near the Dulles International airport -very convenient! The have a restaurant and bar in the hotel. The restaurant has a breakfast buffet that I admittedly did not try but seems well stocked with a varied assortment of items to choose from. The bar is open late and has several snack items to go along with your drinks or beer. But the service didn't live up to the highest of Hilton standards. They DID try to correct the mistakes that were made (not cleaning the room one day and only partially cleaning it another day and giving the wrong instructions for getting picked up when we arrived), but I really think that the mistakes should not have been made in the first place. It's just a large hotel that doesn't have all of their staff "genned in" on the quality of service that they are more than capable of delivering per Hilton standards. Although there are other hotels closer or just as close, I would say if the connivence of being close to the airport is important to you, and you are a Hilton Honors member, then staying here will fit the bill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tbhines,

Thank you for your candid review. Our team is happy to know that you did like the location, and abundant selections we offer at the breakfast buffet. We take your comments and our custumer service very seriously. I'm very sorry if you experienced any delays or lapses in customer service. We do hope to redeem your service when you return to the area. It is our pleasure serving you, and we will discuss your comments with the appropriate directors.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October prior to flying back to Europe. Hotel has a complimentary shuttle running every 30 minutes non-stop 24/7 from IAD which is very convenient as its about a good 10-15 minute drive and a cab fare is about $15-$20 one-way. As hhonors gold got upgraded to a suite which was very large and appeared to be recently refurbished the bed was also extremely comfortable. The executive lounge was the usual US Hilton standard nothing exciting and breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Plenty to do for an airport hotel with a nice fitness centre and pool also it was very welcome that they had a complimentary shuttle to the Udvar hazy Air & Space museum and the shuttles were timed so as to coincide with the opening and closing times it was nice not having to pay for a taxi for once. Overall if ever traveling through IAD again I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#6 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Washington D.C. area's newest innovation in hotel guestroom design only at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests who visit our Dulles, VA hotel and stay in one of 155 Business & Executive accommodations to connect any digital device (computer, game console, DVD, MP3) to a 42" HDTV Plasma. Additionally, these rooms offer ultra-modern marble and granite baths with walk-in rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.