We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They tried...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“They tried...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hilton is a venerable brand with a reputation of quality and connivence. Unfortunately, this particular branch needs a bit of work on their service. They have a great location near the Dulles International airport -very convenient! The have a restaurant and bar in the hotel. The restaurant has a breakfast buffet that I admittedly did not try but seems well stocked with a varied assortment of items to choose from. The bar is open late and has several snack items to go along with your drinks or beer. But the service didn't live up to the highest of Hilton standards. They DID try to correct the mistakes that were made (not cleaning the room one day and only partially cleaning it another day and giving the wrong instructions for getting picked up when we arrived), but I really think that the mistakes should not have been made in the first place. It's just a large hotel that doesn't have all of their staff "genned in" on the quality of service that they are more than capable of delivering per Hilton standards. Although there are other hotels closer or just as close, I would say if the connivence of being close to the airport is important to you, and you are a Hilton Honors member, then staying here will fit the bill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tbhines,

Thank you for your candid review. Our team is happy to know that you did like the location, and abundant selections we offer at the breakfast buffet. We take your comments and our custumer service very seriously. I'm very sorry if you experienced any delays or lapses in customer service. We do hope to redeem your service when you return to the area. It is our pleasure serving you, and we will discuss your comments with the appropriate directors.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    240
    120
    50
    30
See reviews for
123
117
132
451
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October prior to flying back to Europe. Hotel has a complimentary shuttle running every 30 minutes non-stop 24/7 from IAD which is very convenient as its about a good 10-15 minute drive and a cab fare is about $15-$20 one-way. As hhonors gold got upgraded to a suite which was very large and appeared to be recently refurbished the bed was also extremely comfortable. The executive lounge was the usual US Hilton standard nothing exciting and breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Plenty to do for an airport hotel with a nice fitness centre and pool also it was very welcome that they had a complimentary shuttle to the Udvar hazy Air & Space museum and the shuttles were timed so as to coincide with the opening and closing times it was nice not having to pay for a taxi for once. Overall if ever traveling through IAD again I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here because we missed our flight out of Miami and the check in staff cancelled our reservation at another Hilton in Washington and transfered the rate over for a night here in Miami. They gave us some toiletries for free as well because our bags had gone, despite us not making it!

The rooms are large and and spacious, we had a great view over the lakes and airpot.

The Pool is nice and big and the food here and at the restaurant is very good for a chain hotel.

Our only issue was we ordred breakfast for 6:30AM as we had to leave for a morning flight at 7:15. Our breakfast arrived at 7:15 when we were walking out the door. We were not charged but I was hungry all day!

Room Tip: Get the newly refurbished rooms looking over the airport and pool. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear jimcohen,

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the spacious room and view. We are also happy that you enjoyed the quality of our food. I'm sorry that the breakfast was not delivered in a timely manner, and hope this does not discourage you from staying with us on your next visit to the Dulles area. We will speak with the appropriate directors in order to provide a more timely delivery next time.

Kind Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Everyone - Reception, waitrsses, shuttle bus drivers, room cleaners, were courteous and seemed genuinely friendly. Especvially notable were the Colmbian waitress in the Restaurant and the British lady attending in the Executive Lounge. It was a comfortable and spacious room with all we could need and the shuttle service both to the airport and the Air and Space Museum was a helpful bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Traveled for business. Very large hotel...definitely a good conference hotel. Rooms are a long walk away & hotel should look to refurbish in a couple years...it's age is definitely showing. Rooms were just okay. What I was most impressed with was the food! Staff was helpful & courteous. For a good price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Mel H,

Thank you for the review! Our team is pleased to know you enjoyed the service and food. We would hope you join us again on your next visit to the area. I will pass along your suggestions to the rest of the management.

Warm Regards,

William Matthews
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I love the deal where you can stay for one night only and then you can leave your car there and fly on holiday and then come back to collect the car. It is very conveniently if you fly out from Dulles. The Executive Room is comfortable, and the Junior Suite is even better. Got upgraded on my return. I love the food there too. Well worth staying there. The service was good, when our taxi did not show up - 5:00 am in the morning. The receptionist offered to drive us up if the taxi don't show up in the next 5 minutes. It did show up, apparently the controller of the taxi company sent the driver to the wrong hotel! None the less, I am a fan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Not too much time for sight seeing but this hotel made up for it. Great location for flights back to the UK. The staff service in this hotel stands head and shoulders above some of its competition. Large comfy rooms meant a great nights sleep. Business or pleasure this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#6 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Washington D.C. area's newest innovation in hotel guestroom design only at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests who visit our Dulles, VA hotel and stay in one of 155 Business & Executive accommodations to connect any digital device (computer, game console, DVD, MP3) to a 42" HDTV Plasma. Additionally, these rooms offer ultra-modern marble and granite baths with walk-in rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.