We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pool is Freezing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Sykesville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Pool is Freezing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just stayed here overnight in-between ice hockey games my son was playing in nearby. We decided on the Hilton for their reputation on being the best in the industry. My 3 boys just wanted a hotel to be able to swim at but this is definitely not the hotel for that. The indoor swimming pool is a FREEZING 79 DEGREES!. Other families were also complaining about the temperature. We just wanted to stay at a nice hotel with a nice indoor pool and have some nice family time. Instead we got jibbed. We left the hotel very disappointed and will not return to another Hilton Hotel. We were also in no smoking section of the hotel and you could smell the disgusting smoke walking down the hallway. They need to have workers walking the hallways to catch people breaking the laws.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Greg E,

I'm so sorry the pool was to cold for you. We are sorry that you feel you didnt get the value expected in your stay. Our team takes anyone smoking indoors very seriously and we will address this with the appropriate team members in order to correct and observe these issues better. We hope you don't count us out on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    262
    125
    50
    31
See reviews for
134
125
144
482
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just returned from our 50th high school reunion which was held at the Hilton Washington Dulles in Herndon, VA. The accommodations for just under 200 people were excellent. The hospitality suite, the large room for the Friday night "Meet and Greet" , and the ballroom for the dinner dance were all beautiful. The buffet was really yummy from the shrimp bisque, the salmon and steak, the wonderful roasted vegetables and the tiramisu and cheesecake...even the coffee was perfect! Kudos to all the staff at this fine hotel and a special thanks to Oscar who hosted and organized the event for the Hilton.

Peter and Carol, class of '62, Washington-Lee Highschool

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

No complaints! Room was comfortable, with great beds and a large bathroom. Complimentary food in the executive lounge was mire than adequate to serve as dinner; they served a full breakfast as well. Easy on and off the highway to Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you Marian TB!

We love getting feedback like this! Our team is so happy that you had no complaints, enjoyed your room, bed quality, bathroom size, shuttle service, and the executive lounge perks. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to the area! Thank you again on behalf of the whole Hilton Washington Dulles team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Overall very good hotel staff was friendly as usual, but the thing really made it special - was the breakfast, everything you can ask for and outstanding service. Service was very good in every turn. Shuttle service worked well both ways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This Hilton Hotel is neither disappointing nor surprising. Close call to IAD (Washington Dulles) , Close call to Business park where my Company seats it is the most handy location for me. General update is required about ambiance, rooms deco or Gym, but its is enough for what I need. Not a place for a romance. Staff is well trained & reactive, food could be better, overall good experience. No bad surprise, no good surprise.

Room Tip: Only for Travelers & immediate Business Neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank You Eric D,

We really appreciate your review, and we will discuss with the appropriate directors and managers in order to improve upon what you mentioned in your review. Thank you again for the compliment on our staff being well trained. We really take pride in good customer service. Our team is happy to serve you, and is looking forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here by accident when I missed my connection to get to Lewisburg, WV. I spent an entire day there as the next flight wasn't for 24 hours.

Check in was speedy and my room was quiet and comfortable. The gym was very well equipped. I couldn't use the pool as my luggage had gone ahead, but it looked very inviting.

I made the best of my 'day off' and had a badly needed haircut from the salon at the hotel. Emily was the proprietor and is very experienced and did a great job. I also got a Thai massage from the salon which was also excellent.

At breakfast the buffet choices were very good. Very helpful service from Gladys. The other staff is very well trained and friendly.

You do pay for internet in your room but it is free in the lobby, where I opted to wait after checkout before heading to the airport.

The shuttle from the airport to the hotel seems to come less often than the other airport hotels and arrived after about a half hour of waiting. Going back to the airport was no problem, the drivers are helpful and the shuttle leaves every half hour.

The hotel is isolated, not much within walking distance that I could see. It is close to the Space Museum annex and the shuttle will take you to other nearby places free of charge, but not into DC.

Overall a pleasant experience and I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Where to begin?

I could start with the hotel shuttle driving right past me on a rainy night. Or perhaps taking my shoes off in the room and stepping on to a wet carpet, or eating their food and getting sick or experiencing THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE I've ever received in a Hilton brand property.

This was a forced stay as my flight was cancelled and the earliest flight that I could take wasn't until early the next morning. Not in the best of moods, especially on a raw and rainy night, I was simply astounded at the fact that the shuttle bus drove right past me and didn't even stop. When I called the hotel to see when the next shuttle was to arrive, I was told "about 45 minutes". In the ten minutes I had already waited, I saw multiple shuttles doing their circuits to the airport....the Marriott, the Hyatt, Holiday Inn, but not the Hilton. This was an ominous start.

Upon check in, I was actually immediately impressed by the lobby. Recently refurbished and done suprisingly well, I was hoping for a good stay, especially based on the excellent experience I had the previous week at the Minneapolis Airport Hilton. Check in with Alex with super efficient, professional and quick. Walking down the halls to the hotel I started to get an ominous feeling with the long dark hallways and the facility looking older and more worn out with each step.

The rooms are large, actually very large but unfortunately, the are also very old. It looks tired, smells stale and is in need of a a major refresh. When I took off my shoes, I realized immediately that the carpet was wet. What a disgusting feeling. I don't even want to begin to think about what the wetness was from. I immediately ordered rooms service and was actually pleasantly surprised by how fast the food arrived. How fast I vomited after eating this meal (no joke) was equally a surprise. Within 45 minutes of eating a meal of of their generic menu, I was throwing up violently.

To say that my experience with the front desk was tense after three poor experience in less than 90 minutes would be a significant understatement. Admittedly,I lost my cool after going around in circles with one apathetic front desk clerk. In my years of traveling, both in the United States and in abroad, in properties that were five stars to guest houses in rural China, I have never met such an unprofessional, poorly trained, patronizing excuse for a company representative. Zero empathy. Questioned my honesty about getting sick. Offered no solutions. Accountability was a foreign term to him and it showed. Apathetic and condescending, this person sullies the entire Hilton brand and is an embarrasment to the entire organization.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Keith T,

On behalf of our whole team I apologize for your experience at the hotel. We are sorry about the shuttle, room quality, food and beverage issue you had with us. Our aim is to provide excellent customer service at our hotel and am very sorry for these lapses. I'm sorry for the weather and wait you had to endure for the next shuttle to arrive. I'm pleased you enjoyed you were impressed by the lobby, and efficiency by Alex at the front desk. We are also sorry for the room service experience. I do apologize for the negative experience you had with the customer service from the front desk. I share a deep regret for any lack of empathy you had by any front desk agent. Please email me directly for further assistance at greg.langweg@dulleshilton.com. This will help me further to identify and correct the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#4 Family Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Washington D.C. area's newest innovation in hotel guestroom design only at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests who visit our Dulles, VA hotel and stay in one of 155 Business & Executive accommodations to connect any digital device (computer, game console, DVD, MP3) to a 42" HDTV Plasma. Additionally, these rooms offer ultra-modern marble and granite baths with walk-in rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.