We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos for an employee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Miramar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kudos for an employee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I would like to extend a very special thanks to Lynne Weeks. Speaking for all the members of our team that travels and stays in many hotels during the year, we all wish to express our very special thanks for making our stay at the Dulles Hilton a very good experience. She is thoughtful, extremely helpful and goes out of her way to make our stay a very special time. THANKS Lynne.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadra, Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear gordon s
Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel. Our guests are our highest priority and it is always good to hear how we are doing.
It’s great to get feedback on associates doing what they do best - I will be sure that Lynne Weeks sees your feedback, and we look forward to your return when next your travels take you this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    234
    119
    49
    29
See reviews for
120
114
129
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel is in a horrible location in a light industrial/warehouse park and is extremely dates. The plan requires you to walk up to a quarter mile to your hotel room from the front desk. While this is good for burning calories, its very time consuming for the business traveler. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadra, Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Susan_Henderson
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our property. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We do provide shuttle service within a 3 mile radius to nearby restaurants and stores for our entire guest. I do hope you give us another chance so we can provide you with that service. Once again thank you for leaving us a review If you’re ever in the area please feel free to contact me at Jadranka.belajic@dulleshilton.com See we can accommodate your needs a little better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I am a weekly guest at the Hilton. I can honestly say that it feels like my second home. Everyone knows my name and is so friendly. They answer my questions, give me an upgrade when they can and treat me special. The hotel is clean, smells nice and the rooms are great. I want to mention that Lynn in the Executive lounge and Winston in the bar are my two fav. people. They are VERY nice and make me feel important. They are friendly and seem to really enjoy their job. Keep up the good hiring! I would recc. this hotel to anyone that is coming to visit and especially if the person is staying for any extended period of time. The only bad thing I would say is the spa is horrible. I had the worst pedicure of all time. Small and obviously not owned by Hilton.

Room Tip: go for the big shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadra, Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello Dear SierraCindy
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate very much all of the guest reviews and feedback that we receive and take them very seriously. Thank you for your complements of our staff I will pass them on to the team. We strive to create a welcoming and friendly...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We only stayed at the Hilton - Dulles as a result of a cancelled flight. So really, United put us up. With that said, the Hilton name made me think I was in for a pleasant treat. Nothing could have been further from the truth.

For one, the room was roasting hot when we walked in. I chalked it up to the sun beating on the windows on an abnormally hot day. So I turned the thermostat to the coolest temp noticing how weird it was that the thermostat was upside down. Five hours later when engineering finally showed up after our complaints, he said the thermostat was incorrectly installed AND should not have been upside down. In other words, I was cranking the heat up the whole time.

Secondly, we requested a crib for our 21-month-old when we checked in. He was in desperate need of a nap. After 45 minutes and no crib, I called the front desk and a crib arrived after another 15 minutes.

Third, the fixtures in the bathroom are ones I know well: they are old fixtures I ripped out of apartments I bought and renovated. Although the beds were fairly comfy though a little small, the room felt like an old apartment with little regard paid to aesthetics.

Finally, the service was poor. This hotel is a popular place for airlines to book passengers. So you'd think the Front Desk - and waitstaff - would acknowledge that and explain the limitations. When I asked the Front Desk what my limit was for food with my voucher, she said there was no limit. Turns out she did not reveal the whole story. Sure, there was no limit to what I could order. But the voucher was only good for $10. Would have avoided a hassle in the restaurant had this been clear up front.

Then there was the breakfast staff that argued with each other in Spanish only yards from customers. It left us feeling uncomfortable in the face of trying to comfort our 21-month-old.

On a different note, the gym was fantastic! Easily one of the best hotel gyms I have ever experienced.

And on one more different note, the space shuttle was shipped to Dulles while we were at the hotel. It would have been nice if the hotel made people aware of it or - dare I say - made special accommodations outside for those interested. We had a decent view but it was purely by chance no thanks to the Hilton.

Overall, we had low expectations for an airport hotel and the Hilton Dulles still failed to meet those expectations. Choose another place if possible.

Room Tip: West side rooms got warm due to sun exposure. Plus are exposed to the adjacent highway. Find a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadra, Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear tikiskis
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for all the issues you encountered during your stay. I could understand your frustrations about the thermostat in the room being installed incorrectly we will make sure to double check our guest rooms so this issue does not reoccur again. I do apologize that it took so long we definitely try our best to deliver request as soon as possible. Dulles Hilton strides to provided the best service possible to every single guest that walks through our doors.I hope you will give us a chance to show you the great service we provide at The Dulles Hilton. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Americas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

There was no shuttle bus at the airport. I had to take a cab. The attendant asked me for my name. I pulled out my HHonors Gold Card. First thing out of his mouth was: "This is a Priceline reservation and we cannot honor HHonors." Well, needless to say, I did not get reimbursed my taxi fare (a $13.00 ripoff by any standard for a 5 minute ride). I could not get access to the Executive Lounge (the attendant said he couldn't). I asked for a non-smoking room near the lobby. Got a smoking room about a mile from the lobby. At least it was of a good size. There was no regular coffee, only decaf and basic amenities. Feels more like a Comfort Inn than a Hilton (Sorry Conrad). My feeling is that they discriminate against Priceline travelers and make all the perks particularly difficult to get.

Room Tip: Don't book with Priceline
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadra, Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello ViajeroESQ
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I do apologize for the issues that occurred during your stay. We do provide shuttle to and from the Dulles Airport from 5am-1am, our shuttle departs from the hotel on the hour and half hour. Whenever a guest books through a 3rd party their HHonors account would not be able to get credit for that stay, however we do honor your tier and benefits. I do apologize about being placed in a smoking room. We hope you would think of your experience as an isolated incident and not allow it to permanently mar your impression of the Hilton Dulles hotel. Please allow us another opportunity to restore your confidence and we will do everything we can to ensure that your future stays with us are pleasant and event free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

the layout requires some unneeded walking...club level was decent

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadra, Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear CamasFrank
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. I do apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. I understand the frustration of your room being far. If you’re ever in the area please feel free to contact me at Jadranka.belajic@dulleshilton.com See we can accommodate your needs a little better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mims florida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I require 4 things from a Hotel and for 16 years Hilton have provided them. But not the Dulles Airport Hilton. I like to relax in a jacuzzi/hot tub. This hotel on its website says it has one. When we checked in at 3pm I said we were looking forward to using the hot tub immediately and nobody said anything. The Hotel literature handed us and in the rooms (upgraded thank you) said pool open 3pm- 10pm. . But after having dressed for action and descended to the pool/tub we found it bolted and barred . Now 5-9 pm, and 3 hours in the morning. I complained and was told it was the lunatics of Fairfax County who insisted on a lifeguard. It was agreed this restricted access is not mentioned on their webiste. The Director of Operations did not contact me as the Assistant Manager said he/she would.
Then at 5pm we enter Concierge Lounge to find we have to buy alcohol. Now if I can afford to stay in Hiltons and fly BIz I can afford to buy wine at $5 a throw. But that is not the point of these lounges. 2 nights before we were in the Doubletree Charlottesville same State with unlimited wine/beer and 24 hour access to the hot tub/pool. This policy of the Dulles Airport hotel downgrades the Hilton brand. CONSISTENCY is required.
Dinner was ok with a foreign waitress aho did not understand us.
When we did manage to access pool/tub it was good.
The rooms were fine if dated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadra, Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear gwgMimsFlorida
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. I do apologize about the mix up with the pool hours, Our Indoor pool is open Monday-Friday from 6am-9am and 5pm-10pm Saturday-Sunday from 9am-10pm. Yes that is correct Fairfax County does require us to have life guard present when the pool is open without a life guard the pool can not be used by our guest. I do apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. Our Executive Lounge does offer our guest complementary non alcoholic beverages, most Hiltons do charge for alcoholic drinks. I will make sure to pass down your comments to our F&B manger. Please feel free to contact me at Jadranka.Belajic@dulleshilton.com so we can discuss a little more about your the issues you encountered while at our property. Once again thank you for leaving us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#6 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Washington D.C. area's newest innovation in hotel guestroom design only at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests who visit our Dulles, VA hotel and stay in one of 155 Business & Executive accommodations to connect any digital device (computer, game console, DVD, MP3) to a 42" HDTV Plasma. Additionally, these rooms offer ultra-modern marble and granite baths with walk-in rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.