We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harvest of India
364 Elden St. (Jonquil Ln.), Herndon, VA 20170
703-471-8149
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 178 restaurants in Herndon
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Izmir Turkey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I get here occasionally although we no longer live in the area. The variety is good and for those who know good Indian food, it is a pleasure to eat here. I am always impressed by how well they do the basics and for me it all starts with the rice (exceptional) and the garlic naan. Love the lamb and chicken in all of their varieties and of course it pairs well with good Indian beer. Our favorite waiter is no longer there but our enjoyment of the food is unabated.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    7
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The first and original Indian restaurant in Herndon, VA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

What an amazing lunch buffet. Friday is always filled with the frequent favorites -- a teaser to bring you and your friends back over the weekend. I have been eating at this restaurant since 1997. It is always clean and service is excellent. I talked with the owner and he cleans the carpet very frequently so you do not smell like the food and restaurant after you depart. This is an amazing restaurateur he has had many successful restaurants. His first ten were opened for Panasonic in Japan before venturing to America for the "American Dream" I read the other reviews -- Indian is an amazing food and so much variety -- very difficult to satisfy everyone. If you are looking for amazing Indian food for the American palate, as in not requiring gallons of water to feel your mouth or to brag about how hot of food you can eat, but want instead vast and deep flavors, this is the place to start your Indian food discovery.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice Late Evening Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I got to the hotel late and needed a quick but nice bite.

This was the right place.

The fish curry was superb.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telchac Puerto, Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Lamb was superb but the chicken dry as cardboard. Vegetables barely cooked. Very little sauce with the dishes. Overall not so good, not our go to place for good Indian any more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our go-to Indian restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love this restaurant! Have been many times, and it is always great. Our children are adopted from India, and they are always welcomed as special guests. Price is reasonable; service is always friendly and attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest of India also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Harvest of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.