We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite of all times!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charcoal Kebab

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charcoal Kebab
394 Elden St. (Herndon Pkwy.), Herndon, VA 20170
703-435-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 180 Restaurants in Herndon
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Afghan
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Chantilly, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A favorite of all times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I have been a patron of the Afghani kabob place for years. I was introduced here by a friend on my visit from Middle East back in the 90's. Once it used to be one of the very few options for kabob in that neighborhood of Fairfax county. The prices were so low for an excellent dish of chicken or beef complete with bread, rice, salad and chickpeas, about $7. Lately they have increased the price to about $12-15 range, but not $20 as mentioned in Tripadvisor. The dollar figure will be reached if drinks and dessert are added though. Apart from flagship kabob menu, I like their chicken curry hands down. My daughter loves the Kashmiri chai. On weekdays, the place is frequented by IT gurus for lunch from all around as it is located near the Dulles high tech corridor. Food is still good, but fierce competition has spruced up in this decade with many kabob houses in Fairfax as well as in Loudoun counties, some offering lower prices. On certain occasions in recent years, I have not found the place to be always spic and span, that deters me to give them an all out five. To be fair, I have sensed that the cleanliness has improved a bit since last year. Variety of tasty food, reasonable price and decades old establishment serving halal. You cannot go wrong here!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Good food good value no frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Got some lamb kebabs takeout one evening. The place is in a plaza with Kmart. Bare bones interior and no alcohol served. But the lamb was cooked to perfection and very tasty. Nice selection of sides and a basmati rice. The included salad is not worth mentioning. But the prices were reasonable and the meat very good so I rate it a 4. The side lentils were quite spicy in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting, tasty food for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went with a group of ten including 4 kids. They let us use the private room. The lamb dishes were excellent. The bread is made fresh and the rice is perfect. Food took a few minutes to arrive and you eat cafeteria style but with our group well worth it to save money. They made our dishes mild as we requested.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment. Friends agree.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Never a disappointment. The meats are tender and amazing. There is a wide variety of sides to choose. The salad is always fresh. The rice is perfect. If you want to experience the best tandoori grilled meats -- this is the place. I always get the super combo #4 with three meats: chicken, lamb, and keema kabob. I have introduced others to the restaurant and their expression upon "first taste" says it all. Since 2000 when in Herndon, VA I always go out of my way to stop in and have never had a disappointment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine for fast food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Flavorful and nicely presented serve yourself when your nber is called. Plastic utensils type place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Kebab also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Charcoal Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charcoal Kebab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.