We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kebab in Northern Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charcoal Kebab

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charcoal Kebab
394 Elden St. (Herndon Pkwy.), Herndon, VA 20170
703-435-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 178 restaurants in Herndon
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Afghan
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Reston, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Kebab in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place is one of the oldest Kebab places in Northern Virginia - an area that has a lot of people of middle eastern descent. The food is excellent. I have to repeat that - excellent. The bread, the best I have ever had of this type.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    35
    18
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, NJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food in a Strip Mall setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have not visited this area all that often, so this makes only our second time eating here. Although the decor and the chairs and tables are your basic strip mall eatery, for both times eating ihere the food has been really quite good and reasonably priced for all that you get. We had Chicken, Lamb and Keema Kababs, all of which exceeded our expectations and left us both satisfied and satiated. Since we don't have anyplace like this near to where we live, we look forward to visiting in this area again so we can add a third (and likely more) visit(s) to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent kebab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've been going there for about 15 years, and it's still lone of our favorites. It's a no frills, family oriented restaurant, with very good food,and friendly atmosphere. We love the chicken kebab with the side of chick peas. I highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Kebab in Herndon, VA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Kebab are okay but I have tasted better, prices are average. Abrupt to answer the phone and take your money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I stumbled across this place in 1997 and this is still my favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The lamb and chicken kabobs are FANTASTIC... the homeade bread is made by spreading the dough out on a pillow and pressing it up inside a stone igloo shaped oven... get the chick peas as the side dish with the batsmati rice and you are set! If you really want the full experience, get the Sambosa as the appetizer (it's a fried pastry with curried veggies inside... ) I can't describe how great all of this tastes... you have to try it to believe it.

You will not leave hungry... (large portions, very reasonable cost)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Kebab also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County

Been to Charcoal Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charcoal Kebab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.