We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start your day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anita's Mexican Food

Anita's Mexican Food
701 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4635
703-481-1441
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 182 Restaurants in Herndon
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Herndon, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Great way to start your day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My fiance and I have breakfast at Anita's about once a month. The food is always delicicious and the service is great--you never have to ask for a refill of chips, water, or coffee. Greate place to go if you want to get away from traditional breakfast food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    7
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Syria
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Now the Best Mexican or New Mexican Food in Herndon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I ate twice at Anita's on this last trip to the States. The food is always good but never great!!

My old Mexican Restaurant in Herndon has closed so now Anita's ranks number one in Northern Virginia.

I did have a nice lunch there as well as a good brunch last Sunday.

The menu is very comprehensive and they have a nice selection of imported beer.

Service is always good, so it is now my place to enjoy solid New Mexican or Mexican Food in Herndon, Virginia.

Hopefully you too will enjoy it!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mex style food - marginal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Living in the Southwest for many years. this establishment is OK at best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Good Service, Good Margarita and Pretty Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I am from Texas and use to Tex-Mex. Have had Anita's breakfast burritos and they are excellent, but never tried an actual meal. I was surprised (Virginia does not have good Mexican food in my opinion) by how good the enchiladas were. Almost thought I was back in Texas The frozen margarita was excellent too. Are kids ordered fajitas, chicken with rice and my husband had a burrito. Everyone enjoyed their food and the portions were large. Our waiter was very nice and great service. The salsa had a bit of a kick to it. The chips were good but were not as thin as I personally like. They do not have black beans, just refried and pinto. Be warned -- the decor is a "hole in a wall" joint.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Breakfast Burrito's that make your mouth water..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

If you have not tried them yet, you are missing out! Stop by and get a brekafast burrito. What a great pick me up in the morning, and at a great price! From 1.89 for en egg, cheese, and potatoe, to high $2 for one with egg, spinich, and onion (the popeye).

If you want an even bigger meal, have a seat instead of going to the take out window, and they will give you a breakfast burrito (chorizo is my favorite)... with home fries with chili sauce on the potatoes and the burrito.

If you havent' tried it. you're missing out!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anita's Mexican Food also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Anita's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anita's Mexican Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.