We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zeffirelli Ristorante Italiano

Zeffirelli Ristorante Italiano
728 Pine St, Herndon, VA 20170-4660
703-318-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zeffirelli Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 173 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
South Riding, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We got together with friends for dinner and went to Zeffirelli's. It is old school Italian and we always have a great meal. Once on Christmas Eve, we went there for lunch and we got a $25 gift certificate as a thank you!

On our visit last Saturday, we all had wine and the wine-list is quite nice. I like chicken parm, but everybody else had seafood pasta or veal. The portions are on the smaller side - this is not the cheesecake factory. We like the service, the waiter came by several times to check on us, but was not overbearing. A waiter is not supposed to be your friend - he brings you food and drink and ensures that your meal is done correctly.

Plenty of bread and olive oil, cheese on our mains and of course we gorged ourselves with dessert and coffee.

They are on Open Table so it easy to make reservations and they have parking in back. Once again the food was great and we are definitely going back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian lasagna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I ordered the stuff salmon which was very good but my date ordered the lasagna and I tasted. It's homemade and the best I ever had It was a Wednesday and the place was packed Plan to go back when Im in Virginia again Real Italian waiters with real accents and Italian charm

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent service, well prepared dishes; nice atmosphere. This is a great spot for an elegant lunch. There were no negatives.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderfully good Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great italian cuisine with an innovative touch -(veal lasagna). Wonderful service and an extensive wine list. Not too be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wait staff very observant, thank goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a very nice, refined restaurant. The food is very good. What stands out in my mind is that my husband and I were seated a very small table and while looking over the menu, my husband's menu caught on fire from the candle. A very alert waiter from across the room, saw what was happening and with the utmost of valor and calm, gently removed the menu from my husband's hand (we had not yet noticed the fire) and replaced it with another menu. Never did this waiter act like anything unusual was happening. THAT is the sign of a great waiter. We totally enjoyed our meal and the wines.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeffirelli Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Zeffirelli Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeffirelli Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.