We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals i've had in my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar
760 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4638
703-471-4256
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 178 restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals i've had in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

me and my girlfriend got the crab boil and it was amazing. we eat out a lot and this is one of the best places to eat seafood, everything is fresh, local and full of flavor. Beautiful ocean view on patio dock, not too expensive either for what you get. Definately will go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    28
    19
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, with jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are a lot of things to like about this place- great staff, quite good food, good wine list and often good jazz. I really enjoy the Cajun variations- prawns and grits, jambalaya, and the bread pudding is considerably above average. The staff is friendly and Dan can talk to you about wine and cocktails all night long. I don't know if they would want me to tell you this, but they are patient about letting you finish your evening even if you are the last ones in the place, and they are waiting for you to finish to close. The jazz is good, covers a wide spectrum of genres, but will not be excessively intrusive on conversation if that's what you're there for. Atmosphere is cozy and warm and intimate- not some coldish chain where every dish is market-researched. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilghman, Maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Music and food, what's not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I made a reservation since I did not know what to expect, but it probably wasn't necessary. The place had a crowd at 7:30, but even so there were tables available. The music started right about 7:30 and you could be seated near the music or in the back room away from the music. There was also bar seating, if you just wanted music and a drink. The waiter was friendly and gave ideas of what was good. We had a clam chowder, which was very good and they have some great sourdough bread to start. I had the special, Mahi broiled, with red cabbage and rice on the side. My friend had Salmon, which was a bit saturated in sauce and oils, but still edible. Same sides are served with all entree's. They had Virginia beers on tap and the one I chose, a brown, was great. Bill for one Soup, 2 entrees, a beer and coffee was 75 The music that night was so-so, but they have different acts all the time. We would definitely go back. Seems popular with locals as the bar was packed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“popular with locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

On a solo business trip, I wanted to patronize a non-chain restaurant. This one is pretty good but not especially comfortable if you're dining alone. It is way too dark to read at the table, and service to me was rushed. It seemed to be better paced to tables with four people (it was a Tuesday night but the place was almost full--obviously popular with locals). Decor is dark too, knotty pine with too many taxidermy things on the wall (deer heads, fish, etc). Menu is heavy on the fish--I had the glazed salmon and apple pie, which were pretty good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Live jazz music & find food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I've been to Ice House many times over the past 20 years. It is among the dwindling few restaurants that still offer live music (Fridays-Saturdays). The music is typically a jazz combo which compliments the dinner does not overwhelm the experience with too much volume. It's a wonderful date night venue!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice House Cafe & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.