We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food, OK service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matsutake Sushi & Steak House

Matsutake Sushi & Steak House
13049 Worldgate Dr, Herndon, VA 20170-4374
(703) 787-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 181 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK food, OK service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Matsutake is a Japanese steakhouse. I generally like the hibachi grill. Service is a bit slow, partly because there's usually a wait to fill up more of the seats around the grill (it is communal-style seating around the grill). Food is plentiful, but I find the fried rice to be bland. Vegetables are often undercooked to my taste, and meat is often overcooked. It's entertaining, as the chef prepares the food in front of you. Some are better and more entertaining than others; some are VERY pushy about guests trying to catch bits of shrimp that he tosses from the grill in their mouths. Overall, it's generally a good meal. I go fairly often.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Geat deal Sunday nights with discounts for hibatchi. Sushi was good, not great but price was reasonable, service was very good and food was good. We had a good time and our "chef" did the trick!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Fun Hibachi experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

With a small group the Hibatchi Grill is very enjoyable and entertaining. However we had mixed results on the food. Try the fillet minion it was tender and cooked to mostly the correct temperature. The shrimp however -- way over cooked. What was I thinking? So hard to get shrimp right. These were on the grill for 5 to 8 minutes...hard, chewy. Don't order shrimp.

I didn't try the sushi or other menu items so can't speak to those. But ordering off the menu may be your best bet. I'll try that next time. Service was attentive. Prices reasonable. The Buffett and other specials sound good. Wish we had known.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The food & the special & consistant service makes this restaurant exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

It's one of my favorite spots at Herndon. My friend & I, visit Herndon 2 to 3 times a month. We always go there either once or twice a week. The manager, Mr. Peter & all of ther waiters/servers & cooks, go above & beyond their ways to make us feel very special & have a great time. The food is awsome. The daily buffet, of sushi, soups, salads along with appetisers go with all palets such as chicken wings & baked oysters, worths every penny. The sushi special, 50% off on Fridays & Saturdays id really appreciated! The 30% of Hibachi on Sundays, make this restaurant very tempting! Great spot for a solo, family or a romantic evening! Wine selection is smart. Who would ask for more than yumy & hand craved food, very good wine & an excellent service with an affordable price?! I always come back & I recommend it to whoever like to have an enjoyable & special time. Thank you all. See you when I come back this coming Monday!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sushi & Tempura okay. Waiters not nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Sushi & Tempura was good. Small sushi however. Ordered Kani Maki and the six pieces were very small. The shrimp/vegetable tempura was very good.
The waiter and the guy making the sushi were very unfriendly. My flight was delayed for 6 hours and I drop by late (around 9pm). Waiters felt they've had enough for the day. Very unfriendly. Left a a tip and when saying goodbye after my mail they didn't even return my greetings.
Very unfriendly staff to say the least.....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsutake Sushi & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Matsutake Sushi & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsutake Sushi & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.