We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Never Crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan East

Hunan East
2533 John Milton Dr., Herndon, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 180 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Description: Neighborhood Chinese restaurant that just remodeled beautifully and added a sushi bar, making it a whole lot better than before.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Good Food and Never Crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This place reopened in the Fox Mill shopping center about a year ago. Each time we've gone in it's never been crowded, but not because of the food. It's actually very good, reasonably priced, and the service is excellent. I've had much worse Chinese food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

They have done a great job in renovating this place. Overall, the food is good. I don't think they should charge $1.50 for a small container of white rice when we dined in and asked for a box to take the rest home. This policy is bad and it cost the water $1 out of his tip. Stop being cheap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good neighborhood Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This restaurant has recently been remodeled and the food has improved greatly. We will be returning regularly. It's a really nice surprise to find truly well prepared and beautifully served Chinese restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

AWESOME Szechuan‏ Beef; spicy the way it should be. AMAZINGLY large portions.
DEFINITELY not a dine in atmosphere.
PHENOMENAL Value.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This one is a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This restaurant is hidden away in an ordinary shopping center, but well worth seeking it out. Newly redecorated in recent months, the menu is an extensive one, with all of the traditional Asian and Oriental selections and a more than ordinary sushi items. The prices are right and the portions ample, I had the General Tso's shrimp, the shrimp were plump and the serving generous, the tangy sauce was fresh and tasty.. The atmosphere is pleasant and the service is excellent, our waiter took time to make several recommendations, explaining each in detail,..

If you tend towards the best cuisine at moderate prices, you are going to love this one. We noticed several family groups on our visit, with children of all ages digging in with the adults.

We looked at a lunch menu that includes a number of selections from the main menu at $6,95.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan East also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Hunan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.