We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Never Crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan East

Hunan East
2533 John Milton Dr., Herndon, VA
7034761706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 202 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Neighborhood Chinese restaurant that just remodeled beautifully and added a sushi bar, making it a whole lot better than before.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
381 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good Food and Never Crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This place reopened in the Fox Mill shopping center about a year ago. Each time we've gone in it's never been crowded, but not because of the food. It's actually very good, reasonably priced, and the service is excellent. I've had much worse Chinese food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
381 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

They have done a great job in renovating this place. Overall, the food is good. I don't think they should charge $1.50 for a small container of white rice when we dined in and asked for a box to take the rest home. This policy is bad and it cost the water $1 out of his tip. Stop being cheap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good neighborhood Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This restaurant has recently been remodeled and the food has improved greatly. We will be returning regularly. It's a really nice surprise to find truly well prepared and beautifully served Chinese restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

AWESOME Szechuan‏ Beef; spicy the way it should be. AMAZINGLY large portions.
DEFINITELY not a dine in atmosphere.
PHENOMENAL Value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DannyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This one is a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This restaurant is hidden away in an ordinary shopping center, but well worth seeking it out. Newly redecorated in recent months, the menu is an extensive one, with all of the traditional Asian and Oriental selections and a more than ordinary sushi items. The prices are right and the portions ample, I had the General Tso's shrimp, the shrimp were plump and the serving generous, the tangy sauce was fresh and tasty.. The atmosphere is pleasant and the service is excellent, our waiter took time to make several recommendations, explaining each in detail,..

If you tend towards the best cuisine at moderate prices, you are going to love this one. We noticed several family groups on our visit, with children of all ages digging in with the adults.

We looked at a lunch menu that includes a number of selections from the main menu at $6,95.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waylward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan East also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Hunan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing