We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good neighborhood Chinese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan East

Hunan East
2533 John Milton Dr., Herndon, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 178 restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Neighborhood Chinese restaurant that just remodeled beautifully and added a sushi bar, making it a whole lot better than before.
Restaurant details
Description: Neighborhood Chinese restaurant that just remodeled beautifully and added a sushi bar, making it a whole lot better than before.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good neighborhood Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This restaurant has recently been remodeled and the food has improved greatly. We will be returning regularly. It's a really nice surprise to find truly well prepared and beautifully served Chinese restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    6
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

AWESOME Szechuan‏ Beef; spicy the way it should be. AMAZINGLY large portions.
DEFINITELY not a dine in atmosphere.
PHENOMENAL Value.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This one is a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This restaurant is hidden away in an ordinary shopping center, but well worth seeking it out. Newly redecorated in recent months, the menu is an extensive one, with all of the traditional Asian and Oriental selections and a more than ordinary sushi items. The prices are right and the portions ample, I had the General Tso's shrimp, the shrimp were plump and the serving generous, the tangy sauce was fresh and tasty.. The atmosphere is pleasant and the service is excellent, our waiter took time to make several recommendations, explaining each in detail,..

If you tend towards the best cuisine at moderate prices, you are going to love this one. We noticed several family groups on our visit, with children of all ages digging in with the adults.

We looked at a lunch menu that includes a number of selections from the main menu at $6,95.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great renovation, great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This has been our local Chinese place for many, many years. We have done a lot of take out here and sometimes eat in. With the major interior makeover to this place we now really enjoy eating in the dining room. It looks nothing like it used to. The decor is professionally done and look just fantastic. It has a quiet atmosphere and is great if you want to have a relaxed conversation with your table mate. The lighting is a perfect low level for dinner and the seats are comfortable. The menu has been updated and we especially like the various stir fry dishes. Service is always good and they are very attentive. We'll continue to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“same name, new experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Although we'd been unimpressed with the food in years past, we decided to try it again, since they were advertising a new menu. The interior is a complete make-over, and very pleasant and relaxing. Although there are TVs next to the bar, it's never been noisy. Service has always been good.

Over several visits we've tried their Singapore-style noodles, their beef noodle soup, kung pao pork, and pad thai. All were quite good: plenty of flavor (spicy but not too), and not greasy. The portions are large enough that they usually wind up as lunch the next day as well.

I tried their lime-sake drink, which had far too much lime. The waiter asked what I thought; I told him, and I very quickly had a replacement that was much better balanced.

We're very glad to have pleasant restaurant with good food in the vicinity. We'll be there regularly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan East also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Hunan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.