We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“community theatre done right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elden Street Players Industrial Strength Theater

Elden Street Players Industrial Strength Theater
269 Sunset Park Drive, Herndon, VA 20170
703-481-5930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Attractions in Herndon
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A theater where none of the 114 seats is more than 25 feet from the stage. Founded in 1988, Elden Street Players provides high-quality theatrical productions to the diverse local community at a price that is an unbeatable value.
Herndon, VA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“community theatre done right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

ESP is a small community theatre located in the Herndon/Reston area. I've been a season subscriber for several years and have enjoyed every performance. As the management likes to boast, it costs less to subscribe to ESP for a season than it costs to go to one Kennedy Center performance. And given the small, intimate size of the ESP theatre, you are never more than a few feet away from the performance.

ESP is located in the back of a small business park, and fortunately there are several nice restaurants nearby. So it's always a dinner and show when my wife and I go. Shows are held Thursdays through Sundays evenings, in addition to the occasional matinees.

Don't go expecting Broadway (or even off Broadway) performances. This is community theatre, and it should be enjoyed for what it is. At present, actors volunteer their time and energy, and some are better than others. My favorite performances are the musicals, especially when they attract actors from George Mason University. (However ESP has recently announced that they are going to pursue a for-profit status which will allow them to pay--and perhaps attract--higher caliber actors.)

ESP's website (www.eldenstreetplayers.org) provides all necessary details about the theatre, its location, list of shows, how to buy tickets, and so forth. In general, most shows start at 8PM and last about 2 hours, including a short 15 to 20 minute intermission.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Manager at Elden Street Players Industrial Strength Theater, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review!

As you pointed out, we're very much looking forward to our upcoming expansion into "NextStop Theatre Company", the first major professional theatre company serving the entire Dulles Technology Corridor.

However, please note--we will very much remain the same NON-PROFIT 501(c)3 Organization. Ticket sales cover only a portion of our operating costs, and we rely upon the generosity of our patrons to fulfill our mission.

We look forward to seeing you at "The Seafarer" in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Planet Earth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must see "The Clean House" genius work of art by Sarah Ruhl and brilliant execution by Elden Street Players!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This theater and the play is like a pure diamond so brilliant and flawless!!! I was moved far beyong my expectations. Traveling the world for the past 15 years working as a full time artist and watching plays 2-3 times a month in NY, Paris, Saint Petersburg, Dresden and all over by world renowned actors and play writes it is so amazing to discover a new name and phenomenal production in a small setting of community theater in Herndon. This is the best that the world of art can offer and right at your finger tips. Please, come out and support your local theater and wonderful cast member and productions team. GIGANTIC THANK YOU to everyone involved!!! My experience was priceless and I will be back!!! Highly recommend to everyone!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cuting Edge for a Community Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have been season subscribers for years. Elden Street is innovative in its offerings, and it is not afraid to take risks. The layout of the theatre is excellent--not a bad seat in the house. Parking can be cramped, but it is FREE. The ticket prices (especially for a season) are excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Plays were so well done that I just bought a season subscription for myself along with two friends. Very professional productions

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A cozy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The theater is located in a warehouse in an industrial park off of Elden Street in Herndon. Seating is comfortable and for about 200, making for a closeness to the stage that escapes larger venues. We saw 'Hamlet' which is a major undertaking for larger theaters, let alone one this size. There is an opportunity for purchasing drinks and snacks at scheduled intermissions. If you like viewing plays in a cozy setting, this is the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elden Street Players Industrial Strength Theater also viewed

 

Been to Elden Street Players Industrial Strength Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elden Street Players Industrial Strength Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.