We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Herndon
1 review
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel long term. I checked in at the end of Sept. 2009. The staff here has made this a home away from home. The staff is wonderful. Rita is always smiles and personable. Princess always meets me at the door with a smile and friendly conversation, Marta and whole cleaning staff (can't remember all their names and I see them every morning, shame on me) greats me every morning.And last but not least Peter and Stan, the GMs, always has something kind to say. I have also had the honor of dealing with the night auditor, Melody, a few times and she is also the nicest person you would ever meet.

Like I said, I have been here for over a year and the staff here is exceptional. The location is great, 10 minutes by taxi from the airport, connection to the highways are very easy, lots of restaraunts close by as well as shopping. The mall is 15 minutes up the road. I would definately recommend this location to travelers either business or pleasure.

I have brought my family here several times over the last year to see DC and we were able to drive to DC and see the sights within 45 minutes and drive back without the headache of inner city DC.

This has been a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Hello zstin56! You're wonderful review brought so much delight to our staff. Thank you for mentioning all of us. I am very pleased that you feel at home in our hotel, long-term guests like you, is like family to us. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to be of better service to you. And thank you for this review, it meant so much to all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    33
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
12
37
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Deptford, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

The hotel is beautifully decorated, and very clean. It had a sense of having never been used. The beds are confortable. Oh! I loved that they offered enough towels. It is great to be here.. The staff is excellent!! Aways welcome with greetings. I have staying in this hotel since January 2010 and am still staying in the hotel. Rita, the director of the hotel is a great person with amazing personality. She is very helpfull and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
It is always great to read a positive review such as yours, jmany145! I am very pleased that you appreciate the decor of our hotel and the comfort of our bed. I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to Rita. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This self-catering establishment is a stone's throw away from Dulles Airport. It features clean and comfortable self-catering suites. I found it to be great value for money and homely. The staff were also most professional and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind review, we strive to make out hotel your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I accepted a job in the DC area in March 2010. I needed to start quickly, so I didn't have time to (and frankly, did not want to have to) go through the time-consuming, arduous task of quickly finding an apartment as well as all the furnishings to go in it, along with committing to a lengthy lease and setting up utility service.

Candlewood Suites to the rescue. I saw in an ad that this hotel was running a long-term residential special with no commitment. I was (and still am) waiting for my house back in Texas to sell. My partner is staying behind there to oversee the house while I continue working in my job and calling Candlewood my temporary home.

Living in a hotel long term? It might sound crazy, but my partner and I have both stayed in Candlewood Suites hotels in several places all over the country. (He works as a sign-language interpreter in Houston and is a regular guest at one of the Candlewoods there.) So we are both familiar with how this class of hotel is set up.

I don't need room service. My studio room gives me a minikitchen with full-size refrigerator, two eyes on a range, a microwave, a toaster, a dishwasher, and a coffee maker -- more than enough for my needs. I enjoy a comfortable (and sleep-inducing) recliner while I read or watch the flat-screen television. I have a desk with both wired and wireless Internet access available (the connection is stable most of the time, and the few times it's been problematic, technical support has almost always quickly resolved the problem). Housekeeping comes every week to clean the room and change the linens, and the laundry room with free washers and dryers is just down the corridor from my room.

I'm coming up on 11 months living here, and the staff have been kind and helpful. Whenever I've had a question, they have been quick to respond (twice now I've left my room without my key card, and the front desk staff have gladly made me a new one when needed).

The experience has been good on so many counts. As happy as I'll be when our house back in Texas finally sells, I'll be a little sad because I won't be staying here, so close to my job. This hotel is right off the Dulles Toll Road, making my commute to work almost always effortless. If you want a fancy hotel with a restaurant and bar and 24-hour room service, this isn't the place for you (as an independent and self-reliant person, I would avoid such places anyway). But if you need something solid and reliable with good value, by all means, come here. It's the best of both worlds of apartment living and having your own place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear rgw123, Wow! Your review covered it all. Thank you for taking the time to write, in details, your experience with us. We are happy to know that we are able to successfully accommodate all your needs. If in the future you need a place to stay again, you are always welcome to come back. Thank you for choosing to stay at Candlewood Suites Herndon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I was in a rough time in my life and the Crew at this Candlewood IS AMAZING!!!! They made sure that my daughter (infant) and I were safe and that nothing I needed... Rita and Peter are amazing people and if there is anything you need or that needs to be done in the room or anything they will try to get done for you... The Cleaning crew they have is the best in any hotel chain I have EVER stayed at. Everytime I need a place to stay in Dulles I WILL BE STAYING AT THE HOTEL WORTH STAYING AT!!! And that is Candlewood Suites Dulles Herndon....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
It is such a delight to read your review, Mommy2mhymiracle! We strive to make evry guest feel safe and happy while they are in our hotel. Thank you for mentioning me and Rita. I'll be sure to tell the housekeepers how happy you were with their service too! We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for writing this review!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

One of the best hotel stays we have experienced! Quiet surroundings, extremely friendly and professional staff and management that cares!
We'll be back! Again and again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear traveller252525,

Im glad you have enjoyed your experience with Candlewood Herndon! Our staff is always looking to assist and make every guest feel comfortable while they're in our hotel. Thank you for the excellent review! We're looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

If you are at planning a business trip to offices around the western tip of Sunrise Valley Drive, the Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon is an excellent place to consider and with good value too.

Dan (Weekend Manager) and the front desk staff provided excellent service during my stay @ Candlewood Suites. Keep up the good work, Dan!

Adrian
(Singapore)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
All our staff, as well as Dan, is very much appreciative of your review Adrian. Thank you for taking the time to do this. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Address: 13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles Herndon, located in the Dulles Corridor minutes from Dulles Airport IAD and Metro, is an extended stay hotel convenient to all Washington, DC Northern Virginia area attractions, government and businesses.The Candlewood Suites Herndon provides fully equipped kitchens, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, fitness center, guest laundry, and business services. Close to over 40 restaurants, if you want to enjoy a meal in your suite, the Candlewood Cupboard offers breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks.Government, contract and military travelers are welcome at the per diem rates. The Dulles Candlewood Suites is a great business location, situated near Herndon and Reston companies such as AOL, Verizon - MCI, IBM, Sprint - Nextel, Siemens, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sage, SAIC, EDS, Accenture, Computer Associates, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Learning Tree, Deltek, L3 Communications, and Net Master Class. The Candlewood Suites Dulles is 3 miles from the Air and Space Museum s Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center. Shoppers are near the Dulles Town Center Mall, Tysons Corner, and Leesburg Outlets. Enjoy the extensive amenities at the Candlewood Suites Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon Hotel Herndon
Candlewood Suites Herndon
Candlewood Herndon
Herndon Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.