We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
humble
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

i could not get in to my room,when i arrived at the hotel about 11;00 p.m.there was no front desk person,no telephone to contact the manger or any one.i slept on the sofe by the recipation.if you get after 11;00 p.m. you are youer own.i dont recommend for no one.the rooms are excellent but the mangents are "f" our "0"

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
I would like to say I am sorry that the guest had a bad experience. We have 2 different telephones one red and one white at the front desk area to contact the manager on duty. If the guest wasn't registered there is a late check in area where their key would be waiting. We have staff here 24/7 and check the lobby frequently in cases like this where the guest is not aware of the set-up of the hotel. Again I am sorry for the inconvience of the guest in that this is a rare occurance in my 9 years at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    35
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
15
40
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed here only 1 night while moving to the US from England. The front desk staff (Yusef and Peter) were wonderful. Helpful, talkative and kind. The room, while comfortable, was a bit dated and in need of upgrading. the cabinets were slightly water damaged in the kitchen. The sofa bed linens only include 1 pillow; rather strange. but I am sure if we asked for one we would get one. No real complaints.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for your review bblawson! We hope you will get to try us out one more time when you are back in the area again, especially because we have renovated our hotel not-so-long ago. I am happy our staff made a difference during your stay. Looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Agree with previous reviews incredible value, good facilites and close to airport. Due to our travel plans we wanted to stay close to airport but visit Washington DC. Easy enough if you have car.

Would Recommend

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

I've stayed here before and was delighted to get it again through Priceline. Nice bed ! full size Refrig, , microwave..
eating area.. dishes, pots/pans et.c.. Nice details like paper towels , free newspaper, coffee in the morning and dishwasher ! Clean.
This particular stay... the hairblower and the microwave didn't work ! wild. But usually that's not the case. Linens nice, towels nice.. snack room with an honor system. Laundry facilities.
In a neighborhood with absolutely everything, but you'd need a little direction if you don't have a gps.
I was told by front desk clerk I had to plug in a cable to hook up to internet, but not true..it was WIFI .
It was very empty which made it quiet. If you are not familiar with this type of facility, you should know there are no services.. no maid service, no garbage take out.. and then again, no interruptions.

  • Liked — TELEVISION, BEDDING AND KITCHEN
  • Disliked — Microwave and hairblower blew out, but this is , I think, unusual
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

We booked this hotel for 3 nights for $136 (incl. tax) via Hotwire. After we checked in, we were convinced this was a steal.

This hotel is similar to Extended Stay America hotel. Both come with fully-equipped kitchen. The honorary cupboard is stocked price-competitive breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks. Guest self-laundry is free (Yes, you don't need to bring coins.) Better yet, its internet connection is free (either wired or wireless).

Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. TV is 27" HD LCD. You can check out free DVDs at the front desk and play them at your room. We stayed at the 4th floor near corner, so we didn't hear lots of noise from next door.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, fast internet connection
  • Disliked — Only one elevator
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

I stayed there last week. There were a strong illegal drug odors in my room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Very friendly staff when I came to check in! I was very impressed with their recommendations and all. The room was quite comfortable and was equiped with all the necessicities that one would want. A fridge, stove, microwave and a dishwasher. Mind you room service was not that offered there, but if you need some items they are always able to accomidate your needs. Pantry is a cute plus to this place and is great to have some items that you would want.

I was on the second floor room 207 to be exact, and on there for business. I had a pacer at 2:30am as well had a snorer next door, that was only heard if I was at the computer. The heater was a combo heater/air conditioner. I found that one needs to blast the heater and then turn it off. If you don't you will hear it rattle all night long when it starts up a second time! The bed was very comfortable and nice.

Free Soda, popcorn and wired internet connection is offered at this place which is really nice. Sodas are only $0.50 a can so that is a really nice deal! In all I enjoyed my stay and enjoyed the staff!

  • Liked — Friendly staff! Nice and comfy beds!
  • Disliked — Thin Walls and floors! Noisy ac/heater combo!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Address: 13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Herndon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles Herndon, located in the Dulles Corridor minutes from Dulles Airport IAD and Metro, is an extended stay hotel convenient to all Washington, DC Northern Virginia area attractions, government and businesses.The Candlewood Suites Herndon provides fully equipped kitchens, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, fitness center, guest laundry, and business services. Close to over 40 restaurants, if you want to enjoy a meal in your suite, the Candlewood Cupboard offers breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks.Government, contract and military travelers are welcome at the per diem rates. The Dulles Candlewood Suites is a great business location, situated near Herndon and Reston companies such as AOL, Verizon - MCI, IBM, Sprint - Nextel, Siemens, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sage, SAIC, EDS, Accenture, Computer Associates, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Learning Tree, Deltek, L3 Communications, and Net Master Class. The Candlewood Suites Dulles is 3 miles from the Air and Space Museum s Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center. Shoppers are near the Dulles Town Center Mall, Tysons Corner, and Leesburg Outlets. Enjoy the extensive amenities at the Candlewood Suites Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon Hotel Herndon
Candlewood Suites Herndon
Candlewood Herndon
Herndon Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.