We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a steal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“This is a steal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

We booked this hotel for 3 nights for $136 (incl. tax) via Hotwire. After we checked in, we were convinced this was a steal.

This hotel is similar to Extended Stay America hotel. Both come with fully-equipped kitchen. The honorary cupboard is stocked price-competitive breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks. Guest self-laundry is free (Yes, you don't need to bring coins.) Better yet, its internet connection is free (either wired or wireless).

Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. TV is 27" HD LCD. You can check out free DVDs at the front desk and play them at your room. We stayed at the 4th floor near corner, so we didn't hear lots of noise from next door.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, fast internet connection
  • Disliked — Only one elevator
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
12
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

I stayed there last week. There were a strong illegal drug odors in my room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Very friendly staff when I came to check in! I was very impressed with their recommendations and all. The room was quite comfortable and was equiped with all the necessicities that one would want. A fridge, stove, microwave and a dishwasher. Mind you room service was not that offered there, but if you need some items they are always able to accomidate your needs. Pantry is a cute plus to this place and is great to have some items that you would want.

I was on the second floor room 207 to be exact, and on there for business. I had a pacer at 2:30am as well had a snorer next door, that was only heard if I was at the computer. The heater was a combo heater/air conditioner. I found that one needs to blast the heater and then turn it off. If you don't you will hear it rattle all night long when it starts up a second time! The bed was very comfortable and nice.

Free Soda, popcorn and wired internet connection is offered at this place which is really nice. Sodas are only $0.50 a can so that is a really nice deal! In all I enjoyed my stay and enjoyed the staff!

  • Liked — Friendly staff! Nice and comfy beds!
  • Disliked — Thin Walls and floors! Noisy ac/heater combo!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garland, tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

It is not perfect, but I like it better than the Homestead Suites in the area. The room was clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I also liked having an easy chair.

The best feature was that the Internet bandwith was excellent and it was free.

The kitchen was adequate for what I needed. Stocked well -- even had a wine bottel opener.

It has an excercise room, but I did not get a chance to use it. The laundry room looked clean.

I did take advantage of their honorary pantry. It had excellent choices and the prices were very good. Nice touch.

The staff were also very nice and helpful -- except for one time that a lady wanted to let me in at 1 am. I tried to call the attendent, but she refused to come to the front. I ended up letting the lady in (who couldn't speak english) and told the attendent that I was washing my hands of it. She had a whatever attitude. So if security is important to you, it is something to consider.

There are some negatives. The location was not ideal. I like to be able to walk to restaurants. You have to walk over a mile if you want that.

If you like to sit outside and read like I do, you will be disappointed here. The Homestead had a very nice lawn. This place has a tiny gazebo and limited shade.

It's not perfect, but it is good enough that I have already booked it for my next trip.

  • Liked — great Internet bandwith.
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

Candlewood Suites is one of those typical longer-stay hotels with the kitchen in the room.
This hotel is pretty good, what makes it stand out is the staff. They go out of their way to help you with what you need.
The bed is just blahh...but the room itself was really clean and the lounge chair is a nice added feature.
The free internet also works great.
I would def. return espically for the weekend rate I paid of $59+tax

  • Liked — Loinge Chair, Internet
  • Disliked — Elevator Smelled a Little
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay on the weekend...cheap
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umatilla, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

We stayed here unexpectedly after our connection out of Dulles was delayed overnight. The airline gave us a 50% off voucher. I was astonished when the half-off price was $89. Apparently the regular rate on a Tuesday is $179, which is shocking considering that I've since found out online that the exact same suite on a weekend night is only $59! Seems like they're soaking the business travelers then having bargains on the weekend to try and fill it up. They have a pantry with food items for sale next to the lobby, and the prices were surprisingly reasonable on the groceries. The room was very nice, big bathroom, a kitchen complete with full-size refrigerator and stove, comfortable bed, and recliner. I only wish I had been there long enough to enjoy it (we got in around midnight and have to leave a 7:00 the next morning to get back to the airport). Considering our late arrival and that the room would have been empty that night, it would have been nice if they could have given us a better deal.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Address: 13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles Herndon, located in the Dulles Corridor minutes from Dulles Airport IAD and Metro, is an extended stay hotel convenient to all Washington, DC Northern Virginia area attractions, government and businesses.The Candlewood Suites Herndon provides fully equipped kitchens, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, fitness center, guest laundry, and business services. Close to over 40 restaurants, if you want to enjoy a meal in your suite, the Candlewood Cupboard offers breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks.Government, contract and military travelers are welcome at the per diem rates. The Dulles Candlewood Suites is a great business location, situated near Herndon and Reston companies such as AOL, Verizon - MCI, IBM, Sprint - Nextel, Siemens, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sage, SAIC, EDS, Accenture, Computer Associates, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Learning Tree, Deltek, L3 Communications, and Net Master Class. The Candlewood Suites Dulles is 3 miles from the Air and Space Museum s Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center. Shoppers are near the Dulles Town Center Mall, Tysons Corner, and Leesburg Outlets. Enjoy the extensive amenities at the Candlewood Suites Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon Hotel Herndon
Candlewood Suites Herndon
Candlewood Herndon
Herndon Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.