We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is an excellent hotel.

First, let me set your expectations. It is a basic long-term stay hotel (though also fine for short stays; mine was three days). That means only weekly visits from housekeeping, like most long-term stay hotels. As a basic hotel, the frills and luxuries are minimal. Yet for a basic hotel, it is quite nice, even upscale.

The hotel itself is clean and well-lit, and the staff is friendly. There is a guest laundry which is free to both wash and dry, which is quite remarkable. There is also a small store with basic food items and toiletries, such as fruit, cereal, microwave dinners, laundry detergent, etc. It is great to have an on-site basic fitness center, laundry and convenience store.

The room is spacious and also clean and well-lit, and has a kitchenette with a sink, full-size refrigerator, dishwasher (!), microwave, small coffee maker, toaster, dishes, utensils, and pans. The hotel even provides complimentary paper towels and detergent both for hand washing and machine washing dishes.

The room also has a good-sized flat-screen TV with DVD/VHS player and cable, an ironing board and iron, and hairdryer. The hotel has a decent size lending library from which you can borrow movies.

There is a desk for working and eating, and free internet is available both WiFi and via a wired connection, which is less common in hotels and appreciated as it is (somewhat) more secure and reliable. They even include the cable you need to use the wired connection, a very nice touch.

I only have one caveat of staying here: the hot water is extremely hot. I have never seen water so hot come out of a tap. Be careful or you could burn yourself. I would be concerned about this if traveling with children. Also, not really a caveat, but there are no restaurants or stores in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, so you will need to drive a mile or two if you need something.

Compared to other extended stay hotels I've stayed at, this one is very clean, very nice. It's the small touches that make a big difference.

If you're looking for a luxury hotel, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
It’s such a delight to read your review tomytravler! I am very happy to learn we met your expectations and made your stay an excellent one. You covered all our amenities pretty well and I am glad you appreciate all of them. We value your opinion, and reviews such as yours let us know if we are doing well in making you feel at home or if there are some things we should improve on. As for the hot water, I apologize that it was especially hot in your room. We will look into that problem right away. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I hope you’ll come see us again soon. Looking forward to being of service to again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
12
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is my first time to live in candlewood hotel Herndon, very nice place and very clean house keeping, those people behind front desk are always helpful and responsive. free laundry and gym service made stay more valuable, if you choose to live here for long term, suggest to contact with front desk for better offering

Room Tip: No meal services
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Great to hear you had a nice stay, bojian w. I am happy that we were able to prove to you that we are a hotel committed to providing clean rooms and excellent service. Thank you for the opportunity you gave us to be of service to you. Please come back and see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Left at end of June - made an unexpected trip - no notice to hotel nothing in Sept. 2012 - And everything was GREAT ! Any staff that was there when I had been there before REMEMBERED ME ! I wasn't a NUMBER ! Used priority points and stayed for free - got the type room I wanted - no problems whatsoever !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for writing us another review, bluiis5493. It was a pleasure to be of service to you again. Looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Candlewood had exactly the amenities I wanted, and didn't waste their resources on things I didn't care about. There was a full-size refrigerator in the room! and a stove-top, and a microwave. I was able to go to the grocery store and get the food I wanted ... the exercise treadmill had a heart-rate monitor that worked! They even had a little self-serve food mart at great prices. I'd be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review Steve R.! I am glad you loved all the amenities we offer. We would love to be of service to you again. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Large spacious rooms with kitchenettes and 10-15 minutes from Dulles. Hotel is on the Dulles flight path so depending on wind direction, you may hire jets taking off over the unit, which can be distracting to sleep.

Main issue is that this hotel is in a typical American concrete corporate sub-division and there is nothing within walking distance other than offices and other hotels. Taxi service was sporadic and unreliable so if you are looking for a restaurant and shopping, you better have a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Skierz, I understand you had a less than satisfactory experience with our hotel. I apologize you were distracted by the jets flying over us. Normally, if you have your windows closed you won’t hear it at all. As for restaurants and shopping, the nearest shopping center is just a mile away from us, which is only about 15 minutes to walk to. They have a number of restaurants and a grocery store as well. I hope you will try us again next time you are in the area. Thank you for writing us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed for three weeks and from day one we had a great experience. The staff are wonderful and so helpful and always smiling. Everything is convenient in the hotel, laundry room, gym and in house store.
The hotel location is great, shops nearby and you can go for long walks.

We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for writing us a wonderful review, Adriana B. It's a pleasure knowing you had a great stay with us. Our staff members are always happy to be of service to all our guests and I thank you for your compliments to them. Please keep us in mind when you are back in the area again. Thank you for staying at Candlewood Suites Herndon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed for 20 days in August'12 and had an overall great experience. The hotel enjoys locational advantage due to its proximity to the Dulles International Airport and Herndon business districts. The shopping centers are also not far and DC is a 40 minutes drive. The rooms are clean and upkeep is good. The best part of the hotel are the extremely friendly and courteous staff who ensure that whether you are there for business or pleasure, who have a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the 3rd and 4th floor facing frontage can be preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello Raj5555_12! Thank you for complimenting our team members! I am happy you had a great stay and that you loved our location. We are approximately four miles away from Dulles Airport and close to a lot of big companies such as Time Warner, Northrop Grumman, Booz Allen, etc. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for writing us a review on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Address: 13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles Herndon, located in the Dulles Corridor minutes from Dulles Airport IAD and Metro, is an extended stay hotel convenient to all Washington, DC Northern Virginia area attractions, government and businesses.The Candlewood Suites Herndon provides fully equipped kitchens, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, fitness center, guest laundry, and business services. Close to over 40 restaurants, if you want to enjoy a meal in your suite, the Candlewood Cupboard offers breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks.Government, contract and military travelers are welcome at the per diem rates. The Dulles Candlewood Suites is a great business location, situated near Herndon and Reston companies such as AOL, Verizon - MCI, IBM, Sprint - Nextel, Siemens, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sage, SAIC, EDS, Accenture, Computer Associates, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Learning Tree, Deltek, L3 Communications, and Net Master Class. The Candlewood Suites Dulles is 3 miles from the Air and Space Museum s Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center. Shoppers are near the Dulles Town Center Mall, Tysons Corner, and Leesburg Outlets. Enjoy the extensive amenities at the Candlewood Suites Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon Hotel Herndon
Candlewood Suites Herndon
Candlewood Herndon
Herndon Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.