We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Bristow, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Originally we stayed at the Staybridge Inn in Herndon (just a street over). It was HORRIBLE (massive amounts of bugs, enormous roaches and spiders, poor cleaning). We were able to finally move out of that hotel and into the Candlewood Suites. What a breath of fresh air! The staff was extremely friendly. We had to stay there for over a month. I never saw one bug the entire time. Everytime I needed help, someone was always very willing and ready to help me out. We actually got to know the maids they were so friendly! We felt safe, too. The only downfall was that there wasn't a free breakfast, but there is a little food shop you can charge to your room. For long stays like ours, there is a small CLEAN kitchenette in the room. They have a few pots and pans (enough for making noodles), a microwave, fridge/freezer, utencils, and sink. If we ever have to send someone to a hotel, especially long-term, it will be this specific Candlewood Suites. Absolutely wonderful stay!

This receives a 4 out of 5 stars because most hotels provide a free continental breakfast and this one did not. (I was able to get over it by purchasing some breakfast foods myself for our family and making it in the kitchenette).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel on tripadvisor bluewings7. Im sure my staff will be happy to know that they contributed in making your stay very pleasant. Our housekeepers work hard in ensuring that our entire hotel is always clean and to be recognized in your review is deeply appreciated. Although our hotel doesn't provide complimentary breakfast, The Candlewood Cupboard provides a wide selection of breakfast items at a minimal fee, which is still cheaper than staying at a hotel that offers complimentary breakfast but charges you extra for it. With Candlewood, you can be sure that you will always get excellent service and the best value for your buck. I hope you'll come stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    35
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
14
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was very pleased with my experience at this hotel. The staff was particularly eager to please. Free coffee, free wifi, free local calls, free business center, free laundry room, free newspaper. This is an 'extended stay' hotel, so the rooms are not cleaned daily, but the room comes with a stove, a microwave and a refrigerator. Particularly recommended for the short-term business traveler.

Room Tip: For noise avoidance, ask for a room far from the stairs and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel on tripadvisor Tomzinho. It means so much to us when a guest appreciates our service so much that they go out of their way to do a review. THANK YOU!!

I am delighted that you enjoyed all the nice amenities of our hotel. Our wonderful staff is always happy to help our guests with all their needs. I am happy they helped make your stay more pleasant. We'd love to be of service to you again in the future. Please come and visit us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I have stayed at the Candlewood Suites near Dulles Airport for over 75 nights since April. They are incredibly accomodating and the front desk staff are a delight. If your an extended stay traveler you will appreciate their attention to the details that matter for you. I have always felt very safe at this hotel, which cannot be said for other Herndon locations.

If your looking for a regular hotel you may not appreciate the benefits or limitations of an extended stay hotel so be sure to keep this in mind. Particularly the weekly maid service vice the daily service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Hello ikeeptrying! Thank you for writing us a review. Yes, we are indeed situated in a very safe, quiet area, it is one of the great features of our hotel. Thank you for mentioning the front desk staff, I am sure they will be delighted to know that you appreciated their hospitality. I hope you'll stay with us next time you are in the area so we can, once again be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

When we were there we were dissapointed that there was no swimming pool but we were glad that there was one at the recreational center nearby. One of the days we were there they had cookies on the front desk and they were delicous. All of the workers there were really nice. They have this place called the cupboard and had food, snacks, laundry soap, and other needs. Another great thing about Candlewood Suited is when you do your laundry it is free. And while you're waiting for your laundry to be done you can workout and watch TV in the Fitness Center.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Room was a clean spacious suite. Within a quick trek to the airport and businesses. Princess, front desk staff, was extraordinarily helpful. Grounds were clean and location was convenient. Business center was clean and useful.
I'd also find it a great place for leisure travel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
It is always great to read a wonderful review such as yours AmeliaAirheadOnThe Rd! I am pleased that you thought your stay with us was perfect. It is always a delight to hear that a guest appreciates the cleanliness of our hotel. I'll let Princess know that you mentioned her in your review. We hope to see you again soon when you are back in the Washington/Dulles area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I was pleased with the "home-feel" amenities in the suite, and the laundry and exercise facilities both provided convenience and satisfaction.. The staff was freindly and attentive. I would definitiely return for another extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Yup... Thatz right. I could not ask for more.. Nice and kewl suites with good people around. I have been staying from March this year and will continue stay till my stay in US.Well maintained laundry room, gym are the facilities I liked a lot. I would like to thank Dan Pe and Princess who always helped me during my stay.. Also, th house keeper manager Martha who never complains on cleaning my untidy room :)... Well recommend this to all..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for posting your review about your experience with us shakarjayaraman! I am glad you appreciate the efforts we put into keeping the laundry room and gym always clean. They are the top favorite amenities of our guests and we want to make sure they're always to your satisfaction. I'll be sure to pass along your message to Dan, Princess and Marta. I am delighted to hear that they are a big help to you. If there's any way we can make your stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me or any of my staff. Thank you for staying at Candlewood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Address: 13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#6 Business Hotel in Herndon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles Herndon, located in the Dulles Corridor minutes from Dulles Airport IAD and Metro, is an extended stay hotel convenient to all Washington, DC Northern Virginia area attractions, government and businesses.The Candlewood Suites Herndon provides fully equipped kitchens, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, fitness center, guest laundry, and business services. Close to over 40 restaurants, if you want to enjoy a meal in your suite, the Candlewood Cupboard offers breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks.Government, contract and military travelers are welcome at the per diem rates. The Dulles Candlewood Suites is a great business location, situated near Herndon and Reston companies such as AOL, Verizon - MCI, IBM, Sprint - Nextel, Siemens, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sage, SAIC, EDS, Accenture, Computer Associates, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Learning Tree, Deltek, L3 Communications, and Net Master Class. The Candlewood Suites Dulles is 3 miles from the Air and Space Museum s Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center. Shoppers are near the Dulles Town Center Mall, Tysons Corner, and Leesburg Outlets. Enjoy the extensive amenities at the Candlewood Suites Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon Hotel Herndon
Candlewood Suites Herndon
Candlewood Herndon
Herndon Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.