We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Concept; Not Good Delivery” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stone's Cove Kitbar

Stone's Cove Kitbar
2403 Centreville Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
(703) 434-3615
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stone's Cove Kitbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 178 restaurants in Herndon
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunrise Valley
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting Concept; Not Good Delivery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

The idea -- having a bar where the servers are also involved in the food preparation, and being able to see the food being prepared in part -- is intriguing. Indeed, the physical space in the restaurant is good looking. But the execution was very poor. We waited forever for someone to serve us, and for every stage of the meal. And the food itself was somewhat inventive, but once you get past the original concept of most of the food, you realize it's still pre-fab, and not terribly good quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    63
    40
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average plave but great staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

I have been twice now because of it's locality and convenience, it's right near my apartment.

Firstly, the staff are great, everyone who works there seems genuinely happy to be there and working. The inside is pretty cool but it is set up like a giant bar so most tables are up on stools surrounding the bar/kitchen in the middle.

Food was average, the menu isn't exhaustive but it is all basic, it's good for a quick bite to eat and a drink but I will only go back if i'm desperate. The pulled pork sandwich I had last time was ok, it was cold in the middle and contained too much sauce so ended up tasting pretty bland.

Overall great staff and average food, could be worse but could be a lot better. If I get desperate I will go again and maybe it will be better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Appitapas?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was a little put off by the names on the menu (Appitapas, Cheftenders etc) a little kitschy but it was so close to the hotel I was staying in I figured it was worth a stop. I had the Tuna appetizer and the Shrimp and Grits. The Tuna was a good value and a nice appetizer (or appitapa?) and the Shrimp and Grits were fantastic. I would order that again! The shrimp were grilled and the grits were so creamy AND fluffy! I never thought I would like them that much! I love the set up as well. I eat out frequently and usually enjoy having dinner at the bar. This place is mostly all bar with the tables built in. The service was excellent and the 'Cheftenders' (ugh!) were friendly and really helpful! I enjoyed my meal so much I dragged another friend there a couple of days later and it was just as good as the first time! it will be a regular stop when I am in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great martini with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I read quite a few reviews before taking my son's family for dinner. The seating is a little odd if you have a party of 4 or more, but the hostess was able to accommodate us even with a 3 week old infant. Our server was very friendly, informed us with the specials and took our drink orders while we reviewed the menu. We all ordered the lobster tail and top sirloin special along with the cold and hot dips appetizer. The appetizer was very good. It consisted of hot spinach dip, taziki, pepper and a cheese dips. I ordered the cucumber basil martini, which is FAB. Our entrées came fairly quickly. The lobster was good, however I thought my steak was a little tough. I would have preferred a filet and would have paid extra for it, if the choice had been available. Since this visit, I have already been back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kickin' Pear Martini & Sliders ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a unique restaurant and one of the best in the Herndon area. The food is really excellent and it's moderately priced considering how good it is, not to mention they have an outstanding beverage menu. I particularly like the pear martini and the sliders.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone's Cove Kitbar also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County

Been to Stone's Cove Kitbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone's Cove Kitbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.