We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Are the Beds So Hard?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Dulles

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Dulles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Dulles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13700 Coppermine Road, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Why Are the Beds So Hard?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Let me get my gripes out of the way first. Why in the world are the mattresses so hard? I understand that some people like a firm mattress, but there is no reason on earth that a mattress should feel like the ground. If you need that hard of a sleeping space- then just sleep on the floor! The couch was more comfortable than the bed, I should have slept there and then I wouldn't be so sore right now. I would expect this from a $49 special hotel- not here.

Also, there was too much furniture in the suite. The couch, then the extended part of the couch, the sofa chair, then the large lamp, the desk, and the desk chair, the two ottomons, and don't forget the TV stand. That is too much for a such a small space. We had to move the sofa chair by the kitchen and put the ottomans in the bedroom in order to feel like we could breathe.

Despite my gripes, I would give it a 4/5. It was clean, I enjoy free breakfast, and the staff I encountered on the premises were friendly. I can ignore the cluttered rooms, but fix the beds. This is a hotel, not prison.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If stairs are an issue, request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJudy, Manager at Staybridge Suites Dulles, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear SpicyCreole,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm happy that the team was able to provide you with a welcoming experience. I do apologize that you did not like the firmness of the mattresses. In the future when we re-order our mattresses we will look into getting a different firmness of mattress that will better accomodate all of our guests. We truly appreciate your comments, thank you for choosing to stay at the Staybridge Suites Herndon Dulles!

Kind Regards,
April J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    53
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
79
23
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My main complaint is the new extra firm mattress (all rooms, according to the front desk, have new extra firm mattresses). We reserved a king size bed suite and received a double (we did receive a reduce rate for this after complaining), so we were cramped and trying to relax but the beds were like sleeping on the floor. The short sofa was more comfortable then the bed and that is where I slept curled up. No extra comfort at this hotel, but the staff is nice. Full kitchen, small living area, and separate bedroom. Bathroom plumbing not in the best shape. Had to ask maintenance to fix the door (it closed, but did not latch). I would have enjoyed my stay if not for the lack of sleep due to the hard mattress and short couch. If you like extra firm beds, you will love this place.

Room Tip: No elevator... chose a first floor if climbing steps are an issue. However, if you request a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJudy, Manager at Staybridge Suites Dulles, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Angie-n-Wendel,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I apologize that you did not like the firmness of the mattress in your suite. When we re-order our mattresses we will take this into consideration. I'm glad that the team was able to help you with all of your other needs and made you feel at home. Thank you for staying at the Staybridge Suites Herndon-Dulles!

Kind Regards,
April J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We came here after exploring Gettsyburg, as a base for looking around Washington DC. Very nice suites, clean, spacious, very helpful staff, free light meals and drinks on evenings. Nice pool to play in. If driving into Washington DC make sure you have plenty of quarters as some tolls are unmanned and state exact change only. We fell foul of this! Washington DC is a lovely district. Recommend bus tour as we soon realised our plan to walk everywhere was rather ambitious, especially given the heat! Also recommend pre booking entry, as we did, to the National Archives as we were able to go in on timed entry and avoid long queues. Loved seeing all the sights, White House, Vietnam War Memorial etc. We would love to go back sometime as there is lots we didn't manage to do. Many museums we didn't manage to get to. Great experience at the suites, strongly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJudy, Manager at Staybridge Suites Dulles, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear lizziemartie,
Thank you for telling us about your recent experience! I'm glad that you felt comfortable and at home during you stay. The team takes a lot of pride in giving all of our guests a memorable stay. We hope to welcome you back during your next visit!

Kind Regards,
April J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out And About
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent two weeks and found the stay more than pleasant. The breakfasts can get repetitive but the food was fresh, with a good selection of fruits, drinks, and cereals.
The evening snack was the same - fresh, well presented and tasty after a long day.

Will stay again when I'm in the area.

Room Tip: No elevators - so second floor rooms have you dragging bags upstairs. Not bad in the summer but cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJudy, Manager at Staybridge Suites Dulles, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear FyreGuy54,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your recent experience! I'm happy you felt at home during your two week stay with us. I'm glad you were able to participate in the Social and meet some of your other neighbors in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge Suites Herndon-Dulles during your next trip!

Kind Regards,
April J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom suite. It was spacious, clean, and had a great kitchen. The front desk was very helpful and courteous. The breakfast had a good variety and the meals on some evenings were great for families! We drove into Washington DC to visit the monuments and museums. Not too far of a drive to get to the metro. Total travel time, about 25 minutes or so. The only thing I would suggest is to have pool hours extended. They close the pool at 9:00, which is a bit early for teenagers and adults who have gone into the city for the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJudy, Manager at Staybridge Suites Dulles, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Holly H,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your recent experience! I'm happy that the team made you feel comfortable and at home during your stay with us. We will consider extending the pool hours next summer. We hope to welcome you back to the Staybridge Suites Herndon Dulles during your next visit!

Kind Regards,
April J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights, We liked the suites very much -- everything You could ask for a two night stay. The room was spacious, clean and beds were comfortable. However, I have few things which We felt uncomfortable during the stay -- i) We had a tough time finding a parking space near our room since we arrived late at night, and since our room was between another building, had to carry all the bags for a longer distance. ii) The bathroom was small but was clean. iii) last but the most important -- When we came back to our room after visiting Washington on the second day, we found the room door was left wide open -- We are not sure how it happened & We do know that We locked it carefully before leaving out in the morning, but everything was OK -- nothing was touched -- so didn make a big deal out of it, just waiting for the hotel to get back to us to find out what happened.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJudy, Manager at Staybridge Suites Dulles, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Saju84,
Thank you for giving us feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry for the inconvenience you experienced locating parking during your stay, the parking lot does get full when all of our rooms are rented. I sincerely apologize that your door was left unlocked after servicing your rooms, if you would like to contact me directly I encourage you to do that. We will have a safety meeting with our team letting them know the importance of our guest’s safety. Overall I'm happy your enjoyed your overall stay and suite. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
April J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel in Aug and loved it. It was everything we had hoped for and more. We stay at a lot of hotels throughout the year and this was by far the most for the money. Staff was helpful and kind, rooms were fantastic, and the breakfast was very good. We drove into DC on Sat and Sun which was only a 25 min drive, and on Monday went to the Air and Space museum next to Dulles airport which was about 5 min from hotel. Lots of good restaurants near by. Will definitely stay here again.
Lit from Michigan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJudy, Manager at Staybridge Suites Dulles, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Lit,
Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your stay! I appreciate you getting the word out on multiple social outlets letting people know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Staybridge Suites Herndon-Dulles in the near future!

Kind Regards,
April J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Dulles

Address: 13700 Coppermine Road, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#6 Family Hotel in Herndon
#18 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Dulles 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Herndon/ Dulles is conveniently located 4 miles from the Dulles Airport and 25 miles from downtown Washington DC, with easy access to the Dulles Toll Road (Route 267), I-495, Route. 28 & Route 66. The hotel has a free airport shuttle that operates daily within a 5-mile radius from 6:30 am to 10:30 pm. Enjoy our extended stay hotel with exterior guest suite entrances and spacious one bedroom and two bedroom/two bath suites. Stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access in each suite and the business center. At this Staybridge Suites, relax by the outdoor swimming pool, exercise in our fitness center, shoot hoops in the SportCourt, or grill on our BBQ. Pets allowed for fee see pet policy. Join us daily for a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Join us for The Social Tuesday - Thursday evenings for complimentary beer, wine and light fare. Shop nearby at Tysons Corner, Fair Oaks Mall, Reston Town Center, and Leesburg outlets. The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, the Smithsonian museums, battlefields and wineries located in the Washington DC area. Whether staying for business, pleasure or relocation, the caring staff at the Staybridge Suites Herndon/ Dulles is ready to welcome you! Get comfortable while visiting the Herndon, Reston, Chantilly, and Dulles Airport areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Staybridge Suites Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Dulles Hotel Herndon
Staybridge Suites Herndon
Dulles Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Dulles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.