We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport to your Saves list
Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Dulles Corner Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Herndon, United States
1 review
“Poor service and facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Most unpleasant hotel experience in the last year, for hotels costing more than $100, including lower priced hotels such as Springhill, Fairfield Inn. Parking was packed all during stay. No luggage carts (or bell staff) were available on arrival or departure. Banquet food was overcooked and tasteless (I asked for a medium rare pork chop and got a very well done pork chop. And chocolate cake was dry like it was two days old). Beds were hard. Bathroom area is not separated so light floods bedroom disturbing person trying to sleep. Staff was indifferent to service issues. Only bright spot was when I couldn't get any coffee at the bar a waiter from the restaurant next door gave me a free cup of coffee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, Director of Sales at Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Bruce, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback, and it is being taken very seriously. We have reviewed your concerns as a management team, and we are making strides to rectify them where we are able. Please allow us the opportunity to serve you again, and if there is anything I can do to personally assist you please do hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    191
    76
    36
    14
See reviews for
105
78
62
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Beware of the ac vent. The one in my room was located about 4 feet from the floor at the foot of the bed. It loudly and vigorously blew directly on me. I had to turn the thing off. Fortunately, the weather has not yet turned hot and I could do without it. The room decor was over the top masculine with dark brown colors. Rather depressing actually. Mine appears to have been designed for a handicapped person. I am not handicapped and missed little things like drawers to place my belongings. Finally, the bed was not comfortable. Not even an extra blanket.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We got a great deal on Priceline with this hotel! We experienced a few minor issues that were rectified by the staff (Business Center out of Paper, hot tub to cold). Also some small cosmetic issues that could use some attending to such as a rip in the headboard. Overall however we really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel was overall very good and I cannot complain about a single thing. The rate was good and it is well located near Washington Dulles Airport. I can recommend this hotel for any kind of travel! I will certainly stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, Director of Sales at Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you had an excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for your next trip to the Northern Virginia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I went with my family in Apr. The room and ambience was good but the morning breakfast service was horrible. there was a long quee & no food on the table, only 1 person was cateringfor the entire morning. simple refills took more 15-20min with people waiting with empty plates.
The swimming pool was open but there was no life guard present at the pool. With so many kids around there should have been a lifeguard present at all time.
not upto the name of hyatt.

Room Tip: rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I fully agree with previous reviewer Shehla on staff training. The lady that checked us in needed some serious "hospitality training" Sochi style. During the whole process, she has not once smiled or looked at me straight and the whole thing seemed to be just huge ordeal for her.
Let start from the beginning, we have completed "web check-in" via email and thinking that we just need to pick up the key walked in to the hotel with my husband unloading the car. WRONG, the check in kiosk was nowhere to be seen, so my son and I got in line to the front desk to inquire where the machine was. There were 2 people there with one gentleman helping other customer and a lady just typing something, finally after 5 minutes or so she grudgingy motioned me over (no smile, hello or can I help you). After my inquiry about the web check in she spit out "over there but its broken" and demanded my ID, card, etc. Since I was expecting an easier process advertised in the Hyatt email, I was not prepared. In any case she gave us keys to preassigned room and sent us on the way (no smile, have a good day or question if we need luggage assistance).
Upon check out the next day we requested luggage assistance from the front desk via phone around 6:20 am in hopes to make 6:45 shuttle (shuttles run every 30 min). When nothing arrived, I went up front around 6:30 and was told "you have 10 minutes, relax" by the front desk person. We ended up wheeling our own luggage at 6:40 to board the shuttle.
Room itself was clean, spacious. No complaints, but we also only stayed one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, Director of Sales at Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we greatly appreciate your honest feedback. Allow me this time to apologize for the service concerns you experienced while at our property. What you have described is not the service we or our associates strive to delivery. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated room product, however please allow us the opportunity in the future to deliver a proper level of customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We chose to stay at the Hyatt for three reasons: 1) pet friendly facility, 2) near Dulles Airport, 3) it's a Hyatt. Problems from the beginning. We checked in with our 3 pound dog and had to sign a pet agreement and pay a non-refundable $60 cleaning fee. We had to agree not to leave our dog alone or unattended. No problem yet, but...we also had to agree NOT to take the dog into the restaurant, bar, swimming pool area, exercise room or any other public facility even in a dog carry case. You probably have figured out the problem!

The hotel was near Dulles Airport about a 15 minute drive in a hotel shuttle. And it was a Hyatt but what decent Hyatt can't provide hot water??? I was looking forward to a nice hot bath after a long day of traveling. Not to be. Water pressure was so low it took almost 30 minutes to fill the small bathtub (I was listening to the evening news while attempting to take a bath) and even with the 'hot' on full, the water was only tepid. Up comes the hotel engineer who assures me the boiler is set on 130degrees. Well, great but MY water was maybe 90 degrees. UGH!

The hotel agreed to waive the $60 pet fee to compensate for the lack of hot water. That was a nice gesture but I was still very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, find a true pet friendly place to stay.
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary. Unless lukewarm water is saying on power costs.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, Director of Sales at Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would like to apologize on behalf of the leadership team at Hyatt Dulles that you did not receive the service commensurate with our brand. Regarding the pet policy, while I am sure you understand the need for restrictions with in public places, we can agree the implementation in this case was below our standard. As a result we are reviewing our current pet policy. If returning to the area, please allow us the opportunity to better serve you and your family. I am happy to personally assist you with any needs you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport

Address: 2300 Dulles Corner Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#7 Business Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service deluxe property offering 316 newly renovated Executive Suites, featuring the Grand Bed. New state of the art Executive Meeting Center with a full service complimentary business center, catering to the business/"tech-savy" traveler. Our Executive Meeting Center is IACC accredited and LEED Certified. Expanded Fitness Center and Lap pool with strength training and cardio vascular equipment, all equipped with touch panel screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Dulles Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Hotel Dulles
Hyatt Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Herndon Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.