We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gold standard that is showing some age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Dulles Corner Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A gold standard that is showing some age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hyatt in Herndon was my choice for business travel on this particular trip. The hotel is very close to Dulles airport and my company business location. These two features made the rationale for staying here compelling.

My room was a mini-suite, of nearly 400 sq. ft. The living area, composed of a desk, sofa, chair and coffee table, is separated from a king-sized bed area by a low built-in bookcase on which the flat panel TV sits. The TV can be swiveled to face either the bed or the living area, a nice feature.

Upon entering the room, there was a odor that did not seem fresh and clean, making the room smell and feel “old”. The decor was somewhat dated. However, the bed was extremely comfortable. In the corner of the bedroom area was a portable air filtration machine. At first thought, I questioned how bad the air could be if this was needed. However, I later came to appreciate this little device. It kept the air circulating and it provided enough white noise through the night to give me an exceptional night’s sleep, one of the best first nights in a hotel I have ever had.

The breakfast buffet was unremarkable but the staff was courteous and friendly.

Check in / check out was easy and the staff most accommodating.

Generally, this was a good hotel but not great. If this hotel is not to your liking, there are several hotels in close proximity from which to choose just down the street. This is a very competitive area for hotels so choices abound.

Given all the choices for hotels in this area, for my next business trip here I might try out another option. This Hyatt is a good hotel but it just didn’t leave me feeling that this would be my first hotel choice for my next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the hotel face Dulles International Airport. Although all rooms are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    136
    65
    27
    14
See reviews for
80
65
45
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a long Labor Day weekend in DC. We booked a room at the Hyatt Dulles for 3 nights. The hotel is relatively close to the Dulles airport and would be very convenient if flying in/out of there. Since we were really going to spend some time in DC, it wasn't very convenient to getting there, but I knew that when I booked. Our plan was to drive to the Vienne metro station, park for free on the weekend, and take the metro into DC. This worked very well. We also saved on the nightly parking charge that hotels in DC charge, so it turned out to be a better deal to stay at the Hyatt Dulles. The hotel is very modern. Staff were very friendly and the room was clean. The room was a good size and very comfortable. Bathroom was small, but clean and manageable. Breakfast was expensive at $20 per person for the buffet, but it was very good. And $20 is pretty much the going price for breakfast in the DC area anyway, so no surprise there. In order to save on the cost of breakfast, I booked the "bed and breakfast" rate. I highly recommend going this route. Parking is free, but this hotel seems to host a lot of weddings on the weekend. This made parking hard to find when returning at night. No refrigerator in room, but since we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room this was not a problem for us. TV reception wasn't very good, but we didn't spend much time watching TV either. Wifi was pretty fast. Not sure if there is a cost. As a Hyatt Platinum member, I get free Wifi. Overall, it was a very enjoyable weekend at a great hotel and a reasonable price. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Dulles for your recent Labor Day getaway. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a kind and thorough review of our Northern Virginia hotel. I was also pleased to learn that you booked our Awaken Package for your stay with us. It is a great value offering complimentary breakfast and complimentary internet. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Melanie Walent,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed over at this hotel after returning late from an overseas flight. The airport pick up was helpful, the suite was large and spacious (although they could have used some of the suite's space for a larger bathroom, which was tiny)! The pool was rectangular and long enough to actually swim in (not just for children to play in). Dinner at the restaurant was also pretty good, considering we came in and ordered around 9:30 PM. Despite being close to the airport, our room was very quiet. The only drawback was that there was no one to help us with our baggage, but there were plenty of self-service trolleys that you could use.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the airport where you can see all the airplanes land and take off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com. We appreciate the review that you wrote and thank you for the feedback you provided. Hyatt Dulles does offer luggage assistance and I apologize there was no one to assist you. I will make sure to address this with our Guest Services Team. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again!

Best Regards,
Melanie Walent,
Directof of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here overnight with the family to visit the National Air and Space Museum which is located just up the road from the hotel. The hotel itself is located in what looks like a large business park just beyond Dulles airport. Despite this fact I can honestly say that noise from the airport was not a problem at all. Parking here is free and there is a free shuttle to the airport.

My first impression was that the hotel had a definite upscale look. The lobby is large and the front desk staff seemed friendly enough. Off the lobby is a small indoor lap pool with a hot tub. We didn't have time to use the pool so I can't really comment on that. There is also a gym which is outstanding. The equipment is top notch and far better than the stuff they have at my local gym.

The rooms have an open layout with a small island in the middle for the tv. There is a couch (with pullout bed) and chair on one side of the room and beds on the other. Since we had our 2 children with us we got a room with double beds. Here is where I would caution anyone choosing this style of room. The beds were tiny. In every other hotel we've ever stayed at the beds were more than suitable for 2 adults. If you have a spouse that moves at all in their sleep you will probably wake up bruised. The other issue I had is that the bed seemed to sink in the middle. Not sure if we just had a bad bed but I found this to be very uncomfortable as it really bothered my back.

As others have said, the TV reception is terrible. This really wasn't a problem for us but I don't understand why they would spend all that money outfitting the rooms with new HD flat screens and not improve the quality of the picture first. While there are no refrigerators in the room, there were bottles of water which cost $5 each.

Overall I gave this hotel an Average rating. The price was certainly right and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but there really wasn't anything offered that made this property above average. If I could make a suggestion to management, while in-between airport runs, why not offer free shuttle service to the air and space museum?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed and thorough review that you posted on TripAdvisor.com. We appreciate all of the feedback that you provided on your recent stay at our Northern Virginia Airport Hotel.

We are currently working on upgrading our cable service to offer a crisper picture on our flat screen televisions. I apologize that you did not receive a restful night sleep on our Hyatt Grand beds. I wish I knew what room you were in so we could go check the mattresses. I will look into your concern and see if I can locate the mattress to have it replaced. One last note on your suggestion for shuttle service to the National Air and Space museum. We do offer transportation to the museum, and I apologize if we did not communicate this properly to you and your family. I hope you come back and see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Melanie Walent,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERLIN, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed easy free parking. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. Perfect for one night with my husband. No in room refridge or complementary breakfast but a comfortable and well appointed none the less.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Not really all that close to the airport. I took a cab because I got tired of waiting for the shuttle. Not within reasonable walking distance to anything. Guess cabs prefer airport business; we were reduced to using the overpriced hotel run towncar service when going out to dinner.

Large convention space. Grounds are well manicured.

The rooms were awfully nice. At least mine was. It had a separate sitting area semi-separated from the sleeping area.

I like Hyatt beds, and this one was no exception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have stayed in quite a few Hyatts, and this one seemed above average. The front desk staff were accomodating to our need for a quiet room, and picked one that we liked on the first try. The hallways smelled positively neutral, not stale or overly perfumed. The restaurant serves a good grilled chicken sandwich, with a bigger cucumber salad than the previous Hyatt at which I had one. The air conditioning in the hotel and the hotel ballroom was good. The bed was excellent, with lots of pillows, and the TV could be moved to see from the bed or the seating area.
One other thing I want to commend the hotel for was that the front desk staff, when prompted for a nearby Italian restaurant that would have a varied menu, were able to recommend the perfect place for us, and provided a photocopy of the driving directions there and back to the hotel. The recommendation was extremely appreciated by all in our dinner party.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport

Address: 2300 Dulles Corner Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#9 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service deluxe property offering 316 newly renovated Executive Suites, featuring the Grand Bed. New state of the art Executive Meeting Center with a full service complimentary business center, catering to the business/"tech-savy" traveler. Our Executive Meeting Center is IACC accredited and LEED Certified. Expanded Fitness Center and Lap pool with strength training and cardio vascular equipment, all equipped with touch panel screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Dulles Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Hotel Dulles
Hyatt Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Herndon Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.