We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, and Courteous Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Herndon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Herndon to your Saves list
HYATT house Herndon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   467 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Herndon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, and Courteous Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Sunday night stay with the family in two bedroom suite on second floor overlooking the outside pool and basketball court. My suite had a comfortable living room and kitchen, nice size refrig with ice maker, cook-top, and microwave. A nice place to relax after a long car ride and before walking around nearby Reston Town Center which has numerous stores, restaurants, movie theater and a parking deck. Nice fitness room. The hotel is clean and the staff is courteous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
17
7
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I'm staying here right now - and have stayed in the past. Generally, it's not a problem - but this time there's been a huge issue with, well, the smell.

There are a few Indian families staying long term on the fourth floor, and they apparently like to cook in. The cooking odor has permeated the halls, elevator, and even my room. Seriously - in the morning I come into work smelling like an Indian buffet.

I'm not sure what the management can do about this while remaining culturally sensitive, but anyone who's lived in an apartment in Northern VA knows about this issue. In fact, I've had to change newly-rented apartments in the past due to the permanent odor due to Indian cooking - nevermind hotel rooms.

Don't get me wrong. I love Indian food and love the people as well. I just don't want to reek like it when I arrive at a 9am meeting or go to sleep on a bed that smells like it. Too bad; otherwise the hotel is great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, MI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We booked a two bedroom suite and received a very good rate. However, between the 2 bedrooms the air conditioning unit is in the larger of the two rooms. IT is VERY LOUD. Asked to changed rooms and we did. Still same problem. The toilets are VERY LOUD and will wake you up every time if used in the middle of the night. The front desk staff doesn't let you know of the area things to do unless they are asked. We had inquired about parking at the metro station nearby only to be told not to do it as the staff members car was broken into then towed and it took 3 days for him to locate his car. No other suggestions were offered other than it's too far for their shuttle to take you. They have a very small pool with an unnecessary life guard, all he did was gawk at my daughters to the point it became so uncomfortable that we left the pool area. The whirlpool would have been nice however was not working for our entire stay. The breakfast bar had the same items every morning, basic scrambled eggs, limited fruit & cereal selections. The potatoes were great! Had a problem with the elevator, the elevator company (we were told) was called and would arrive to fix the issue after 3 hours of waiting we (and a wonderful resident) had helped fixed the issue amongst ourselves. I have reason to believe that the elevator company was NEVER even called.

This property is clearly for use only for business travelers, not a family vacation. It is placed in an industrial park and every place you try to travel to is a toll road. We tried a new brand that the Hyatt was offering and it certainly did not add up to our usual Hyatt expectations. Needless to say there are plenty of choices in the Virginia/DC area, we will make another choice next time we visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I booked a stay at this location and cancelled over a month ago. I did not receive a cancellation email nor did I receive a reservation email. I asked during booking and was told they can't send one. I looked at my bank account today to find out I had been charged. Called the hotel and spoke with Manager who gave the "we are in their rights to charge for a no show". Ansd I was also told the rate I booked was $100 less than what they could have sold it for on 6/25 and how he would have lost money. I asked why I did not receive a confirmation for the reservation or cancellation and he said he does not know and they train the staff well. He also responded it will be brought up to the staff which is the politically and corporately correct thing to say. It will be mentioned to a staffer as "he should have cancelled." Also when I asked what email was it sent to, he read back an email that was not anywhere close to mine. Needless to say I was charged, he doesn't care , although their is an accuracy issue and he also said I may want to consider booking online to ensure accuracy. Nice job, big shout to the manager. I was gonna start staying at the hyatt house with the family as I come to Herndon often but after the "CORPORATE ROBOTIC reading of the learned responses to unhappy customers" response, I will continue to stat at the Staybridege Suites, Herndon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Friendly staff, clean and comfortable room with full kitchen, many amenities among them gym, pool and hot tub. Unbelievable complimentary breakfast buffet, free wifi and parking. Truly outstanding hotel experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed a couple nights in one of the two-bedroom suites with my in-laws for a wedding in Reston. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of this suite. We each had a big bedroom and bathroom and living room area was nice with a gas fireplace, kitchenette, etc. The hotel is extremely close to Dulles Airport though the location seemed very industrial park-esque so there's not much charm in the immediate area. However, they do have a free shuttle that will take you to certain locations if you work it out in advance which is always nice. This place also has a solid breakfast buffet as well.

The only complaints I really had about this Hyatt are pretty minor. Make sure you know where light switches are because they are in odd locations which were virtually impossible to find in the middle of the night. Also, the toilets are bizarrely loud and they woke me up every time they were used in our place. Lastly, the shower was hard to turn on to the extent that I had to do it for my wife and her 90 plus year old grandparents.. Other than that we were all very pleased with the stay. I would recommend it if you need to stay near Dulles for whatever reason.

Room Tip: Light switches in weird locations from what I recall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was able to get this room last minute. I was able to get a beautiful suite at a very good rate. The location is fantastic, everything that is needed is in walking distance or a very short drive. Didn't have to go farther than 2 miles to get a good meal in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Herndon

Address: 467 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Herndon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Herndon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HYATT house Herndon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Herndon Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Summerfield Suites Herndon
Herndon Summerfield Suites
Herndon Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.