We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel of home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Herndon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Herndon to your Saves list
HYATT house Herndon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   467 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Herndon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Feel of home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Awesome place with super awesome staff. I had absolutely no trouble staying here for months. Every little request was taken care on time. They had especially arranged the buffet lunch for few folks with food items belonging to our country.
With all the food joints, big retail, etc at walking distance, you find this hotel with absolutely no reason to dislike it. They also provide shuttle service for airport and places near by like shopping, dining, etc.
I highly recommend this place, must stay!

Room Tip: Request for a hotel room with pool side view if you are staying there in summers. And for winters ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
17
7
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I dont know much about the former names, perhaps Sommerfield got bought out of the deal? Anyway, the HYATT 'house' (and yes, that's lower case) is a nice alternative to many of the other upscale named places , if they're not even closer to Dulles, like big brother Hyatt down the road with big brother prices. This place seemed relatively newly built, everything was spanking clean and new, like the toaster, sink, fridge, TVs and bath. I upgraded from a 'studio' to a one-bedroom, and appreciated the space even tho I was only there for a two day conference. The bedroom, bath and shower area are the equivalent of an entire room in some of the downtown DC hotels. There's a full studio apartment sized kitchen, two burners, microwave, pots/pans, sink and fridge with a 'real' freezer to hold a frozen pizza or half-gallon ice cream along with ice-maker, so it feels top drawer. Spacious counter doubles as your desktop/workspace are to plug in the laptop. There's a comfy sofa I could actually lie across full length while scrolling channels of the HD flatscreen a few feet away.
The bonus? less than that pricing. I got a great deal compared to what was posted around the area on hotels.com and others. There is a Springhill, COurtyard and Hampton nearby but this was just as good for less. Great breakfast buffet and evening happy-hour which had real beer on tap to go with your tapas! Outside was a pool and basketball court if you need a little workout. There's a full supermarket not to far away so stocking your fridge with eats isn't hard at all. They did find me a 'quiet' location as I asked for and it was, altho I had a trip up and down from the upper floors as a draw back.
Staff was friendly but alittle too intrusive for my tastes (I'm more of a road warrior when traveling and get a razor focus on work stuff so I dont have time to chit-chat. There's always more work than there's time for on the road) but it was nice to have the amenities there but not hafta use them. Around the corner is Reston Center with movies, shops and restaurants from low key/cost Cosi and Panera to the China Bowl - more upscale but also pricey, and others. Shop around for price and even if this comes out a few dollars higher, take it, you'll thank me.
WHy a Good and not Excellent rating? - well, a design flaw places the one slow moving elevator at a disadvantage to some of the rooms, and parking spaces was an after thought on the design as well, probably to maximize billable space vs. dead. At a courtyard, for example, you might park right in front of your suite, since you have a separate entrance and no one else is in your unit..but you! When I'm come back to the area, for DC or suburb explorations, I'll defintely pic this place again.

Room Tip: one elevator, stairwells are poorly placed at the end of hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

With four children its hard to find a room that's affordable spacious comfortable and ticks mums box on class - this place had it all. Two bedroom suite came with a king and ensuite bathroom in both rooms and a very comfortable double pull out in the lounge - kids devoured the buffet breakfast - overall super happy - only took 30 minutes driving into dc!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
653 helpful votes 653 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hyatt House is ranked #1 in upscale extended-stay hotel brand by the Business Travel News 2012 hotel chain survey. I would agree. This place is less like a hotel and more like a residence.

There are separate spaces that allow you to live like you might in your own home. The studio, one bedroom, and two bedroom suites all offer full kitchens with a full size refrigerator, comfy living rooms, spacious bedrooms and stylish bathrooms. You do not have to sleep on a pull out sofa bed.

There are two main social areas for the complimentary buffet breakfast and social hour although social hours are not held on the weekends, which was the case for my weekend here. There is a small workout room, outdoor pool and outdoor grilling area. It was too cold to enjoy these outdoor spaces on this cold winter weekend.

I first stayed at Hyatt House in Boulder, Colorado late last year (see my review and pics) and really enjoyed my one night experience. I recently sought a hotel room to accommodate up to 4 people near the Reston Town Center (RTC). I came upon a 2 bedroom suite here for the weekend for only $90 per night. Unbelievable? But true! I also had two separate full bathrooms and even a natural gas fireplace located in the center living room to boot.

It can’t get any better than that. Also there is complimentary shuttle service to RTC, which only takes about 7 minutes.

I would highly recommend this place especially for families in need of lots of space. There is even a washer/dryer combo in the public area if you want to do laundry during extended stays.

I will definitely try other Hyatt Houses and may return to this one again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Hyatt House hotel (formally the Hotel Sierra) many times for business since 2009. It is located 10 minutes from Dulles airport and has a good shuttle service available, if you give them a call when you land, they will be there waiting for you at the bus stop 2H every time. There are three or four different types of rooms, each one has a little kitchen area and a good sized fridge, the larger rooms have a dividing wall between the living area/bedroom. Breakfast is good with a decent selection of cold and hot food available. In the evening the bar serves bottled beer, a basic selection of red and white wine and a few spirits with soft drinks on tap. The bar offers food to eat at in the bar/lounge area or to take away and the selections is okay. In summary, the hotel is very good, has great staff and I will be using again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night only and would definitely book it again.
The rooms are big, very clean with a well-equipped kitchen for those who stay longer and a comfortable bed.
The staff was very friendly, nothing too much for them.
Breakfast was included in our room rate, nothing special, but better to have a quick bagel with cream cheese than nothing. So absolutely adequate.
The pool area was clean, though pretty small. Parking is for free. Location is good, just a 10-15min drive from Dulles airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a quick 2 day trip to Northern Virginia from Baltimore over the St Patrick weekend.We always get a great rate at nice hotels by Dulles Airport because the ''business''hotels are slow friday and saturday nights.We were totally satisfied with our room(they gave us exactly what we had requested).We bought grocerys and adult beverages at the Safeway about a mile away and just relaxed,cooked in the kitchen in the room,and watched movies we rented frpm Redbox at 7-11 on the awesome tv in the room.The buffet breakfast was just a bit better than most ''complimentary''breakfasts,but,nothing spectacular.All in all a nice time(with a great weekend rate).Also,heating unit/fan was the quietest I had ever heard.Perfect nice sleep.

Room Tip: Our room on top floor ,end of hallway was quiet both nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Herndon

Address: 467 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Herndon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Herndon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HYATT house Herndon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Herndon Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Summerfield Suites Herndon
Herndon Summerfield Suites
Herndon Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.