We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything One Could Desire in a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Eat Free
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Everything One Could Desire in a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We spent our last night in the DC area at the Marriott Suites. The hotel is only 3-4 miles to the Dulles International airport and there is 24 hour shuttle service. We were exceptionally pleased with the comfort of this hotel as well as the microwave and kitchen utilities that were provided. The shuttle driver told us the hotel was 10 years old, but the building and rooms appeared to be brand new. There is a full scale sit-down restaurant that would satisfy most any taste, a full bar, room service, and a "pantry" where one may buy drugstore-like items. Peronnel were exceptionally helpful and cordial. The best part was the extremely easy on the wallet $74/nightly weekend rate (Thurs.-Sun). We would recommend this hotel to most anyone looking for an upscale, tasteful, meticulously clean hotel in close proximity to the Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    74
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
36
23
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Typically, when traveling, my fiance and I stay at 4 and 5 star hotels, however for a quick visit with friends in the Reston, VA area, we felt like this hotel would be a good choice since all we really needed was somewhere to sleep. This hotel was a fanastic value for our rate of $89 per night. Since this is primarily a "business" hotel, staying here over a weekend to visit friends in the area, was the perfect way to secure lower rates. The room was spacious and clean. We particularly liked the separation between the bedroom and living area. The bathroom was spacious for a hotel of this type, with the vanity in a separate "hall" between the bathroom and bedroom. There is also a "wet bar" in the living area which we utilized for extra counter space (mainly my hairdryer, brushes and make up - which never quite fits in a standard bathroom). The bed was comfortable but the pillows were very "lumpy" and gave both me and my fiance, stiff necks the second night. Since breakfast was included in the rate, we were pleasantly surprised on Sunday morning to be greeted with a full buffet downstairs including; cook to order egg station, meats, cereals, fruit, juices etc. Since our rate included breakfast, we paid nothing for a breakfast that would have cost us at least $40 at any other hotel / restaurant. Service and food were both great. The front desk was very helpful and friendly when I inquired about a safe. There are no in-room safes, however the front desk does have some that you can use where you get the key and can access anytime during your stay. While I fully intended to use the indoor pool, I never made it since we were out both days. Overall, a great stay for us - we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Sunday's Buffet Breakfast included in our rate
  • Disliked — Lumpy pillows
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

This is the 3rd DC-area Marriott hotel I've stayed at over the past few weeks. I have to confess I don't understand why the DC areas Marriotts have the worst fitness centers I've ever seen at a Marriott. Otherwise, this particular property is pretty decent - rooms are nice and spacious - however, there are just those little things that are lacking - for example, the TV is not a flat panel (odd for a rather newly appointed room), the towels are substandard, the heating system difficult to work with, and internet access is not only just wired, but has a very small ethernet cable - so one is forced to sit at the table. This hotel doesn't have concierge service - not sure if this is the norm at Marriott Suites properties. But I do miss it. Luckily there are plenty of eateries just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We recently stayed at the Marriott Suites Dulles Airport for a family vacation to the DC area. Keeping track of the rates months before our arrival, I managed to get a good rate ($99) that included breakfast. We actually booked two reservations because we took some time to visit NYC in-between stays and got the same rate for each booking. Just a couple of miles from Dulles, so the hotel was convenient. It’s part of the WorldGate Center, which is like a strip mall of sorts, so there were several convenient restaurants, shops and services right downstairs. There were also decent restaurants nearby. It took only about 20 minutes to drive to DC on a good day. Located on a toll road, so be prepared to pay toll(s) (50 – 75 cents).

Traveling as a family of four, the rooms are all suites, which was perfect for us. The bedroom is a little tight in space, but very clean, modern, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and accessible from two entrances. The sitting area was slightly larger, but somewhat cramped when using the pull-out sofa bed. It also contained a small fridge, microwave, coffee area, and sink. Didn’t like having to pay $9.95 (per 24-hour period) for Internet access. The breakfast buffet was good and plentiful. Lots of choices, including made-to-order omelets. The hotel staff was very friendly, courteous and accommodating. (our departing flights were during the recent hurricane Gustav, which created some heavy downpours and winds at Dulles. When I inquired at the front desk about the possibility of our flights being cancelled and staying an additional night, I was told that they would honor our existing rate…not bad!) The hotel even offers a pc station for free access to airline websites to check-in online and print boarding passing prior to your flight.

I would definitely recommend this hotel (especially if you can get a room rate for under $100 per night).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I've stayed at this Marriott at least 6 times and it is simply a great hotel. Parking is easy, the rooms are large and there are a number of eating choices right outside the hotel doorstep. It's just down the road from Dulles and not all that far from downtown DC to make it a great choice if you have a DC layover or want a base for touring DC that will probably be much cheaper than anything comparable in the district. I go there for business meetings and I'm sure I'll be staying there a number of times in the future.

  • Liked — Location and quality of room
  • Disliked — It is a 20-25 minute drive to the District
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

This is a convieniently located hotel in a business park/shopping area. Movie theaters and restaurants are within walking distance (less than 5 minutes). All the rooms are suites but ours did not have any flat screen TVs as you see on the website.

The only disappoining thing is that the hotel charges for internet access. Totally unacceptable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of free internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland/DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Called the hotel directly - they transferred me to their reservation center and I got a better rate then other on-line search engines. They had a three-day AAA weekend special that was not advertised anywhere on the internet. The workout facility next door is wonderful as well as the shops at Leesburg outlets. We did drive about 20 mins to get an upgraded dinner from the food chain restaurants close by. I did not think the price for the internet was worth it - since almost every restaurant in the area offered it for free including the McDonalds across the street. This is a business class hotel I am surprise they have not found a way to include it in the price of the room.

  • Liked — two room suite -
  • Disliked — distance to underground parking garage
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Address: 13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#10 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Marriott Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Dulles Marriott Suites at Worldgate Centre is one of the premier hotels near Dulles Airport. Featuring all-suite accommodations, this hotel in Herndon, VA is located 3 miles from IAD Airport and offers 253 newly renovated spacious guest rooms with high-tech business amenities and separate living areas. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate the hotel's complimentary shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. This Herndon hotel is walking distance to dozens of restaurants, unique shops and activities at the adjacent Worldgate Centre. Guests will also enjoy our close proximity to the National Air and Space Museum Udvar Hazy Center, Reston Town Center, Dulles Expo Center and numerous Northern Virginia wineries. For an important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities and custom catering are perfect for a flawless event. When it comes to hotels near Dulles, the Washington Dulles Marriott Suites makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Washington Dulles Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Marriott Hotel Herndon
Marriott Washington Dulles
Marriott Herndon
Herndon Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.