We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. A very good location with plenty of good restaurants literally outside of the door. Close to the freeway and local amenities, including the Udhvar Hasey aviation museum. The airport is a few minutes away and Dulles Town Center shopping area is few minutes up the road.

Room Tip: From our understanding all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    85
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
42
24
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I travel almost weekly for business and carry a Lifetime Platinum card-so I've stayed at my share of Marriott properties. The desk staff are attentive and most helpful. The rooms are all suites which offer a separate sleeping area, bathroom and sitting area and tv's in both the large sitting area/work area and bedroom area. I believe the rooms have been recently renovated so the furniture, bedding, carpet and decor is fairly new and fresh. The room was very clean and comfortable. Although there is no concierge lounge a free breakfast is provided to eligible Marriott club members. The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of breakfast items and cook to order eggs. The dining area is quiet and well appointed with an adjoining bar. I did experience a few issues during my stay however. The music in the lobby is much to loud almost to be unbearable. I mentioned this to someone at the desk who said they would turn it down. Well, that did not happen. So, turn down the unwanted loud noise. It should only be heard quietly in the background. Some of the public areas such as the lobby, elevators and pool could be much cleaner. So, put some extra efforts here. Lastly, the new toiletries are offensive and almost noxious. All full service Marriott's have gone with this brand so I am forced to bring my own soaps and shampoo which is a absurd. Please go back to the previous brand. Stay in a higher floor, there are 11 floors and select and odd number room since the even number rooms face a major highway and you hear traffic noise. You will find a good selection of nearby restaurants as will as general shopping. The offer shuttle service to Dulles. This is a sister to the Dulles Airport Marriott. I've stayed at both on recommend the the Dulles Marriott Suites based on comfort and the proximity of local restaurants, shopping and services.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed at this property several times over the last several years! Rooms are great! Plenty of room to move around in, and depending on your location within the hotel, some interesting views! Front desk staff are great and very pleasant and willing to help out if necessary. However, the area by the elevators could use some new lights to enhance that area on the main floor!

The breakfast buffet has lots of choices! However, this area could use some assistance in that it tends to be dark when there could be more light available.

Lots of stores close and movie theater make this a nice weekend get-away! While not close to DC, there are plenty of choices for visits, including the Air & Space Museum near a Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel used to be an ideal place to stay in Herndon, but the quality of stays gets worse each time. The hotel common areas are dirty. The lobby, the hallways, the gym.....it looks like they haven't even been vacuumed in months. The brass plates around the elevator buttons look like they haven't been wiped down in months (food, fingerprints, grease, and other nasties all over the place). There were dirty dishes from room service that stayed in the hallway for 4 days. I mentioned it to the front desk twice, and still it sat there.

The lobby entrance was full of garbage as the garbage cans were overflowing. It was really bad. This used to be a hotel that catered primarily to business people in the Herndon Tech Corridor. However, the last few times I've stayed, it has been overrun with out of town junior high and high school sports teams that trash the place, are noisy, and who run amock up and down the halls. They play loud music late at night, and in the morning the restaurant is so crowded for breakfast that the wait can be up to 30 minutes for a table. And by the time these sports teams (and their inattentive parents) get done with breakfast buffet, it looks like a disaster area.

On the positive....the suites are very nice, and are clean. Housekeeping did miss a few things (twice they took away dirty towels and left no replacement). But in general the rooms are clean. Also, the gentlemen who work in the restaurant at breakfast time are very pleasant and accommodating.

I am going to give the place one more try, and if it continues to get worse, I am going to switch to another Marriott property in the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and everytime my stays have been pleasant. The hotel is closely located to IAD and runs a shuttle; however, if you intended on driving into DC on a daily basis then you should reconsider. Its perfectly located if will be staying in the Reston/Herndon/Sterling area.

The rooms are spacious and very clean; staff is curteous and facilities are clean. The hotel is located within a strip mall which a number of shops and a theater. Shops stay open until 10 so there are some food choices right below. Otherwise, there's really not much within walking distance.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for a few days here (in a longer trip). One person flew back from Dulles, so this was convenient (went with him on the shuttle and back to the hotel).

Very happy. Inexpensive. Good breakfast. Good desk staff.

A pleasure.

It was a little hard to find (if you've never been to it before) since it doesn't face a street (its in a small shopping center)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Booked a stay here because of the free parking and shuttle to the airport. Liked the layout and the room was clean and cozy. Will stay here whenever I need to fly out of Dulles. The price was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Address: 13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Dulles Marriott Suites at Worldgate Centre is one of the premier hotels near Dulles Airport. Featuring all-suite accommodations, this hotel in Herndon, VA is located 3 miles from IAD Airport and offers 253 newly renovated spacious guest rooms with high-tech business amenities and separate living areas. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate the hotel's complimentary shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. This Herndon hotel is walking distance to dozens of restaurants, unique shops and activities at the adjacent Worldgate Centre. Guests will also enjoy our close proximity to the National Air and Space Museum Udvar Hazy Center, Reston Town Center, Dulles Expo Center and numerous Northern Virginia wineries. For an important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities and custom catering are perfect for a flawless event. When it comes to hotels near Dulles, the Washington Dulles Marriott Suites makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Marriott Hotel Herndon
Marriott Washington Dulles
Marriott Herndon
Herndon Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.