We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've stayed here alot - Gets worse each time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Eat Free
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I've stayed here alot - Gets worse each time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel used to be an ideal place to stay in Herndon, but the quality of stays gets worse each time. The hotel common areas are dirty. The lobby, the hallways, the gym.....it looks like they haven't even been vacuumed in months. The brass plates around the elevator buttons look like they haven't been wiped down in months (food, fingerprints, grease, and other nasties all over the place). There were dirty dishes from room service that stayed in the hallway for 4 days. I mentioned it to the front desk twice, and still it sat there.

The lobby entrance was full of garbage as the garbage cans were overflowing. It was really bad. This used to be a hotel that catered primarily to business people in the Herndon Tech Corridor. However, the last few times I've stayed, it has been overrun with out of town junior high and high school sports teams that trash the place, are noisy, and who run amock up and down the halls. They play loud music late at night, and in the morning the restaurant is so crowded for breakfast that the wait can be up to 30 minutes for a table. And by the time these sports teams (and their inattentive parents) get done with breakfast buffet, it looks like a disaster area.

On the positive....the suites are very nice, and are clean. Housekeeping did miss a few things (twice they took away dirty towels and left no replacement). But in general the rooms are clean. Also, the gentlemen who work in the restaurant at breakfast time are very pleasant and accommodating.

I am going to give the place one more try, and if it continues to get worse, I am going to switch to another Marriott property in the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    77
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
37
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and everytime my stays have been pleasant. The hotel is closely located to IAD and runs a shuttle; however, if you intended on driving into DC on a daily basis then you should reconsider. Its perfectly located if will be staying in the Reston/Herndon/Sterling area.

The rooms are spacious and very clean; staff is curteous and facilities are clean. The hotel is located within a strip mall which a number of shops and a theater. Shops stay open until 10 so there are some food choices right below. Otherwise, there's really not much within walking distance.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for a few days here (in a longer trip). One person flew back from Dulles, so this was convenient (went with him on the shuttle and back to the hotel).

Very happy. Inexpensive. Good breakfast. Good desk staff.

A pleasure.

It was a little hard to find (if you've never been to it before) since it doesn't face a street (its in a small shopping center)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Booked a stay here because of the free parking and shuttle to the airport. Liked the layout and the room was clean and cozy. Will stay here whenever I need to fly out of Dulles. The price was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed four nights. We immediately were impressed with the management visibility in the lobby, welcoming guests -- many were repeat guests and were addressed by name. Again, a manager was in the lobby providing a farewell to departing guests. Nice touch. Check-in was smooth. Plenty of free parking. With Marriott Gold/Platinum status, we were provided complimentary breakfasts ($14.99 each regularly) from their wonderful buffet/made-to-order omelet station. This was truly the meal of the day for us. Also complimentary USA Today and Wall Street Journal.

The atmosphere is one of sophistication - not really a "family" facility. We actually saw very few children. Most guests and staff were international citizens and many languages were being spoken everywhere! The entire staff was extremely gracious and kind to us at all times. Housekeeping was discreet and very thorough.

The location is on a busy street and in a busy shopping area, somewhat tricky to find the front of the building. However, once inside, it is truly an urban oasis. Calmness, quiet voices and upscale atmosphere. The rooms are totally soundproof and we slept like babies!

We appreciated the kindness of the staff - front desk, housekeeping (5th floor), bartender and breakfast attendants.

We will be back and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the (distant) airport (even numbered rooms). You won't hear a thing and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night, prior to an early morning flight out of Dulles the next morning. Check in was smooth and a breeze. Room was much better than expected. Loved the layout and cozy feeling of the bedroom. Bed was very comfortable. Despite being able to see Dulles from my bedroom and living room windows, never heard a plane taking off or landing.

Located next to a strip mall, it allowed is to get a cup of coffee at Starbucks and dinner without having to jump back into the car. There's also a newly renovated theatre as well.

I'd definitely return here for my next early morning flight out of Dulles. Between room rate and the $30 parking fee, it was still cheaper than parking at the airport.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I absolutely love this hotel and stay here every time I am in the area. The rooms are very comfortable and have very nice amenities. The hotel is also located inside a shopping center, which hosts a number of different restaurants and even a very nice movie theater. Parking is easy and free. Even the internet speed is good in this hotel, which is something I can't say about very many hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Address: 13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#10 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Dulles Marriott Suites at Worldgate Centre is one of the premier hotels near Dulles Airport. Featuring all-suite accommodations, this hotel in Herndon, VA is located 3 miles from IAD Airport and offers 253 newly renovated spacious guest rooms with high-tech business amenities and separate living areas. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate the hotel's complimentary shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. This Herndon hotel is walking distance to dozens of restaurants, unique shops and activities at the adjacent Worldgate Centre. Guests will also enjoy our close proximity to the National Air and Space Museum Udvar Hazy Center, Reston Town Center, Dulles Expo Center and numerous Northern Virginia wineries. For an important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities and custom catering are perfect for a flawless event. When it comes to hotels near Dulles, the Washington Dulles Marriott Suites makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Marriott Hotel Herndon
Marriott Washington Dulles
Marriott Herndon
Herndon Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.