We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed four nights. We immediately were impressed with the management visibility in the lobby, welcoming guests -- many were repeat guests and were addressed by name. Again, a manager was in the lobby providing a farewell to departing guests. Nice touch. Check-in was smooth. Plenty of free parking. With Marriott Gold/Platinum status, we were provided complimentary breakfasts ($14.99 each regularly) from their wonderful buffet/made-to-order omelet station. This was truly the meal of the day for us. Also complimentary USA Today and Wall Street Journal.

The atmosphere is one of sophistication - not really a "family" facility. We actually saw very few children. Most guests and staff were international citizens and many languages were being spoken everywhere! The entire staff was extremely gracious and kind to us at all times. Housekeeping was discreet and very thorough.

The location is on a busy street and in a busy shopping area, somewhat tricky to find the front of the building. However, once inside, it is truly an urban oasis. Calmness, quiet voices and upscale atmosphere. The rooms are totally soundproof and we slept like babies!

We appreciated the kindness of the staff - front desk, housekeeping (5th floor), bartender and breakfast attendants.

We will be back and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the (distant) airport (even numbered rooms). You won't hear a thing and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    105
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
49
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night, prior to an early morning flight out of Dulles the next morning. Check in was smooth and a breeze. Room was much better than expected. Loved the layout and cozy feeling of the bedroom. Bed was very comfortable. Despite being able to see Dulles from my bedroom and living room windows, never heard a plane taking off or landing.

Located next to a strip mall, it allowed is to get a cup of coffee at Starbucks and dinner without having to jump back into the car. There's also a newly renovated theatre as well.

I'd definitely return here for my next early morning flight out of Dulles. Between room rate and the $30 parking fee, it was still cheaper than parking at the airport.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I absolutely love this hotel and stay here every time I am in the area. The rooms are very comfortable and have very nice amenities. The hotel is also located inside a shopping center, which hosts a number of different restaurants and even a very nice movie theater. Parking is easy and free. Even the internet speed is good in this hotel, which is something I can't say about very many hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I cannot say enough about how accommodating the staff has been during our stay! We got an earlier flight than planned and arrived at the hotel by noon, and they let us into our room immediately with no problems. They kept our Coldstone in their freezer, to keep it from melting while we ate our dinner. (Another great thing is this hotel is right in the middle of a complex...lots of food to choose from! Very convenient!) A pipe burst in the middle of the night and we were without water until about 11.30am. They offered passes to the spa next door to shower, and also comped us a free breakfast. We were at breakfast for about a half an hour and room service had already been in to tidy up our room by the time we got back! The rooms were very nice - modern, clean and we couldn't hear any neighbors above, below or next door. It was great to have a separate sitting room. The bed was super comfortable and I slept like a baby! Would absolutely stay here again, with no hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is my fourth or fifth time staying here now and I think that this time it seems like the staff is beginning to step up their game a little. The front desk staff was very warm and friendly. The beds seem a little fluffier than the last time I was here (maybe I got a bad one last time?). My only real complaint is the AC system in the rooms. It is on a motion sensor, which is fine for day time. But when I am sleeping, the system turns off and I have a very hard time getting a good night's sleep. I constantly wake up hot because there is no air movement from the AC or the fan unit (which I turned to ON instead of AUTO, but the motion sensor overrides it).

There is a lot of change going on with the restaurants in the mall behind the hotel, so if you stayed here before and didn't like your options ... maybe you'll find something new to like.

Green Features: On board with the motion sensor for the AC during the day, but at night its awful and really ruins my stay. I would prefer that the hotel go to a European system of having to put a key in a socket to keep the AC running instead of using motion sensors.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen M, General Manager at Washington Dulles Marriott Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear LocalFoodieFan,

Thank you for posting a second review regarding your experiences while staying at the Washington Dulles Marriott Suites. We continually challenge ourselves to improve the level of service we provide as well as the amenities that we offer. I am glad you have noticed that effort.

I did want to let you know that our AC system is not on a motion sensor. Please let us know next time you are staying with us and we will set up your AC system to stay on throughout the night.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My first stay at this hotel left me amazed by its cleanliness and roominess: a bedroom, a bathroom, a living area with a desk off to one side and a bar set up at the other end (with mini fridge and microwave). My rate was reasonable as part of a conference contract. My only problem was the ritzy soap that irritated my skin. That and the $12.95/night wired internet fee (my wireless connection only worked in the lobby and the conference areas); I decided I didn't need to use my laptop that badly. The breakfasts were very good, with custom omelets, but each of my breakfast tabs came to $15-$20. I considered those to be my main meals of the day.

Green Features: I don't mind using the same sheets 2 nights in a row, but when I travel, I want fresh towels each day. So I threw my towels in the middle of the bathroom floor...
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have stayed at this location a few times. I love the location because it is so close to restaurants. The rooms stay nice and clean. However, every time I stay there I feel very uncomfortable asking some of the managers anything. They stare at me with a very intimidating look and will even roll there eyes as I'm asking ANYTHING. There once was a young child playing with a ball in the lobby and I watched as the manager snatched it out of the kids hands very aggressively without addressing the mother first. I love this hotel, but for this reason of feeling uncomfortable I will no longer stay there. Other employees are awesome! So if you can surpass a few rude ones then this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen M, General Manager at Washington Dulles Marriott Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Annabelle55,

Thank you for making the time to write a review regarding your experience at the Washington Dulles Marriott Suites. I am glad to hear there are many things you enjoy about staying at the hotel. I am very disappointed, however, to hear about the experience you have had with one or more of the managers in the hotel. They should be setting the example of excellent customer service for our associates.

I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you in person regarding this so I can address your concern. My phone number is 703-925-5855 if you would be willing to do this.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback. I hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Address: 13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Herndon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Dulles Marriott Suites at Worldgate Centre is one of the premier hotels near Dulles Airport. Featuring all-suite accommodations, this hotel in Herndon, VA is located 3 miles from IAD Airport and offers 253 newly renovated spacious guest rooms with high-tech business amenities and separate living areas. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate the hotel's complimentary shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. This Herndon hotel is walking distance to dozens of restaurants, unique shops and activities at the adjacent Worldgate Centre. Guests will also enjoy our close proximity to the National Air and Space Museum Udvar Hazy Center, Reston Town Center, Dulles Expo Center and numerous Northern Virginia wineries. For an important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities and custom catering are perfect for a flawless event. When it comes to hotels near Dulles, the Washington Dulles Marriott Suites makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Washington Dulles Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Marriott Hotel Herndon
Marriott Washington Dulles
Marriott Herndon
Herndon Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.