We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to like about this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Much to like about this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is an up-scale full-service all-suite Marriott property. Lobby is chic and the suites are all well-furnished, each with two flat-screen TV's. Amenities are also higher-end. The fitness center and indoor/outdoor pool are outstanding and clean -- the pool even has a lifeguard (although not open during business hours during the week). As others have said, there is a full array of restaurants on-site -- also a FedEx store, nail spa, barber shop, etc.

The staff is very well trained and extremely kind and friendly. We had interaction from the front desk staff, lounge, restaurant and housekeeping. The ONLY negative (and a minor one at that) is that the Marriott website says "mini-refrigerators" in all suites. Actually, it is a "chiller" not a refrigerator. We were travelling with a small child, and brought milk, yogurt, etc. and the chiller did not do the job at all. The front desk suggested we take these items to the restaurant kitchen where they could be stored. (Another family was doing the same thing). Finally, the next day, a real mini-refrigerator was found and the problem was solved. Also, the bottle of Evian water on the wet-bar was priced at $4.50 -- a disappointment when the outside temperature was at 100+ degrees during our 3-night stay.

We will absolutely return and ask ahead of time for the refrigerator -- not a chiller!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel -- great views of the distant mountains and Dulles Air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    83
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
40
24
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Was on buisness in Northern Virginia and stayed at this hotel. It is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The front desk people were efficient and helpful. The room is very comfortable and there is plenty of room to work. I would stay here again if I needed to return for business.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I have had a terrible room serivce rexperience. Briefly, I ordered a glass of white wine with my dinner and it has taken five calls to the front desk to have the missing glass of wine found and it is still MIA!
The gentleman bringing the order does not speak much English. He actually brought me an empty wine glass! What was I supposed to do with that! It should not take five calls to the front desk in order to get one simple glass of wine. Terrible service.
Also, the Internet charge is extremely annoying. Please get up to date Marriott and get free Internet! Also, the bed has depressions left by former guests and it is like sleeping in a valley, not comortable at all.
If the manager is reading this, please contact me. I am on the 7th floor right now.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is a bog standard Marriott but better located in a shopping centre with plenty of dining choices on the site - as well as a multiplex cinema. However, for those without a car you will be reliant on taxis and it is a fair way from downtown DC. The hotel shuttle was on request rather than every x minutes (though this may have been due to the low number of visitors whilst I was there). The other hotels in the area looked more isolated than this one. Rooms were OK, suites - so plenty of space. Great as an airport stopover with some dining choice but not recommended for sightseeing in DC.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This hotel is a true find in a sea of business options in the Herndon area.
Management - welcoming staff, manager knew my name after the first stay, accommodated my requests big or small.
Housekeeping - spotless and perfect every time.
Rooms - separate bedroom, full marble bathrooms, roomy suite experience, quality bedding, and quiet night's sleep.
Workout and pool area are better than most business class hotels, with TV on each machine and free packages of headphones.
Restaurant - very nice quality, delivered consistently high results and attached complex has numerous ethnic restaurants (at least 5), plus nail salon, Starbucks, and FedEx/Kinkos.
Free parking outside the front door. Not on a rail line, which is my only reason for ranking it a 4 in Location category, but there is a regular shuttle to IAD.
The management deserves the recognition it has earned at this property. Kudos to them!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Wanted to visit Washington for a couple of days and undecided where to stay overnight. Since a member of Marriott rewards opted to stay at the Marriott suites as it afforded a bit more room than a standard hotel room, especially traveling with a teenager. Very satisfied with our stay. Marriott offered a weekend special rate of $99.00 that included free breakfast for 2 adults. The breakfast buffet was outstanding as everything kept fresh. Also offered stations for freshly made omelets and waffles. Check-in was very smooth and the room was outstanding. Room is a one bedroom suite with a king bed in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the living area. Usually dislike have a sofa bed and the comfort levels for sleeping on these things leave much to be desired, but actually found this sofa bed to be quite comfortable. Large screen HD TV in living area and also one in the bedroom. Hotel conveniently located to get into Washington DC as right near highway. Hotel located in small shopping center and various restaurants available right outside your door to please just about any palate. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying here twice now. Both times were for girl's weekends with out of town friends. The rooms are very comfortable and come with a wet bar, which of course was perfect for us. The front desk is very helpful and go out of their way to assist you. We had called for extra towels and they arrived almost as quickly as we hung up the phone. My only reserve is that you have to pay for your internet service, but as we were out most of the time this was really not an issue.
There is no shortage of places to eat as the hotel sits in a plaza unto itself. The plaza has every type of food, from kabobs, and Japanese to Italian. We ended up at the old standby T.G.I.F's We had a bite and after went back to the bar inside the hotel. They waitstaff were very friendly and kept out glasses filled. They did not skimp on the spirits either. Our waiter made us gals feel like we were his only customers which was much appreciated.
As far as sleeping goes, the beds were extremely confortable. I was bemused to find a booklet on the desk that offered sales of room items. I did enjoy the lamps but I passed on that one. I will say if you are coming to town to go into Washington DC be prepared to drive to get to a Metro station. If you plan on driving all the way into DC then the toll road is right by the hotel. Overall this hotel is a great deal. We plan on coming back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Address: 13101 Worldgate Drive, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#7 Family Hotel in Herndon
#9 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Dulles Marriott Suites at Worldgate Centre is one of the premier hotels near Dulles Airport. Featuring all-suite accommodations, this hotel in Herndon, VA is located 3 miles from IAD Airport and offers 253 newly renovated spacious guest rooms with high-tech business amenities and separate living areas. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate the hotel's complimentary shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. This Herndon hotel is walking distance to dozens of restaurants, unique shops and activities at the adjacent Worldgate Centre. Guests will also enjoy our close proximity to the National Air and Space Museum Udvar Hazy Center, Reston Town Center, Dulles Expo Center and numerous Northern Virginia wineries. For an important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities and custom catering are perfect for a flawless event. When it comes to hotels near Dulles, the Washington Dulles Marriott Suites makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Marriott Hotel Herndon
Marriott Washington Dulles
Marriott Herndon
Herndon Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.