We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   533 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Herndon
colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“very nice, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

The hotel was great. Beautiful rooms, friendly staff. Note: there is a hotel shuttle to Dulles but only runs 7am-11 or midnight. Just keep that in mind when booking.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    43
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
13
22
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DETBoulder
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

This hotel is a great value for the area. It was under renovation when I was there, and it will be very nice when the renovations are complete. As usual for Courtyards, the bed was very comfortable. The rooms still have not been updated, so my room was in very poor condition. The TV looked like it was left over from the 1980s, and the sound and picture was terrible. It barely worked, and couldn't find a signal on most channels. There was lots of wear and tear in the room, but I am sure they will be moving on to renovating the rooms soon. This will be a great place to stay when the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel over and over again during the last 4 years. Well I am a Marriott snob after all. I have to say, that I watch about all the flithy hotels (i.e. bed bugs, etc.), read articles, etc. I walk into a hotel (even this one that I know) and always follow the same procedure. I do an inspection for bed bugs, check to see how clean the bathroom is, look for stains on carpets and bedding, etc. This place in amazingly clean. The mattresses look new (although I know they are at least 3 years old). I drains in the bathroom and shower work well. No hair in the bathroom. No stains, etc. I also noticed that the housekeeping cart has a large supply of coffee mugs and glasses. This shows me that they actually do change out the glasses.
The front desk has been here as long as I can remember and are always helpful. I do have to say the hotel is NOT current. It is a bit dated. My biggest frustration is that I spend 25% of my year checked into hotels and this one still has old fashioned tube TV's in the room. That drives me nuts. I hear that will change this summer. We will see. However, the lobby is currently under renovation and it looks really nice.
One last thing... If you like to workout using an exercise mat (for pushups, crunch's, etc,.. they don't have any. So bring your own. It is unfortunate since most hotels provide them today. Other than that they have free weights, treadmills, bench, and elipticals.
Bottom Line.... I would highly recommend this as a consistant hotel. It is not Full Service, so don't expect that.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

The place is easy to find, not far from the airport. I called a few days in advance asking for a quiet unit and they sure us a quite unit. Althouhg it's not fancy in the unit, it's very comfortable and have everything you need including a huge size vanity with one side as a desk top. It has all the things that you need, very thoughtful, such as iron, hair dryer, coffee maker as well as a refrigerator and an alarm clock. The room is so clean. It also has a balcony with a table and two chairs out there to look over the courtyward. The landscape out there is just comfortable to watch as well as the nice interior design that just donsn't make you feel anything uncomfortable at all. They had hot water and apples at the lobby as well as a computer and printer for the guests, for free. The front desk agents are polite and easygoing without give us any pressure. They even have a large shelf area next to the front desk to sell some drinks and water that is very convenient.

Anyhow, I thoroughly enjoyed staying here and definitely will go back and tell others about it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Stayed for 12 days. Decent size room, simple & clean hotel, very friendly staff. Great breakfast. Good facilities, and (cabled) internet (free) in the room. If anything, the housekeeping was sometimes a little late, but no problem!

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

What a great value. Paid $55 a night. Room was comfortable and clean and hotel staff was nice and helpful. Grounds were beautifully taken care of, pool was great. Nice balconies too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Quality of room is nice and clean. With the exception of the overnight (11pm - 7am) staff, Front desk staff is the best. I try stay here when I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston

Address: 533 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the same old business and leisure travel routine when you step inside the Courtyard hotel in Herndon, VA. Our hotel near Reston, Virginia features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. The Bistro offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee. Our guest rooms feature luxury bedding with cotton rich sheets, fluffy pillows, complimentary Wi-Fi, flat screen HD TVs with HBO and a large work desk area. Enjoy our well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service.Our Herndon, Virginia hotel is conveniently located near the Reston Town Center which features a variety of shopping and dining options as well as the Reston business district. The Reston Business District is home to such companies as Accenture, ComScore, Deloitte, Microsoft, NII Holding, Oracle, Quadramed, Rolls Royce and Verisign. Our hotel is also just 6 miles from the Dulles International Airport. Situated just off the Dulles Toll Road on Herndon Parkway, our hotel is also just minutes away from historic Washington, DC, Alexandria, Arlington Virginia and popular tourist attractions such as the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum, The White House, The Washington Monument, The Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials, Arlington National Cemetery and The Smithsonian family of museums.Your stay at our Herndon, VA hotel is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Courtyard
Herndon Marriott
Courtyard Herndon Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.