We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   533 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

"Old School" design which brings back the nostalgia of the fact that Courtyards have a courtyard! Be aware that there are really no food options in the area, so plan to eat in-house. There are two computers for public use in the lobby area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your commets. I have worked at 2 other Courtyards and this is the first one I've managed that has the actual Courtyard, It's my favorite part of the hotel (when weather is good)!
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
14
22
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fortville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Have stayed at Courtyards for work many times and love the atmosphere. The staff is always courteous and willing to accomodate large groups for meals, meetings, etc. This trip was a little smaller group, but they made us feel right at home. Used the breakfast menu almost every day and loved the versatility of a large breakfast or just a small grab and go item. Rooms very nice and comfortable. Loved having the slider for the fresh evening air.

Room Tip: wouldnt like a first floor room due to the sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The Bistro has been a great upgrade from our previous buffet stlye restaurant, I hope you had a chance to try our dinner options as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcentral Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at this great hotel over a weekend (which I understand was cheaper than the weekdays, as it's located in a business park) and had a great experience. The hotel is neat and clean, and slightly upscale. We were there with a wedding group of about 50 people, and I believe all of us had a great experience in the hotel and with the rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful and the facility is quite nice. Breakfast was included in our rate and was wonderful. A good experience I would repeat.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor courtyard room, and that was wonderful. I recommend the courtyard view as the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The rooms were dead silent, even with a freeway near by, and I mean if I hadn't looked out a hall window I would not have known. The blackout curtains and very comfy bed gave us the restful sleep we needed after long treks around the mall and thru the museums and memorials. The pool was refreshing. The Stay for Breakfast promo is a very nice bonus. The food court guy and staff are very pleasant and the food was good. Our grandkids were very well treated. It's not deluxe, but if you're looking for restful, clean, and near the metro, this is a place to seriously consider, we will again.

Room Tip: Can't think of any, as both ours and daughter's family had zero complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Seven months ago I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites about 1/2 mile down the road for roughly $80 a night and it was great. This trip I paid about $58 per night for four nights all in. The good...cheap, clean, modern, good location. The bad...not as upscale or as large a room as the Hampton, breakfast not included, housekeeping does't change linens but every third day.

The REAL BAD.....surly young women in the Bistro. She was curt and borderline rude. A bowl of oatmeal was $4.25 and a coffee was $4.00. Free at Hampton Inn and the service there was VERY friendly. Housekeeping left NO soap or shampoo on our last night and we had to leave before 8 am so this made us late.

VERDICT- I would pay up to $15.00 per night more for the Hampton because of free US Today, free breakfast, friendly service and upscale room. Unfortunately, it was $89 a nite or $300 more. Courtyard was a good value for what I paid but I left the property for breakfast. Clean, nice room but service was below average.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor since headlights of cars shine right in, stay away from elevator and ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

For the location and amenities, I thought the pricing was decent, but it would have been more thrilling had breakfast been provided. Our kids (preschool aged) enjoyed the pool in the evening (not open during though until 5 p.m., which was a bummer for the next day) and the balcony in the morning.

Also, the woman who booked us over the phone told us she was putting in a request for an upgrade and that we should ask at the desk; however, upon asking at check-in, the staff gave a deer-in-the-headlights look and refused it.

Comfortable beds and bed and bath areas neat as a pin; pleasant decor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There is a shuttle to the Metro and it is convenient to local shops and restaurants. Service is better than average, standard for a Marriott. Had a nice stay, free wifi and quiet hotel. Situated in a quiet office park environment.

Room Tip: Parking lot views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston

Address: 533 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the same old business and leisure travel routine when you step inside the Courtyard hotel in Herndon, VA. Our hotel near Reston, Virginia features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. The Bistro offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee. Our guest rooms feature luxury bedding with cotton rich sheets, fluffy pillows, complimentary Wi-Fi, flat screen HD TVs with HBO and a large work desk area. Enjoy our well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service.Our Herndon, Virginia hotel is conveniently located near the Reston Town Center which features a variety of shopping and dining options as well as the Reston business district. The Reston Business District is home to such companies as Accenture, ComScore, Deloitte, Microsoft, NII Holding, Oracle, Quadramed, Rolls Royce and Verisign. Our hotel is also just 6 miles from the Dulles International Airport. Situated just off the Dulles Toll Road on Herndon Parkway, our hotel is also just minutes away from historic Washington, DC, Alexandria, Arlington Virginia and popular tourist attractions such as the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum, The White House, The Washington Monument, The Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials, Arlington National Cemetery and The Smithsonian family of museums.Your stay at our Herndon, VA hotel is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Courtyard
Herndon Marriott
Courtyard Herndon Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.