We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Thai food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Thai

Tara Thai
13021 Worldgate Dr, Herndon, VA 20170
703-481-8999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 181 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Better than average Thai food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We tried Tara Thai for the first time and were impressed. Service was a little slow at first to get even a glass of water, but after that it was good. The food was very good, very spicy in a good way. Watch out on the condiments! Curry puffs are a good starter, followed by Phal salmon and a spicy chicken/shrimp fried rice. The drinks (Bangkok Sunset, Mai Tai and French Martini) were good and reasonably priced at $7.25.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best deal in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Great casual atmosphere, serving mostly seafood. Nothing negative about the operation however it is a small place. Bar is adequate and service friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moran, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The food was incredible, service was fast and the staff was very friendly. Happy hour from 5 to 7, good drink specials. I will definitely return if I am in the area again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I enjoyed it. I had the Kapow and it was tasty. The portion was more for than I expected. If I have training in this area again, I will try out their Pad Thai.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Convenient and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Close to the Hotels. They offer dine in, Pick up and Delivery! The service was friendly and good. The prices were very reasonable. The spring rolls were good (six small rolls for $5)but the larger Garden Thai rolls with grilled chicken were very good (five rolls for $6). The won ton soup with crab and BBQ pork was vet tasty ($5); the deluxe Papaya Salad was also good. ($7). The larger entrees like Pad Thai and wide noodles with chicken & shrimp were delicious and priced $8 to $13.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Thai also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Tara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.