We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Thai food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Thai

Tara Thai
13021 Worldgate Dr, Herndon, VA 20170
703-481-8999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 182 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Better than average Thai food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We tried Tara Thai for the first time and were impressed. Service was a little slow at first to get even a glass of water, but after that it was good. The food was very good, very spicy in a good way. Watch out on the condiments! Curry puffs are a good starter, followed by Phal salmon and a spicy chicken/shrimp fried rice. The drinks (Bangkok Sunset, Mai Tai and French Martini) were good and reasonably priced at $7.25.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best deal in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Great casual atmosphere, serving mostly seafood. Nothing negative about the operation however it is a small place. Bar is adequate and service friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moran, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The food was incredible, service was fast and the staff was very friendly. Happy hour from 5 to 7, good drink specials. I will definitely return if I am in the area again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I enjoyed it. I had the Kapow and it was tasty. The portion was more for than I expected. If I have training in this area again, I will try out their Pad Thai.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Convenient and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Close to the Hotels. They offer dine in, Pick up and Delivery! The service was friendly and good. The prices were very reasonable. The spring rolls were good (six small rolls for $5)but the larger Garden Thai rolls with grilled chicken were very good (five rolls for $6). The won ton soup with crab and BBQ pork was vet tasty ($5); the deluxe Papaya Salad was also good. ($7). The larger entrees like Pad Thai and wide noodles with chicken & shrimp were delicious and priced $8 to $13.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Thai also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Tara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.