We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a hotel bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170-4305 (Formerly Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar Herndon)
+1 703-674-0454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 184 Restaurants in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original. Kids have their day as well. Kids eat for free on Sundays 4pm-8pm. For every adult meal purchased, one kids meal off of our kids menu is free.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good for a hotel bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you come to this place it's best to bring your own crowd. I've been here three times; though the service is good the bar is usually dead. On a positive note the TV displays are large and it's very good if you just want to watch a sports game.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Houlihans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have eaten here on more than one occasion on a visit to Reston. They feature dependably good chain food, a nice variety to please all tastes, good wine choices and nice surroundings

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food for business travelers on their own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was a comfortable place for someone who travels for business on their own. They made me feel comfortable, and the food was great. I'll definitely come back when I'm in town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice mid-week dinner spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We went to Houlihan's in search of dinner salads, and we weren't disappointed. There were about 10 different choices on their menu. I had the Spinach Salad with goat cheese and thin-sliced chicken. I love fruity salads, and this one had kiwi, strawberries and blueberries with a poppy seed dressing and chopped hazelnuts. They were the perfect complement to the spinach and goat cheese. Yummy! The salad was also large enough to be considered dinner and was nicely presented with a roll. My husband had the Chicken Caesar Salad and raved about it. Understand that he orders this type of salad often, and he said this was one of the best he's ever had.

I think our timing for arrival worked well, because as we were getting ready to leave, a large group (about 25-30 people) was seated, and it was getting pretty noisy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Plenty of Other Alternatives”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We needed something convenient. We went here having been to other Houlian's before.

On the night of our visit, it was extremely loud--we couldn't hear each other over screaming, literally screaming, from the bar. Our food arrived cold. We would have complained, but the server didn't come back until he placed the check on our table and walked away again.

Poor service can kill even the best concepts. I used to enjoy Houlihan's, but this left a bad, cold taste in my mouth.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houlihan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.