We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat for the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frying Pan Park

Frying Pan Park
2709 West Ox Road, Herndon, VA 20171
703-437-9101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working farm, live animals, playground, country store, tractor rides, farmer's market
Carolinas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A real treat for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the last working farm in this area of Virginia. There are farm animals, sometimes a working blacksmith shop, and two playgrounds. The park is free, but there's a charge to ride the merry-go-round and to go on the tractor ride around the farm. Our grandsons always love going there, even though they have been there many times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Frying Pan Park Wonderful For Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and daughter visit Frying Pan Park very frequently. Daughter enjoys to see animals, walk around making noises to attract the animals. Milking of cows is fun for children. Wish they had more petting-animals opportunities.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of my favorite diversions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I love going to Frying Pan Park and always recommend it to visitors. It is fun to walk amongst the animals. I enjoy taking my dog, who loves to sniff around like crazy. There are several fun things for families, including a farmers market, playground, horse barn, store, carousel, and farm animals. If you go in the spring, there are baby animals, which are great to see. Just go -- it's worth the trip!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace in Northern VA with farms animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've lived in No VA for about 10 years now, and this was first time visiting the park. I really enjoyed seeing the farm animals and nice walk around the park. I could see parents with children with the kids really enjoying the experience. If you have a dog, you can also bring your dog for a walk. I loved the baby pigs and just the farm in general

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for Families with Young Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family loves this place! There is so much to do and see for young children. There is a playground that has an area for toddlers (up to 3 or 4) and a separate area for young kids (up to 6 or 7). There is also a carousel and hay ride (open in late morning and early afternoon on weekends) that kids enjoy. The farm also houses several different animals and birds such as peacocks, cows, horses, pigs, sheep, goats, and chickens that you can see. I suggest looking at the frying pan website to see if there are any new additions (calves, lambs, or piglets) to see.

There are also picnic tables available if you want to bring a lunch. We recommend that you also bring your own drinks as you may end up doing some walking on the grounds.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frying Pan Park also viewed

 

Been to Frying Pan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frying Pan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.