We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat for the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frying Pan Park

Frying Pan Park
2709 West Ox Road, Herndon, VA 20171
703-437-9101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 attractions in Herndon
Type: Farms
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Working farm, live animals, playground, country store, tractor rides, farmer's market
Carolinas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A real treat for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the last working farm in this area of Virginia. There are farm animals, sometimes a working blacksmith shop, and two playgrounds. The park is free, but there's a charge to ride the merry-go-round and to go on the tractor ride around the farm. Our grandsons always love going there, even though they have been there many times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Frying Pan Park Wonderful For Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and daughter visit Frying Pan Park very frequently. Daughter enjoys to see animals, walk around making noises to attract the animals. Milking of cows is fun for children. Wish they had more petting-animals opportunities.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of my favorite diversions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I love going to Frying Pan Park and always recommend it to visitors. It is fun to walk amongst the animals. I enjoy taking my dog, who loves to sniff around like crazy. There are several fun things for families, including a farmers market, playground, horse barn, store, carousel, and farm animals. If you go in the spring, there are baby animals, which are great to see. Just go -- it's worth the trip!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
146 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace in Northern VA with farms animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've lived in No VA for about 10 years now, and this was first time visiting the park. I really enjoyed seeing the farm animals and nice walk around the park. I could see parents with children with the kids really enjoying the experience. If you have a dog, you can also bring your dog for a walk. I loved the baby pigs and just the farm in general

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for Families with Young Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family loves this place! There is so much to do and see for young children. There is a playground that has an area for toddlers (up to 3 or 4) and a separate area for young kids (up to 6 or 7). There is also a carousel and hay ride (open in late morning and early afternoon on weekends) that kids enjoy. The farm also houses several different animals and birds such as peacocks, cows, horses, pigs, sheep, goats, and chickens that you can see. I suggest looking at the frying pan website to see if there are any new additions (calves, lambs, or piglets) to see.

There are also picnic tables available if you want to bring a lunch. We recommend that you also bring your own drinks as you may end up doing some walking on the grounds.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frying Pan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frying Pan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Frying Pan Park to your Saves list