We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class hotel, bargain price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First-class hotel, bargain price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is a little difficult to find, but well worth it. The room was well-appointed, neat and clean. The staff was friendly and eager to please. We were very surprised at how quiet the hotel was, especially because it is basically across the freeway from Dulles. The breakfast was very nice. The best part, however, has to be the bed. That bed was, without a doubt, the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, and my husband and I love to travel so we have been in many hotels around the world. The price for the room was more than reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    136
    48
    19
    18
See reviews for
99
71
54
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is an out & out business hotel so do not expect ANY tourist stuff. They don't even serve dinner in the dining room on a Saturday. You also cannot walk to anything. It's miles from anywhere. They will if they are not busy take you in their shuttle to the nearest mall. It's like believing in the middle of nowhere.
The rooms are nice & modern with all the usual facilities but I paid for wifi before finding out it was free if you ask for the password. Why not tell at check in?
Do not expect tourist concierge service they don't even know where the hotel I is, never mind give you a map,
So if you are on business, have a car you will find this a 4 star hotel but not at the weekend.
BTW the bar food is over cooked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for a one night local get away. We live close by and have talked about it since it opened.

Positives:

As others have stated - staff is very friendly. Hotel is exceptionally clean. And it is in a beautiful surroundings. One item I really likes was the design of the shower door, it swung in instead of out. Meaning the floor stayed much dryer. Small thing but I appreciated it. Westin heavenly bed is better here than the one in Ballston for some reason.

Bar staff was very friendly, and the service was good.

Neutral:
The restaurant was closed on Saturday afternoon and evening, meaning you ate at the bar or left the hotel. This hotel is not right next door to other locations to eat, so this was an inconvenience. There was an event that evening - I presume they did not have sufficient staff to handle the restaurant and the activity. That just seems odd. The food was ok, nothing special. My wife had the steak salad, described it as very bland. I had the Salmon, it was nice, but not special. The cheese plate appetizer was ok, one of the cheeses was not very good, but overall it was fine. Drinks again were nice. Next morning the buffet was open in the restaurant, had the same experience of others, staff that seemed to not care as we stood at the entrance for a couple minutes. However, once they chose to give us attention - they we excellent. Training or assignment of someone dedicated to seat people I guess is missing. Buffet itself was nothing special. Very similar to others in the area. Fruit was VERY good though. Fresh all the way. No omelet station, so it was just scrambled eggs and bacon and so forth. As I said - nothing special.

Very Negative:
Nothing.

Overall it was a nice hotel, very clean and friendly staff. Bar staff is attentive and friendly.

We are mixed on coming back for a local get away as if the restaurant is closed we are stuck driving to dinner. Since from other posters this appears to happen often, I am not sure I would want to stay here. But if you need to be near the airport and want a very clean hotel - this is a good place.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views if you move up. Lake view is nice, airport view would be nice too.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems very clean and welcomes pets. They allow you to turn off extra shower heads to save water.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was here over the weekend during my transit. Great hotel for a short overnight stay. We came in late at night already(1am) and the staff is was very lively and welcoming. The hotel was clean, modern, quiet--doesn't even feel like an airport hotel. Our room faces the small lake, imagine how beautiful it was during the morning sunrise. Being an airport hotel, this property lies parallel to the airport's runway. Don't let that scare you, there were no airplane noise at all!! The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up. I would have stayed in it longer if I didn't have a flight to catch. Nice 5 minutes ride to the airport. We will stay here again anytime!! Again, well done Westin!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the lake in the front---beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was highly impressed with the Westin hotel. The room was extremely luxurious and clean. The staff was incredibly helpful. The bed was amazing. Neither myself or my fiancé wanted to get out of it. The dual head shower was a real treat. The final thing that made me love this hotel was the view I had from my room. It was really nice.

I do have two complaints though. How is it that I can go to a Comfort Inn or some other lesser brand hotel and get free WiFi yet here I have to pay. That seems a little backwards. I understand that this is a luxury hotel but in 2013 WiFi has become a little more that just a luxury. Please address this.

Secondly I was slightly disappointed with the breakfast. The food tasted really good but I was hoping for $15 there would be some kind of pancakes, waffles, and/or French toast. I understand the hotel tries to put forth a healthy living message but I wouldn't say bacon and sausage fits that description (both of which were present).

All in all, this was a fantastic place to stay and despite by relatively minor complaints, I would most definitely stay there again as well as recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the odd side of the hotel. You will end up with the best view.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is rather modern so it has the features that make any modern building green.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I needed a place to stay near Dulles on very short notice. I expected the Westin to be more than my budget could handle. Not true. I had an exceptional room. Experienced great service. And paid less than I'd expect for a generic brand. Spectacular value!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great airport hotel that is consistent with westin standards. Surrounding area nice peaceful overlooking small lake.

Front desk not very friendly. They didn't offer my free reward gift for being a gold member. I had to call them after checking in to recieve free internet.

Aside from the front desk, clean, modern and well run hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#8 Family Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#13 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.