We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property.... sad housekeeping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
BOSTON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property.... sad housekeeping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Front desk is mostly friendly.... Except the one young man that took my call when I complained that the Housekeeper left my room door open (4+hrs).
She was entering to clean at 2:30.... when I returned at 7... I found the door held open by the safety latch. The man at the desk seemed inconvenienced that I was disturbed by this ... The following day I opted for no service.... and only asked for towels... requested at 2..... arrived after 4 calls at 8pm..... Housekeeping keeps rooms clean, but nothing more....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Brenda R,

I am truly sorry for the issues during your stay with our housekeeping team. At the Westin Dulles we pride ourselves in our service and housekeeping standards. What you experienced concerns me a great deal and I have already met with our Executive Housekeeper and Front Office Manager to make sure this type of incident never happens again.
In the meantime I hope that you will give us another chance in the near future as I promise you we will rectify our issues. If you do please reach out to me directly so that I can welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    134
    47
    18
    17
See reviews for
98
71
54
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ended up at this hotel after a missed flight from IAD. Despite the throng of upset travelers, the front desk staff was remarkably cheerful and very efficient. Good, clean rooms and a good restaurant round out the very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I needed a hotel near Dulles Airport for just one night. This Westin property met the usual top-notch Westin standards. It was clean, comfortable, everything worked well, and the front-desk service and wakeup call was great. The price (under $80 with a AAA discount) was so inexpensive for such an upscale property that I found it hard to believe, but it was a Saturday night and not during the week. The only issue that I had was upon arrival at the airport. I called the hotel to ask if the shuttle came on a regular schedule or if I needed to tell them that I needed a pickup. The agent (Robin) did not answer my question, but instead told me that the shuttle would be at the 2H shuttle pickup area at 8:15PM. I called at 8:05PM and rushed to get to the pickup area, but Dulles is a very large airport and I arrived at 8:23PM. I called again and this time I got the actual answer to my question. Shuttles arrive at the airport location (2H) at :15 and :45 past the hour, every hour, and leave the hotel at :00 and :30 on the hour from the hotel. I wish that Robin had simply answered my question the first time; this would have saved me from rushing, and I would have been able to spend some of my 22 minutes of waiting around for the next shuttle inside, having a coffee or relaxing rather than shivering at the shuttle stop. That's the only problem that I had and it was a minor one.

Room Tip: I asked for a room close to the elevator and on a lower floor so I could avoid long elevator waits a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We had an early morning flight out of Dulles airport (actually in Virginia) and chose this hotel that has a package rate that includes 10 days parking (on a secured covered garage) and round trip shuttle service to the airport. Since it is only four miles away it is really convenient and a great value. Since you are basically in an office park no attractions or food offerings than the hotel but the food there was good! The service was a bit pokey at dinner time but that is my only quibble. I think we caught a shift change. Front desk staff nice and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear smotley,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Westin Dulles. We offer the Westin Heavenly bed for a great night's rest and a complimentary shuttle that runs to the airport every 30 minutes around the clock to ensure a relaxing trip to wherever your destination may be.
Thank you as well for the kind words regarding our staff. Our staff takes pride in providing excellent service and does their best to make each and every guest's stay enjoyable.

Yours in Hospitality,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This property is clean, well maintained with friendly staff. Nice gym and spa. Shuttle service to/from airport twice an hour as well as to a large local mall on a limited basis. Bathrooms are large and well appointed. Rooms have large picture window and it was actually clean and clear. Tv was a decent size flat screen and desk had ports for all of your electronics. The hotel is in a corporate park not really near any off-property dining options. This was an impressive corporate hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is the third time I have taken a large (160) group of 8th graders to this hotel for our annual Washington trip. The staff goes out of their way to welcome us and truly seem to enjoy hosting teenagers (which is relatively unusual and very refreshing). The hotel was immaculate, their organization of multiple rooms and keys was flawless, and the rooms had plenty of linens and amenities since they knew that 4 students would be in each room. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the banquet manager remembered us from last year. The personal touches and attention to detail are commendable. We have already booked here for next year's trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I like the Westin Washington Dulles. It is a reliable hotel with modern features, and the staff do try to make one's stay comfortable. My room was on the SPG floor, with a view of the pond, where a bride and groom were taking photos. It was quiet with very little plane noise. The room features a very comfortable bed, a nice sitting chair, empty refrigerator, coffee/tea service items, iron/ironing board, desk with chair, etc.

I have rated the property very good vs excellent because there was a Lite beer top peeking out from under the bed. And, it was not my beer top. Otherwise, the room appeared to be clean and orderly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#8 Family Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#13 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.