We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orange County
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This property is clean, well maintained with friendly staff. Nice gym and spa. Shuttle service to/from airport twice an hour as well as to a large local mall on a limited basis. Bathrooms are large and well appointed. Rooms have large picture window and it was actually clean and clear. Tv was a decent size flat screen and desk had ports for all of your electronics. The hotel is in a corporate park not really near any off-property dining options. This was an impressive corporate hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ponch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is the third time I have taken a large (160) group of 8th graders to this hotel for our annual Washington trip. The staff goes out of their way to welcome us and truly seem to enjoy hosting teenagers (which is relatively unusual and very refreshing). The hotel was immaculate, their organization of multiple rooms and keys was flawless, and the rooms had plenty of linens and amenities since they knew that 4 students would be in each room. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the banquet manager remembered us from last year. The personal touches and attention to detail are commendable. We have already booked here for next year's trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpknbudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I like the Westin Washington Dulles. It is a reliable hotel with modern features, and the staff do try to make one's stay comfortable. My room was on the SPG floor, with a view of the pond, where a bride and groom were taking photos. It was quiet with very little plane noise. The room features a very comfortable bed, a nice sitting chair, empty refrigerator, coffee/tea service items, iron/ironing board, desk with chair, etc.

I have rated the property very good vs excellent because there was a Lite beer top peeking out from under the bed. And, it was not my beer top. Otherwise, the room appeared to be clean and orderly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundTheWorldInADay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

well worth the money. Pleasant relaxing hotel with AWESOME beds! If you are going to the airport remember to NOT pay the toll stay in the left lane. They do have a mini store for snacks and incidentals. The air quaility WAS good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear catbrew,

Thank you for your feedback and kind words about your experience here. Our Westin Heavenly beds are a great hit with our guests, they truly enjoy the great night's sleep especially considering many of them have early flights in the morning at nearby Dulles Airport. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
225 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have now stayed here several times. My only issue with the hotel before was the new carpet smell. I am happy to report that the smell has now abated and the property is really lovely for indoor air quality. The HVAC system kept the air rather dry so there was no chance of mildew in the room - often a problem in the mid-atlantic region. And the previous new carpet smell is essentially gone now. Also the hotel did not have a strong "white tea" odor as some Westin properties suffer from (too much of the signature scent). I brought my own conditioner shampoo and soap so I did not need to afflict myself with any of those white tea products. The fitness center is really lovely. Several lifefitness ellipticals, many treadmills and many other equipment.
There is also a rather long pool that one might be able to swim laps in. The staff was a bit on the clueless side but also very quick to respond to requests. They were out of gym shoes in my size but gave me a complimentary pair of socks anyway. They did not have my bed defeathered when I arrived but sent people right away to fix it as I was checking in. The staff even spotted a lightbulb out and replaced it without my asking about it. Parking was free. Overall I was quite happy with this property. In particular it was a huge improvement over the hotel I stayed at the previous night in Bethesda (you can read my review of that here). I got a room at my corporate rate of $168/night.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quite good at this property. It is a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this hotel for 1 night after a long flight and before going to Washington DC the next day. This hotel is perfect for this purpose.

There are 2 shuttles an hour to bring you to the hotel from the airport. The hotel is near the airport, but you don't hear any airplanes here. The rooms are very quiet.

The bed is very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful.

The next morning we took the free hotel shuttle back to the airport, where we took the metrobus straight into Washington DC (6USD one way).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beerbalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I were coming back from Germany when, after spending 2hrs on the tarmac, our flight to Miami was canceled. Anyone who's been through this knows the drill. The ticketing agent rattled off some hotels (Hampton Inn, Hilton, etc.) then said "Westin." We jumped on it and couldn't have been happier. We had to wait for the shuttle in the rain with only our carry on luggage, but what a treat when we got there. Took all of two minutes to check in and thankfully the bar was open for a couple more hours. The front desk gave us a 2pm check out (flight wasn't until 6pm) and after spending eleven days on an uncomfortable bed in Berlin with limited hot water you can only imagine how happy we were. Westin's a great chain and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parsonsmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
1.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#10 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#11 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing