We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice when sleeping near Dulles Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rotselaar, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good choice when sleeping near Dulles Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this hotel for 1 night after a long flight and before going to Washington DC the next day. This hotel is perfect for this purpose.

There are 2 shuttles an hour to bring you to the hotel from the airport. The hotel is near the airport, but you don't hear any airplanes here. The rooms are very quiet.

The bed is very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful.

The next morning we took the free hotel shuttle back to the airport, where we took the metrobus straight into Washington DC (6USD one way).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    121
    38
    17
    13
See reviews for
86
67
51
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I were coming back from Germany when, after spending 2hrs on the tarmac, our flight to Miami was canceled. Anyone who's been through this knows the drill. The ticketing agent rattled off some hotels (Hampton Inn, Hilton, etc.) then said "Westin." We jumped on it and couldn't have been happier. We had to wait for the shuttle in the rain with only our carry on luggage, but what a treat when we got there. Took all of two minutes to check in and thankfully the bar was open for a couple more hours. The front desk gave us a 2pm check out (flight wasn't until 6pm) and after spending eleven days on an uncomfortable bed in Berlin with limited hot water you can only imagine how happy we were. Westin's a great chain and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here one night with my husband and baby after getting a great deal on hotels.com. The room was nice and updated, we were offered a crib upon check-in, and the front desk was all around very accommodating. Westin beds are always "heavenly", and the indoor pool was a perk in the less than perfect weather. Overall, a good experience and would def recommend to friends staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Arrived quite late into Washington and planned to stay at the Westin. Shuttle bus arrives every 15 minutes at the airport and takes you to the hotel within 5-8 minutes. Located on a 'new housing and business estate' and the hotel seems to be completely new. Staff were excellent - good service and very attentive. The rooms (and the rest of the hotel) were very clean. We rooms are very quiet (we requested a room at the end of a corridor) and the beds are excellent. No wonder they call them heavenly bed - you don't want to get up the following morning! All-round a wonderful experience at the Westin - highly recommended for those staying overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the corridor - away from the elevators. It doesn't matter if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear dutchman1011,

Thank you for your feedback and for your kind words about our hotel. Our shuttle actually arrives at 2H at Dulles Airport every 30 minutes at the :15 and :45 of every hour and we are one of the few hotels that actually runs overnight as well if necessary.
We have noticed many of our guests stay at this Westin and others simply for the famous Heavenly Bed. What can be more important than a good night's sleep?
Thank you once again for your feedback and please let me know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Regards,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I were traveling to Virginia Beach and got stuck in Washington D.C. because of a canceled flight. United put us up at the Westin and I was happy that they did. My wife and I were greeted with smiles and superb customer service. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and a comfortable bed. They made our bad trip a little more bearable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This Westin keeps up the tradition of nice rooms with very polite staff. Very convenient to the airport and local businesses and the Air and Space museum. The rooms are comfortable and clean my room looked over the airport and a highway but you don't notice any noise in the room. The area around the hotel is nice and there is free parking in the garage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Checked in for a quick overnight with a business associate...a 3 year old property that's been kept up very well. Clean rooms and a very large, comfortable lobby. Free garage parking and often there's on-street parking available in the apartment community that surrounds the hotel. Reston Town Center with dozens of restaurants is a 10 minute, easy drive. The staff were very friendly and professional...as a Platinum, I was welcomed warmly, had my status acknowledged and asked if I had any special preferences. There was a group in the hotel so there were no upgrades available given our mid-evening arrival; in truth, I don't think there are many non-standard rooms in the hotel anyway.

Room was the typical Westin design but modern and clean...step-in, over-sized shower but no bathtub in the room I was assigned. There is no Club Floor (very surprising for a Westin preoperty of this calibre) but I was offered complimentary access to the breakfast buffet in the lobby restaurant. Even free, this was less than "Westin-standard". The hotel had a group in the hotel that day, and they overwhelmed the hotel breakfast. Nothing was replenished and there was very little on display. Staff didn't seem too aware...let them know, and they sprang into action...ales and front desk staff came over to help. They cleared tables and helped bring the buffet back to a "respectable" state. It was kind of impressive but shouldn't have happened...someone should have set up a special breakfast for the "group" in a function room or something, so regular guests could be accomodated.
QUESTION: Why don't they try to set aside the best rooms in the best location for elite SPG guests? And why do Westins and Sheratons that have groups booked-in for one or two nights feel that it is more important to assign their best rooms and upgrade these guests who have likely not been there before (and likely never will again) instead of their loyal SPG users? I heard another guest asking the same thing when he was told that the King room he had reserved months ago, was "unavailable due to a large group in the hotel"? A little advance planning coupled with today's technology ought to be able to minimize this sort of thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Address: 2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#14 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.