We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Family or Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent for Family or Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I selected the hotel because if offered a special package for visitors to the nearby Air & Space Museum: room, breakfast for 2 and shuttle to/from the museum. The price was attractive so we took a chance. Excellent choice!

Pros:
1. Spacious, comfortable room with extra large bathroom, first rate towels, 2 excellent queen beds.
2. Starbucks coffee.
3. The free wifi is good for email and basic connectivity, not video. The faster wifi is extra $.
4. Breakfast buffet was fresh and varied.
5. Pool, fitness center and sauna are excellent.
6. Staff was excellent.

It's hard to say anything bad about the hotel. The restaurant is pricey at dinner. If you want a sandwich or something simple, sit in the bar area for different menu.

I would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MarcNewYork37,

It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our Air&Space Museum promotional rate. We indeed have a shuttle that runs to the Udvar-Hazy Air&Space Museum three times a day (10:15 am, 2:15 pm and 5:15 pm) available to all of our guests. Just about everyone has a great time at the museum whether it be to catch an IMAX movie or experience the extensive aeronautical history that it offers.
I appreciate your kind words about our many amenities Marc and we look forward to having you here again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    145
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
102
74
55
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was really worth every penny. It was beautiful and very comfortable. Lovely rooms and lobby.
Everything was clean, staff was very helpful, there was great food!
My boyfriend and I stayed here on a whim. It was last minute and we got lucky finding a deal on Hotwire. I'm so glad we did:)
Westin, we will return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
569 reviews 569 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Westin for a wedding in November and though we were expecting a basic airport type hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. We were planning on boarding our dog but a last minute double check with the hotel informed us that they were dog friendly, and not just for small dogs. Even our 55 lb mutt was allowed. I got a few odd looks from other guests when bringing in his enormous crate, but the staff was super friendly and helpful and always seemed happy to see him. They even provided some doggie treats for him.

Beyond that, everything about our stay was also top-notch. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, assisting us with making plans for transportation and arranging a car for us. Even the chambermaids greeted us each day and were nice to our dog and even made up our room though we told them they didn't need to since our dog was in there one day.

The room was nice, with a huge, comfy bed and enough room for our dog's giant crate. He also found the arm chair and bed to be incredibly comfortable. I had expected to absolutely die from allergies with all the dogs I had assumed stayed in the room, but they must have done a fantastic job cleaning as I had no problems.

Location was pretty good, near a bunch of strip malls with a good choice of fast food, slightly more upscale dining options, and stores. It was also convenient for venturing out a little further to visit the Manasas battleground and excellent restaurants in Chantilly. There was also a nice little green walkway along the pond for walking the dog and several clean up bag stations around.

The conference rooms seemed nice though we only walked past them. The bar was well stocked and had several draught beers, more than I'd expect from a hotel bar.

Definitely a good option when staying in Dulles and very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise in several ways. Nice room , great bed & linens/pillows. Even the shuttle came on time. Very close to the airport. I will stay here again if fly thru Dulles Airport. Only thing to know is the airport can be very confusing if its your first time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable for business travel. It is located in a mostly business park setting with several HQ type buildings around and a few apartments complexes. I am not sure what is in the vicinity, but the surrounding grounds are nice. Close to airport.
The hotel itself is very comfortable and well appointed. Nice gym, indoor lap pool, etc. The restaurant (Padella) was very good. Twin fillets were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Brian A,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and especially our Italian Padella Restaurant which serves fresh, simple Italian food. Please be sure to return to our hotel even if it is just to enjoy the twin filets or any other item from our menu!

Happy Holidays!
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I don't stay at Westin very often but this one was very impressive, great service, great room, good food. Not that I wasn't expecting anything less, but I would definitely stay here agin if the price is right.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were welcomed by efficient, friendly staff.
Hotel has a disitinguished sober decor.Appears new
Room is comfortable.
Enjoyed an excellent meal served in-room by friendly staff.
Very reasonable rates

Room Tip: Been there only once so cannot compare
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#12 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.