We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice if staying local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Choice if staying local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a clean, well appointed hotel that is a 5 minute ride from Dulles using the Westin Courtesy Shuttle bus. The bus is on a 30 minute repeat cycle.
The hotel staff is quite responsive, the in-house bar is decent and the food is reasonable. Food prices are higher than I'd have expected given the reasonable (but not outstanding) quality of the entrees.
Rooms are quite clean with either free WiFi or extended stay higher bandwidth WiFi.
Location is a bit isolated so you probably need a car if you choose to go to different restaurants in the evening.
Overall, the Westin is a good choice if you are staying in the Herndon area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    121
    38
    17
    13
See reviews for
86
67
51
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Westin is convenient to Dulles-less than a 5 min drive. The hotel is located in a residential area so there is a lack of restaurants unless you have a car. If you have a car the good news is they have free parking and there are some places to eat I the area...check Yelp. The parking garage is attached to the hotel so you have easy access.

The downside.....I can't believe that they charge for WIFI and the charge is $9.99 per day...are you kidding? Even the cheapest of hotels have free WIFI...in today's world that's like charging for TV. I am sure that I am not the only one who gets pissed when you are paying premium rates and then they rip you for something as common and free as WIFI....WHAT ARE THEY THINKING?

I would easily give them 4 stars if they weren't so greedy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear ComeflywithmeFlorida,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Feedback from our guests such as yourself gives us the information we need to to improve our hotel and hotel service...
I understand your frustration with the $9.95 charge for internet per 24 hour period as I realize that many hotels offer complimentary internet access. Hotels have to make a decision between offering free internet access at an increased room rate or keeping the room rate low while charging for internet access. Of course, we have gone with the latter. You will find that most large hotels charge for internet access because providing internet service has become more and more costly these days. Many of our guests have multiple devices accessing the internet between tablets, phones, and laptops which demands exponentially more bandwidth and maintenance.
Regardless, your comments are well received and our management team in combination with Westin and Starwood Hotels determines the best strategies to make our guests happy each and every stay.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that you are enjoying your Thanksgiving holiday!

Sincerely,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

4 Star Hotel for 3 nights. What a nice place to stay and the staff is extra friendly. Found a very cheap rate for the stay. Clean room, good bedding package and close to all activities. Hopefully we will stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pocono, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Washington Dulles airport was built with the intention of it being isolated and far away from the madding crowd in Washington DC. Thirty years ago it was often a pain to have to pay for the boring toll road out of DC to Dulles in order to catch international flights. The Dulles toll road ran almost from the steps of the State Department, past CIA HQ in Langley then on a seemingly neverending, boring highway to far distant Dulles. It was perfect for government types and big shots because they could take advantage of a long limo ride away from the congestion of National (Reagan) Airport.

I was shocked to see how much the area around Dulles has changed over those 30 years. Talk about "urban sprawl"! It's unreckognizable. I was told it is very reminiscent of Silicon Valley now - with modern high-rise office building and blocks upon blocks of townhouses littering the once rolling farms and meadows. In the weekend we spent in that area I never once caught a glimpse of the actual airport. Just too many shopping centers, business headquarters and cookie cutter homes.

But in this morass of conformity we were very very pleased to find accomodations at the reasonably priced, yet elegant Dulles Westin. From the moment we pulled into the curved driveway this place exuded class. Not stuffy, but efficient, friendly and modern trappings for the business and leisure visitor. The doorman, the front desk staff and the bartenders on the ground floor entrance made our initial impression very positive with their smiles and willingness to accomodate. By joining the Westin frequent visitor club (which we will probably never use again) we acquired two free passes to the over-priced breakfast buffet.

Our rooms were well-maintained, modern, spacious and comfortable. You would never know there was an airport nearby. We never heard any planes until we walked outside the hotel. There was plenty of free parking, although the setup was somewhat inconvenient: the lot was a multi-level garage that required guests to take one elevator down to the ground level near the many ballrooms, then walk through the lobby, then down another corridor to the elevator bank for the rooms. Kind of a pain with lots of luggage and a dog.

Oh yeah, the second floor is dog friendly. You do have to put down a refundable deposit, but you are allowed to bring your pets with you. It is a testament to the maid service that this super allergic guest had no problems with previous pets' dander or "deposits". Considering the fact that it had been used on previous occassions by other visitors' pets, there was no indication of any messes or damage. Very clean.

For airport travelers the Westin has 4 different shuttle buses. It seemed there was always one available in the front driveway.

Other than the strange parking lot set-up, the only other minor gripe was the difficulty in finding the Westin. There is no signage in the area, I suppose to mainatain the "beauty" of the locale, but our GPS was able to direct us there eventually. Without a GPS we'd still be looking.

Room Tip: Stay off the second floor if you don't need to bring your pet. Unless you get it free, pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is a good choice if you need to be close to IAD. The shuttle service is good and the staff is helpful. The room is exactly what you would expect from a Westin: clean, comfortable, and very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We needed to find last minute accommodations due to a flight mishap. We we picked up at
The airport by a cheerful shuttle driver and greeted at the front desk by two friendly expert staff. Our room was quiet, modern, clean and comfortable. We went to the lobby at for dinner ad a drink. We were really pleased. Again, excellent service and good quality. I would not hesitate recommending His hotel to anyone needing an overnight stay near the airport. Can't imagine you will find better, particularly at the low rate we had. This was high quality/value fo the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear funandrelaxation,

We have many guests in your same situation who must book a hotel reservation last minute due to a flight mishap. We understand what you may have been through already at the airport and our team does our best to provide a welcoming, peaceful and enjoyable experience at our hotel.
Our "cheerful shuttle driver" and our "two friendly expert staff" at the Front Desk as you put it understands they are your first point of contact with us and they do their best to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Thank you for your kind words and we hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for an overnight layover at Dulles. For an airport hotel, I would say this property is above average, but inferior to other Westins I have stayed at. However, it met basic requirements of cleanliness and modern amenities.
My biggest complaint was with the competency and professionalism of the front-desk staff. Upon check in, I was interrupted so that staff could discuss the score of the world series baseball game. More importantly, I was not offered the "welcome gift" of free in-room wifi or bonus starpoints. When asked about this, the front desk clerk incorrectly told me that free wifi was not available for gold-status members. In addition, a room-upgrade was denied to me even though I know (based upon the SPG app on my smart phone), enhanced rooms were available. Finally, upon check-out, the front desk clerk was "multi-tasking," attempting to check me out and reserve a cab on the phone. This same clerk also tried to convince me to forfeit a cab that I ordered for myself and give this cab to another guest.
In summary, the Westin Dulles would be considered adequate as an airport hotel, but would only recommend it if you are able to get a competitive rate or have SPG points to burn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Traveler644,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear your report about how you were treated during the check-in and check-out processes by our Front Desk staff. Our staff usually does a great job of remaining professional and always giving undivided attention to our guests. I will most certainly address this with our Front Office Manager, Sean Holcombe, to make sure that he addresses your concerns with his staff.
If you have more details about who you spoke with specifically or even which day and time it was, feel free to e-mail Sean at Sean.Holcombe@westinwashingtondulles.com so that he can speak with that associate directly.
Thank you once again for your feedback, it allows us to improve our hotel service.

Sincerely,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Address: 2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
#14 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.