We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Westin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the Westin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Beautiful room. Comfortable bed. I actually bought the mattress, pillows, box spring and comforter!!!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    133
    45
    18
    17
See reviews for
98
70
53
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night and loved it so much that when we needed a hotel the second night, we decided to come back here.

The moment you step foot into this Westin hotel, you feel like you're on vacation. The atmosphere was fresh, crisp and refreshing. The hotel is clean and organized. The beds are always comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious. I absolutely loved the double shower heads!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I would recommend this hotel for sure. The room was very nice, as were the beds. Having starbucks coffee in the room was a real perk! The restaurant/bar is very expensive, but good. My view of the parking deck was not the best, but it was nice to see a garden. Also the entire hotel is beautiful. With all the bad weather, it was VERY nice to have the parking deck. There is the option to valet, but we were completely fine parking ourselves. A lot of people complained about the free internet in the rooms. Yeah, it's slow, but it's not the worst I've ever seen. Just have a bit of patience. Otherwise, just go down into the lobby, and you can use the high speed for free. The only real issues we had were not getting our room serviced once and not receiving a wake up call twice. The first miss of a wake up call and the room not being serviced were made up for, which I was grateful for. The second missed wake up call was on check out day, which didn't turn out to be too big of a deal, but could have been. I would only say do not rely solely on the wake up call, set an alarm as well. Outside of this, if you are looking for a bit of luxury, go for it.

Room Tip: Look for the room more than a month in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDulles, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear bmclark2,

I think I am more concerned about your comment on missed wake-up calls than perhaps you were - thank you for your generosity in forgiving us this shortfall. I can assure you that I am taking the feedback to heart and reviewing / revamping our process to try and determine why calls were missed. For may, especially those travelling on business or with flights to catch, wake-up call are a crucial part of the experience and something we will not miss in the future!

Beyond that, I'm glad to hear was a good one and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours,

James McGillivray,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Arrived in DC late at night and needed a room close to the airport. The staff was nice, everything was new and clean, the rooms were big (we got upgraded to a suite), and the parking was free. That said, there's not much in the area. There is a decent restaurant and small cafe at the hotel, but everything was way overpriced.

Overall, a nice place to stay if you need to be in the Dulles/Herndon area. It was quiet and we got a great nights sleep before spending a couple days in Maryland and DC.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDulles, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear BPK_Travel,

I'm glad you were able to leave our hotel well rested and ready to go exploring. Your feedback is appreciated - we try to cater to many varying tastes and price ranges for our guests at Padella Restaurant. Your thoughts on our pricing will definitely be taken into consideration - thank you.

Yours,

James McGillivray,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

There were only three things I could think of that I didn't like about this hotel:

1) No free internet in the hotel rooms. I mean, if a filthy motel in Wheeling, WV can offer free wi-fi, I kind of just expect everyone to.
2) They've got a beautiful pool, but it closes at 9pm. That extra hour would've given me some nice pool time.
3) It is difficult to find! My GPS was going nuts and I probably sprouted a few grey hairs getting there.

But those things aside, I had a wonderful time! I must emphasize that the hotel restaurant is AMAZING! There are no words for the magic Chef Luca can do with chicken breast, no joke. The bartender was friendly and a master at my guilty pleasure, the Blue Hawaiian. And the crown jewel? THE BEDS! Not only were the best comfortable, the sheets just felt plush and luxurious. I rolled around in them like a little kid because it just felt so good! The bathroom also deserves an honorable mention, I loved having two showerheads and the toiletries were wonderful.

I mean, I love my internet and my pool open til 10pm, but another round with Chef Luca's creations and those beds drive a pretty hard bargain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDulles, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear eightwednesday,

Thanks for your kind words - and yes, Chef Luca and his team do know how to work magic in the kitchen! We do offer complimentary internet in the lobby and restaurant area if that helps at all on future visits. As for the pool your feedback will definitely be taken into consideration as we move forward - we are continually adjusting our operations to ensure we meed our guests needs as much as possible. The requirement in Fairfax County to have a lifeguard on duty whenever the pool is open limits us slightly but we continue to review and flex the hours to try and meet the bulk of our guests needs.

Yours,

James McGillivray,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Overall, the hotel was a nice modern hotel. The GPS route that I got was non-obvious, and difficult to navigate. (The town of Herndon has build a bad road system where a 4 lane highway turns into a 1 lane highway in a few feet, then it goes back to a 4 lane road.) That said, most of the staff was nice, except for one rude bufete server person. (It happens in any large organization.) After the trip I called the lost and found department, and they quickly determined that the lost item was not at the hotel (which was a good thing, because we were able to locate it in our car instead.)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Property is very nice. Some staff is very friendly, some are aloof. I really liked one of the bartenders, a black male w/ dreads. He really made evenings enjoyable because of how friendly he was and genuinely interested in providing great customer service. The happy hour w/ half price small plates was a great option, and the bar was large and well lit, good for solo business travelers like myself. Breakfast could use a lot of improving, and I wouldn't even bother w/ the room service breakfast as the best part of it was the orange juice and water. But dinner and dessert at the bar were great as I stated. Rooms are very clean, and quiet as long as there aren't school groups (which I had a couple of nights). Inevitably they run up and down the halls. But I couldn't hear people in the rooms next to me. I had a workout room the first time (stayed two consecutive weeks) and that was so awesome, convenient to have a treadmill in your room, so get that if you can, though I think they told me there are only 3 in the whole hotel. Wide selection of cable channels a plus, great soap and lotion (some hotels have awful toiletries), rooms smell good (something they must use when they clean), towels are nice, gym is very nice...I'd definitely stay here again when in the Dulles/Herndon area. I will warn that the Heavenly Bed is very...use lumbar pillow they provide if you're used to a firm bed like I am.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing lake if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDulles, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear althotelcritic,

Thank you for your kind feedback and dedication to our hotel. The bartender you reference has been with us since opening and is truly a staple in Padella and a joy to have around - I'm always glad to see that energy and interest reflected in reviews!

Shortly after your stay with us we re-vamped our breakfast buffet and have been getting some glowing feedback on our varying specials of the day as well as some of the new presentations and options available. Perhaps you may find it more to your liking on your next visit - please don't hesitate to ask for me if you have any further suggestions or feedback if you do stay with us again.

Yours,

James McGillivray,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 2520 Wasser Terrace, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#8 Family Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#13 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.