We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Sterling VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed one night and got a great rate for a Friday night. The hotel is clean and the front desk staff was friendly. I was checked in very quickly with no issues. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    79
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
35
43
37
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

It was pretty good. Really wanted to find a place to eat dinner with a friend. It was next door to my hotel. I liked it but the wine was terrible. We had white wine. We both had the worst headache ever.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I recently stayed at this Sheraton, as I used to frequently stay there for business. I will never stay there again.
When I checked into the hotel, the key machine was not working, so I was given a master key, and the lady at the desk suggested that I bring it back down in the morning in hopes that the machine would be fixed. As suggested, I did just that. Went down, and asked for a new key to my room. The man up front, of some middle eastern, was standing next another man of middle eastern descent, and he was clearly friends with him. I felt a tad bit uncomfortable at first, as they were both staring at me. I received my new room key, and then went to grab a cup of coffee. Imagine my surprise when the "friend" was standing up in my hallway, near my room. He was just sipping his coffee and asked me if I was middle eastern. I am not middle eastern, nor was he supposed to be hanging out in my hallway clearly waiting for me. I was so uncomfortable, I went into my room and locked the door until I left. When I was leaving for the day, asked the man up front who his buddy was. And he said, I have no idea who you are talking about. I started to get really angry, and said the guy who was hanging out with you by the front desk, the one who randomly showed up on my floor? He played stupid for a while, and then came up with a bogus excuse, that he sent him up to see if I could get in my room. First of all, the guy had no interest in whether my key card worked, and he was clearly in cahoots with him. I was so nervous in this hotel, that when I arrived for the evening, I had my colleague walk in my room and check every possible crevice for anyone hiding. I will never stay here again. I used to like the convenience of this hotel, but have decided that other properties are a better option. I do like the Westin right around the corner, it has a full service restaurant and doesn't seem to have creeps working there.

Room Tip: I would have provided better reviews of all of these, however my recent experience has completely ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for business twice in 3 weeks. Front desk is super friendly and helpful. It really is guests and customers first here. The breakfast is good, parking is easy, and the rooms are always clean. Great location to Reston Town Center and Herndon restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I would like to preface this review by saying that Jim, the hotel manager did everything possible to try to remedy the problems that I encountered by giving me points and by refunding most of my stay costs, which I felt was both generous and appropriate.

Having said that, I chose this hotel because when I called and asked they said that they had an on call shuttle and that meant that within a few minutes the shuttle would head to the airport to pick you up. It was exceptionally cold in DC and the front desk said the shuttle would be 15 minutes. It was almost 55 minutes of freezing after an international flight, waiting for the shuttle. The front desk also lied about how long it would take. Their restaurant is closed for lunch and room service and the restaurant close at 10pm, which is not the best for an airport hotel . At least have a light tapas type menu until midnight.

There were quite a few problems with my room, no bath tub, no heat until I called and they had to change out the unit,so I was freezing until it was fixed.

The manager and manager on duty did their best and I appreciated that. I would stay here again if they have a restaurant that is open late, which is important for an airport hotel and also if they have an on call shuttle. They should combine with the Hyatt place which is next door and they manage both hotels.

Room Tip: If you would like a bathtub, be sure to ask for a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The only positive aspect of the hotel is that it has a club lounge and it's a SPG Category 2 meaning it only require 3000/4000 SPG Starpoints for a free night. Few Sheraton around major cities require such low point value. Nevertheless, with the poor experience I had, I'll stay at the nearby Aloft which is also a SPG Category 2 hotel the next time.

1) During check-in, I specifically asked about lounge access / breakfast as I'm a SPG Platinum member and was told that the lounge is closed during the holiday week (understandable). However, it would have been nice if the agent told me about the substitute vouchers for the hotel restaurant. I later saw the sign on the club floor and had to go down to request it.
2) The club lounge isn't really a lounge. It's that little space in the lobby of the club floor right by the elevator. Very awkward location for a club lounge.
3) The hotel just doesn't have the Sheraton feel, from the rooms to the hotel restaurant, and I've stayed 50+ nights in in 2013 in Sheraton brand alone. Shower head isn't the one found in Sheraton hotels and hotel restaurant is tiny and more comparable to a Four Point hotel restaurant. The hotel is overall really more at the Four Point level.
4) Breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant is the worst I have ever seen. It has a smaller selection than most of the club lounges I have visited. Comparable to Days Inn I have stayed in but this Sheraton charges $10+ whereas it's complimentary at Days Inn.
5) Restaurant staff wasn't particular nice. I handed over an appetizer voucher and was moving my hand back into my pocket to pull out my room key so that I can tell the bartender which room to charge the rest of the balance to. He however had to pre-empty yell at me that I can only use one voucher.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay during business travels. This hotel is an airport hotel and you feel it. I had to pick a cab because you had to inform the hotel that you are arriving, although all the other choices around run several shuttles per hour without being noticed before.

In-hotel service is fair, but nothing to write home about. The hotel itself seemed to be deserted, some lonely figures hanging around at the bar, the swimming pool closes in the evening. Flexibility in terms of breakfast is non-existent, they know that the majority of their customers will leave after one night.

However, if you need a decent place to stay for a fair price, this might be an option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from Dulles Airport, we offer the quality and service you expect from Sheraton. In addition to a great location, we have the perfect event space for meetings and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.