We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“another nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Almost new Hotel. Very nice! and a convient location. Plenty of parking! Take a walk and you might see dear in the evening. A little tricky to find, but worth it! You will want a car to go to restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Great weekend rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    80
    49
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
44
38
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We used this hotel the night before our flight from Dulles which was very near. We had a nice sized two queen bed room on the 3rd floor. We also ate at the hotel in the evening and at breakfast. There was a distinct lack of local restaurants and bars as this was a business area. However it was very quiet and the blackout blinds worked really well. Our evening meal was good with me having a very nice salmon dish. The vegetables were perfect as they were crispy and firm moot the usual overlooked sloppy concoctions I have had at other restaurants. The breakfast buffet was also good. The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. I recommend this hotel as the perfect airport 1 night stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pretty new and well furbished. The brownish theme is a bit boring and lame but that is not really a problem. We stayed on the Club floor and the breakfast there was very good! Staff is always there for you and very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family and I were breaking up a plane trip to Maine and flew into Dulles. My wife had found a good price for a one night stay (she found it on the web, the downside is that they would not take my SPG member number, as we booked with at third party site).

If you are going to use their van to get from airport to the hotel, make sure you call the hotel and find out how to do this and let them know you are there. We called and told to go to curb 2H and look for a Hyatt van. Trouble is that we did not know were curb 2H was.
From baggage claim, go to Door 6, then go down the ramp and out the door. Once outside, cross the small access road to the van pick up area. 2H will be on your right.

Here is the tricky part, there are at least three different white Hyatt vans that stop at 2H. We had to go up to three different drivers, before the right van came. You have to ask what hotel they serve. After having to wait 30-35 min, and getting into the right van, it was a short ride to the hotel. If you are in a hurry, take a cab!

We were on the 6th floor (Club Floor). As you exit the elevators, the "club" is right there. This were they have a tv, lounge chairs, drinks, etc. This is were we had a very decent breakfast in the morning. We chose to eat there as opposed to the restaurant because it was close to our room and we didn't have to drag our luggage around.

Our room was average size with a king bed. There was a nice flat screen tv, large desk, coffee maker. And they had great black out shades on the window!
The bathroom was ok, no tub ( I don't remember our room number, but it was at the end of the hall by the exit stairs (very, very quiet). The shower was good, except that the drain was running really slow, so I was standing in soap suds, etc.

We had a late dinner downstairs in the restaurant/bar area. Nothing fancy.
They have a workout room and a pool area on the first floor.
In the lobby, they have computers that you can use for free for 45 minutes. You can also print out your boarding pass here as well.

Again, it was very quiet on the 6th floor. Front desk service was good. You can get the shuttle back to the airport starting at 5:30, every half hour.

So if you need a place close to the airport, I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stay here if you are looking for a great value at a great hotel. It is worth the drive in to save the money on the higher priced hotels in the city. You will have to fight massive rush hour traffic but if you wait to leave until after 9 AM it is not so bad. This is a newer hotel with wonderfully appointed rooms.

Room Tip: The first floor is actually rather quiet, close to the lobby and breakfast and much easier than tryi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

normally, I would give this hotel just 3-4 stars based on previous stays. However, I just stayed here yesterday/last night and because Jamal was the most courteous, professional and helpful person working in this hotel that I have ever had the pleasure to meet, it got an automatic 5 stars. Clean room, comfortable bed, hot water...pretty much everything I needed.

Due to a special circumstance that Jamal had assisted me with (and completed it courteously and extremely professionally), I will continue giving this specific hotel my business. He is an absolute gem. Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is very close to Dulles Airport (IAD). I believe there is a free shuttle, however, I had a car. There is plenty of parking at the hotel. Check-in was fast and easy upon arrival.

ROOM (600)

I was upgraded to the Club Level due to my Platinum status. The room was spacious and had a large desk and working area. There was a decent amount of electrical outlets, an iron and board, hair dryer, coffee maker, bed, TV, lounge chair, but no refrigerator or in-room safe. The AC worked but it took a while to cool down the room.

FOOD

The lounge had a decent breakfast. There were eggs, sausage, mini waffles, hash browns, oatmeal, cereals, fresh fruits, various breads, and sodas, water, and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from Dulles Airport, we offer the quality and service you expect from Sheraton. In addition to a great location, we have the perfect event space for meetings and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.