We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed here twice, both on business and both times for 6-7 days. While the Sheraton may not be a patch over the nearby Hyatt (which is swankier, with better/spacious rooms), but the Sheraton old-school hospitality and service scores over Hyatt anytime. I had a colleague staying at Hyatt while I stayed at Sheraton. Complimentary airport shuttles which Sheraton provides may not be new or uncommon. What was uncommon was when the front-desk staff (on their own!) offered me complimentary shuttle to a shopping mall which was a good 25 minutes away and even ensured I got picked up from the mall and dropped back to the hotel. (And my poor colleague got charged by Hyatt every time she asked for a shuttle!)
Another example was when there was an issue with their early morning airport drop shuttle and they had to hail a cab for me. They assured me that the cab was already paid for and I must not pay the driver. But when I reached the airport, the cab driver demanded 20 dollars and said that he wasn't paid by the hotel. Not having the time to argue much, I just paid the driver and while I was waiting to board the flight, made a quick call to the Sheraton front desk and informed them about the incident so that other passengers do not get inconvenienced like me. I was pleasantly surprised when I reached India only to find that 20 USD had been credited to my account by the hotel. The amount was not big, but the gesture was. No wonder I keep going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    70
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
39
32
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NLR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Sheraton Hernon Dulles Airport is one of the best hotel in Herndon,VA. It is around 3 miles away from the Dulles Airport. Complimentary Shuttle is provided to the Airport. The Basic Amenities ar
Club floor,Fitness Centre and Pool., Complimentary Break fast is for Platinum SPG & Gold.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The guestrooms are spacious, clean and bright. The decorations are tastefully selected. This hotel is located very close to Dulles airport. They offer free parking, free airport shuttle which is a convinient feature. However, there is no breakfast included, and you have to pay for internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

this was a nice room and pretty cheap even at the last minute when we visited (in the winter). the room had a big desk that seemed like it would be useful for a single business traveler, but there wasn't a table for two people to sit at. We ordered room service from the restaurant downstairs and it was not much more expensive than a normal restaurant, and the food was decent. The breakfast seemed expensive so we went out somewhere else. This hotel doesn't have free continental breakfast, it costs $12 for a the buffet. My only real complaint is that the buttons on the TV remote were hard to push.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton because of an early morning flight. The check-in was friendly and helpful and the room was as expected with a comfortable king size bed. The shuttle service to the airport leaves on the half hour and was on time. My only complaint was that they charge for WIFI. I find it inexplicable that a 4 start hotel charges for something that the Super 8 gives for free. In today's environment charging for WIFI is like charging for TV. Get real Sheraton!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night before an early morning flight. Comfortable room, great beds and pillows. Only problem was fire alarm going off at 1 in the morning and we waited out in the parking lot for over an hour. Didn't get back to sleep after that as we left at 5 to go to the airport. Not the hotels fault about the alarm but I could of stayed at home and got more sleep. The hotel shuttle worked fine for us also. I liked the Sheridan at the baltimore airport more than this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Shuttle van service to the property is shared with the adjacent Hilton. Be alert of shuttle van when they come pick you up at 2G area of arrivals level. It will not have a Sheraton logo. Upon checking into hotel, Room 521 was assigned.

PRO: amenities consistent across product brand offering; remoteness condusive to getting a good night's rest; staff proactive on approaching storm by salting sidewalks and parking area; shift manager loaned umbrella from gift shop for night's use.

CONS: WiFi is not complimentary; spotty TV signals not functional after midnight (not sure if it was satelite problems relating to foggy weather); swimming pool/spa/gym operating on abbreviated holiday schedules.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from Dulles Airport, we offer the quality and service you expect from Sheraton. In addition to a great location, we have the perfect event space for meetings and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.