We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, pool, fitness, so-so service and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, pool, fitness, so-so service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here with my family over the Thanksgiving holidays. The hotel is clean, the rooms are renovated, and everything has a "new" feel to it. The pool and fitness areas are quite nice. Throw in a $79/night price, and you have an unbeatable stay. Shuttle service to Dulles and the Udvar Hazy museum is convenient as well.

My only complaint is about the staff. The breakfast buffet was constantly running out of food and the people manning it were not eager to hear that we wanted more eggs. The coffee in the lobby was empty both times I tried to get coffee, and again, the staff was less-than-happy to hear that the coffee urn was empty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
35
43
36
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here because it was close to the airport. The shuttle service was good, the rooms were good, the staff were effficient and it was definitely good value. We left too early for breakfast, which only began at 6:30: the timing is something that the management could look to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The location is excellent 2min away from Reston center. Stayed with you just over two night but i had a great time with you. Room was clean, staff was friendly and very helpfull ;) next time im in the area will defo stay with you. Thank you again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My fiancée and I spent the night here recently, and had an overall pleasant experience. The room was spacious and clean, it had modern appliances, and we enjoyed a nice, peaceful night in our room. That being said, I have a few suggestions I would offer that would earn it a higher rating from me. First, include free wireless Internet in the rooms. It's 2012, we live in a digital age, and I'm willing to wager that 95% of all people that stay at this hotel have either a laptop, tablet, or smart phone of some sort. Having a free wireless lounge in the lobby is just not in keeping with the times. Second, we arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were hungry for lunch. We saw a menu in the room for room service. The menu included a breakfast menu and an "all day" menu. Now, I don't expect a hotel to have 24 hour room service, as that is typically reserved for luxurious resort type hotels, but when I see a menu with the words "all day" on it with no hours listed to explain what "all day" means, I would at least expect it to include lunch time and not just dinner. Our calls for room service went unanswered, indicating that either this "all day" menu was more so just a dinner menu, or that maybe they were understaffed that day. Point being, I was expecting more than unanswered calls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed her last night. The hotel seemed relatively new. Front desk agent was extremely nice and personable - upgraded us to the Club Level with free breakfast and larger room on the 6th floor even though I am only a SPG Gold.

All around great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Being close to the airport the majority of people that stay here are likely departing on a flight from IAD. We stayed here on a park and fly package which was not only the same rate as a normal room but included 14 days of free parking and the hotel runs a free shuttle. The shuttle operates every 30 minutes and you need to call to get picked up from IAD, though one of the best parts is it operates 24x7 which is nice for early flights.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were warmly greeted by the agent who introduced himself and welcomed us to their hotel. We were given a corner room on the SPG floor (SPG Gold status). We had requested an infant crib in advance, and it was already set up waiting for us when we checked in. This was especially nice and surprising as the request was simply put in as a comment in the reservation, so obviously someone was proactive and looking ahead – very nice. We noticed we forgot to pack toothpaste but a quick trip back to the front desk and he had some sample packs available. The room was spotless and nicely appointed as others had noted. The room lacked a tub but it wasn't a big deal.

We decided not to venture out for dinner so dined in the hotel restaurant which had great service and the staff was very accommodating for our one year old. The restaurant (at the time of our stay) was also on Restaurant.com so we got a decent discount from buying a certificate right there in the lobby.

All in all a fantastic stay in a great hotel near IAD. With economy parking at dulles being $10/day then any stay longer than a weekend we would definitely pursue this option again to be close to the airport and not having to deal with parking there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night before and one night after our trip to Palm Springs, CA. Check in was smooth and easy. The front desk staff was very professional and friendly. We had a room on the 5th floor both times. The night we stayed after our trip the first room they gave us smelled of cigar smoke even .though this is a smoke-free hotel. We called the front desk and they immediately came up to our floor and brought us keys to another room.
The bar area is a good place to grab a burger or crab cake sandwich for dinner. They have a nice wine selection too. We had a package including breakfast the next morning after our return trip. The breakfast included was a nice buffet and it was very convenient.
The room itself was a good size to accommodate 2 people and the beds were very comfortable. There were plenty of places to fit luggage and a nice size desk/work area for your laptop, etc. The bathroom was fairly large and well lit. Space for 2 people to get ready at the same time for an early morning flight.
The only minor complaint I have - and this applies to all the Sheraton's we have stayed in recently - is the bathroom door. It is not solid wood - there is a glass panel in it. Our problem was we usually leave the bathroom light on during the night so we can find the bathroom without bumping into furniture, etc. We left the light on the first night and the room was so bright it was hard to sleep. The second night we stayed we left the light off and I ended up bumping into something on the way to the bathroom in the night and bruised my knee. Possibly they could put a window shade on the doors or replace the doors with solid wood and no window. Other than that we had a very good nights sleep - the hotel was quiet and we would return again to this hotel.

Room Tip: I always request a high floor so it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from Dulles Airport, we offer the quality and service you expect from Sheraton. In addition to a great location, we have the perfect event space for meetings and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.