We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the money, but watch out for the shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
PTY
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“good for the money, but watch out for the shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Good hotel, but... 1. there is no phone to call the shuttle to pick you up! 2. nobody tells you that they share an airport shuttle with the Hyatt. So you can stand there for hours, and not know the shuttle is there. And since it services 2 hotels, they are full.

On the good side, great rooms: comfortable and modern.

If you are very, very picky: my blanket had a hole, and getting hot water took a long time. But overall, it was great quality for the money.

Room Tip: I chose it in Hotel.com and got a great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    97
    53
    13
    7
See reviews for
42
46
41
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Amazing Staff. Very attentive to all my needs and was "Yes Ma'am I'll be glad to" always.
Razan, Boris, Henry, & Acer were amazing to me. I'll never forget you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a great airport hotel. The facility is new. The only caution is if you are using a GPS call first to obtain an alternate address, because the street they are on is brand new and won't show up on the GPS.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was in town for twelve hours for business. I've stayed in the greater Washington D.C. area many times but this is the first time at this hotel. I flew into Dullas airport and this hotel was close to the airport. This location was picked because it was close to the airport and for the fact that I was only on the ground for twelve hours before flying out. I called the hotel for the airport shuttle to pick me up. I was told by the manager, "Alex" that it would be twenty minutes to pick me up. I thought that amount of time was a bit long since the hotel was close and it wasn't rush hour. I waited for twenty minutes and no shuttle showed up. I waited for another ten minutes and still no shuttle. I called the hotel again and talked to someone else who told me the shuttle would be at my location in ten minutes. Ten minutes came and went and still no shuttle. I called again to the hotel again and talked to Alex again. He told me that the shuttle was on it's way. I waited for another twenty minutes and the shuttle finally showed up. This was a total of fifty mintues waiting for a shuttle! The shuttle driver was nice and apologized for me having to wait so long. He said the hotel has had numerous problems with the shuttle. He said the problem was with the front desk forgetting to call him about people needing the shuttle. I gave this guy a good tip and told him not to worry about it. When I got to the hotel Alex checked me in. Alex was very scattered acting and was very young for a manager. He gave me my key to my room and then said he would give me a free dinner if I wanted it. When I got to my floor I began looking for my room. I walked the hall up and down at least five times looking for my room. I went back down to the front desk and talked to Alex. I told Alex that the room he gave me didn't exist in the hotel. He looked bewildered and then said oh I wrote down the wrong number. I couldnt believe this guy. Now I was delayed for an hour and fifteen minutes on my already short down time!!! I took Alex up on the free dinner. I went to the bar and ordered a burger. I took the order to my room and when I got to the room I found that the food order was wrong! The food was not what I ordered!! I know I should have checked the ordered before I walked away but come on how can you mess up a Buber order!! The room was nice but all the garbage that went with this stay I have to give it a big thumbs down!!!

Room Tip: Hotel has six floors if your platinum with Sheraton this is the floor you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Campbell, General Manager at Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay and experience with us. We do take all comments seriously and do appreciate your feed back. After reading your comments we did not treat you like time was important especially for such a short lay over here. I apologize for the inconvenience and the miscommunications pertaining to the room number and food ordered. As management team we take this very serious and will follow up with our associates. Again thank you for your comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely, Patrick Campbell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobeor82b
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Recently stayed at the Sheraton and was very pleased. The room was spacious, quite and clean. No safe in the room which was the only downside I could find. The Staff were fantastic. The food was very good also. Breakfast was a full breakfast with multiple choices. Hotel is close to the airport which made catching the shuttle and getting to the airport very quick.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed in this hotel one night for connection flight. Rooms are very clean and inside-hotel service is excellent. Shuttles from the hotel to the airport are not as frequent as the Holiday-Inn shuttles. However, they have a great service of getting your bags to the airport -- which was really useful because I wanted to see the Air and Space museum quick before leaving and didn't want to carry my bags with me and didn't have the time to get back to the hotel. There is also another Air and Space museum in Dulles, very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Rooms seem pretty new, and are nicers than most Sheratons I've seen. I was very disappointed in the shuttle service though. After calling the hotel, I stood at the stop for about an hour in the rain watching what seemed like every other hotel's shuttle go by 3+ times. Not a good first impression. I would use another hotel next time if I need pickup at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Campbell, General Manager at Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Jackstraw,

Thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your stay. Thank you for the comments about the "Newish and Clean" aspect of your stay. I also appreciated the comments regarding your feelings about having to wait for the van. I apologize for the delay, as we try to get our guests from the airport as soon as possible. We understand you could have had a long travel day, and once again your right about first impressions. I hope you give us another chance.
Sincerely
Patrick M.Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 13715 Sayward Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from Dulles Airport, we offer the quality and service you expect from Sheraton. In addition to a great location, we have the perfect event space for meetings and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.