We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13711 Sayward Blvd., Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family for a trip through Washington DC. Check-in was smooth. The lobby was very clean and smelled great. Our room was clean, but did smell strongly of mildew. I mentioned this to the front desk upon checkout and was told it was the feather pillows. I'm certain the pillows were not causing the smell! It is located in an industrial park right near the airport & the Smithsonian Air & Space at Dulles. Overall, an average experience, but we were pleased for the price we paid. We stayed because we got an amazing deal on a hotel website.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    72
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
55
29
32
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Hyatt Places before and have had a good experience, however this hotel is only average. The room was worn, the bed not that comfortable, and there are not many services close by. Other nearby hotels are a better bet.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Will not do it again. 150.00 for the night. My wife did this as a birthday present. We usually do this once or twice a year. Nice hotel then do something in the city. I have stayed at cheaper hotels in the area. Room was not clean. Took off my shoes by the couch. Walked to the bed to lay down and watch TV. Looked down at my feet. There was a ball of hair by them. Looked at the shower. Didn't take shower. Wife ordered a cheese plate. When I got hungry after seeing the plate. I was going to order a pizza. No phone book. No channel guide. Concert we went to wasn't great either. Not their fault. Before going asleep thought ok will get up for a nice breakfast. For 150.00 I figured I would get a nice breakfast. If you are a vegetarian it would be great. I have stayed at cheaper hotels that were nicer in the Dulles area. My recommendation is stay at a Motel 6 and eat at Denny's.. Cheaper and more amenities. Never again..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had 2 nights at this property and it was excellent except for the fact that when we checked in we were put in the room right next to the conference rooms and on Sunday morning they had local church services in those rooms. Not a huge deal, the front desk staff was very helpful in moving us up to the 6th floor once we realized there was going to be a LOT of noise all day long.

The pool is nice... breakfast was as expected at a Hyatt Place and we really could not have been happier.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not next to the conference rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yes, I know I usually review "luxury" properties, but I think its time I branch out and let you know about the hard working "budget friendly" hotels I stay at when taking flights that depart on or before 6:00 am.

I started staying at hotels the night before an early flight after missing a 6:15 AM flight from BOS to LIR due to an accident in Boston's tunnel. The delay lasted over an hour, thus having to sit at BOS until a flight to SJO departed and forcing me to find and take a Nature Air flight from SJO to LIR, ending up spending all day to finally reach the Four Seasons. So, right away I decided, or rather wised up, a $100.00 — $150.00 hotel room was worth more then the headaches my missed flight caused. The Hyatt Place also has a "park and fly" option, and even long term parking can add up to more then a night's stay and week long parking, and without the hassles, longterm parking can sometimes be.

I found the Hyatt Place chain, because Im a huge fan of the Hyatt Gold Passport program (along with MANY others), and was so pleasantly surprised with room size, plush clean towels and extremely friendly front desk staff. The room size is huge with desks, separate sitting area with sofa's and usually a large flat screen TV that swivels to accommodate the bedroom as well.

This Hyatt Place is next door to the Sheraton, and they share the shuttle van to IAD, and, though the van is kind of old and tired, the driver(s) have always been on time, helpful and friendly.

The Hyatt Place in all the locations I used, have a plentiful free breakfast starting early and decent coffee, not a super luxury Cappuccino, Espresso machine, but it's hot and not bitter, and they give guests a few types of milk and creams, not all budget friendly hotels do. They also have egg dishes where I've stayed with fruits and breads, and though Im not a big breakfast goer, it's nice to have options.

Now, I can't say I will ever book a vacation within the Hyatt Place chain, but, they realize who their customer(s) are and cater quite well to them, the business traveler(s), as well as the needs of guests like myself, that simply rather not stress out getting to an early flight's departure.

Travel can be tough and tedious, so be kind to your fellow traveler and be smart, safe and enjoy the experience's in front of you.

B

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Good, free breakfast. Friendly staff, good location. Rooms are nice size. Would prefer a bit more water pressure. Furniture ( sleeper sofa) was a bit worn. Decent value for the money. Free parking and places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

All rooms I saw were extremely comfortable, gorgeous and spacious. The front desk were very kind, but they could get better in their professionalism.

If you're gonna take the shuttle from the airport, you should call the hotel (don't wait until it comes, like other hotels), because they don't have a constant shuttle going there.

It's like 40 minutes far from Washington DC. But overall, it is a great choice and not so expensive.

Room Tip: If you're gonna take the shuttle from the airport, you should call the hotel (don't wait unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East

Address: 13711 Sayward Blvd., Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#11 Business Hotel in Herndon
#13 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance to Dulles International Airport and west of Washington D.C., the Hyatt Place Herndon/Dulles Airport-East hotel offers access to some of the area’s best attractions. The hotel features spacious guestrooms with the Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, complimentary parking and complimentary airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.