We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13341 Woodland Park Road, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

The location of this hotel was easy to find from the Interstate and we experienced no airport noise. It is in a great location, within walking distance to grocery store, restaurants, etc. The check in was quick, but the front desk clerk did not know the area at all. He had to print off directions from computer for everything we asked about. He said he was not from this area. We wanted a hotel that was close to Wolf Trap concert hall and this was very convenient. It took us about 20 minutes to get there from this hotel on a Friday afternoon. (holiday)
The room was clean and quiet. Only complaint would be the closet door was not working properly. The living room area had a huge flat screen and so did the bedroom.
The manager's reception each evening was really nice. One night we had fried mushrooms, veggies and dip and the other night we had cheese and crackers and chips and salsa. The beer and wine was served by really friendly servers. It made us feel welcome.
The breakfast buffet was awesome! Omelettes, waffles, pancakes, french toast - all you could ask for was available. One morning we had to wait a few minutes, but nothing too long. The servers at breakfast went out of their way to make sure you were satisfied. They were friendly and efficient.
Overall our stay was excellent and we had a wonderful time. The Embassy Suites was our home away from home. The swans were cool, as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    135
    55
    30
    30
See reviews for
170
81
44
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Just arrived back in the UK after spending a week in this hotel whilst attending a training course in Herndon. Have to agree with most other posters that this is an excellent, clean and comfortable hotel. The staff went out of their way to help us as a matter of course.

Situated near a near a high tech business center, there are some very good resteraunts close by or the hotel's shuttle will happily take you to nearby Reston Town centre when not on airport duty. Reston has a lot of great nightlife with wonderfull bars and great resteraunts- Clydes and Big Bowl are well worth a visit.

Washington DC is a $1.35 bus ride and a metro ride away and takes under an hour and is a good way of seeing the local area whilst on your way to the big site-seeing.

Highly recommend this hotel except the swans. Being from the UK, these birds are not meant to be captive and certainly not in a small indoor pool area. - Only down side.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I came in late on a Thursday night from a late flight and the staff had everything ready for me. I used the shuttle service and had no issues at all they right on time! The rooms were very comfortable, and spacious. It is always nice having the suite with the second room for the added space. The staff was extremely friendly, I was waiting for a friend to pick me up the next day and I was asked a few times if there was anything they could get me or if I needed a shuttle – most of the time the staff ignores you, not here they were great! The swans are a great touch – George and Martha, very different a neat idea. I will definitely stay again when I come back into town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

This Embassy Suites is an example of a somewhat older, slightly dated hotel that is very well maintained and managed. The guest rooms are 2 room suites, and spacious. Very clean. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Common spaces are very clean. Free breakfast (cooked to order). Free cocktail hour. Free airport shuttle. Free business center. Two huge, really cool live swans (George and Martha, of course - this is DC) live in the lobby fountains. Friendly staff. All in all, a very nice hotel located only a mile or so from Dulles airport, though I've NEVER heard a plane while staying here. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

This hotel is cookie-cutter Empress Suites, designed for business travellers - free happy hour, excellent breakfast. Accommodation is reasonable, but the price seemed a bit high to me given the level of service and quality of the furnishings, etc. It's located in the middle of suburban business park hell close to Dulles Airport so I would not recommend unless you have business in that area or are looking for a hotel close to the airport. Getting to/from DC would not at all be convenient.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

My flight back home was canceled, so I ended up in this hotel near Dulles Airport. Since Aer Lingus payed for my two nights here, including lunch and dinner, I don't know what a room costs here. But my general mood (which wasn't too great as you can imagine) was greatly improved by this hotel.

I loved the staff, the complimentary breakfast is very good, the rooms are nice and spacious. They provide a shuttle bus to the airport.

I usually don't stay in hotels near airports, but if I ever have to suffer a canceled flight at Dulles again, I hope I end up here. Truly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The staff rose above my expectations which were already pretty high. I've stayed at several Embassy Suites and like them because of all the extras you get at a similar price to other hotels. You always get a suite, breakfast and cocktails all at the same price. And their service has always been very friendly. How could you go wrong? Well this stay was even better than normal. All of the staff were exceptional and deserve particular attention.

  • Liked — All the additional amenities & the friendly service
  • Disliked — Hard to get a reservation sometimes
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport

Address: 13341 Woodland Park Road, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Herndon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#2 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Herndon
Herndon Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.