We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stopped eating and will not go back” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13341 Woodland Park Road, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersGold level
Alamo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I stopped eating and will not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I travel frequently for business and my stay at your hotel was one of the worst in recent memory. The following are items that were unacceptable.
1. We were contacted before our stay telling us that our confirmed reservation was not valid and the hotel was full. That was very unprofessional.
2. Basic items were not stocked in the hotel room, like towels and glasses. Each day when the room was cleaned, our towels and glasses were removed and not replaced. We had to request them from the front desk, and it took hours for them to be delivered.
3. We stopped eating in the hotel after I heard rodent sounds coming from the ceiling on top of the men's room on the first floor.
4. Your bar ran out of glasses and was not using proper glasses for serving drinks. I had to request a clean glass, because all of the glasses behind the bar were "stained" but looked dirty.
5. The hotel was very noisy and the front desk did not control the many guests that were in the hotel. At one point, I was nearly hit by food from a food fight that broke out near the bar.
6. The service elevator and back halls are very dirty and reflect poor maintenance and cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsa j, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at the Embassy Suites Dulles Airport.

Your feedback will help us improve. We are sorry to learn that our service delivery fell below our usual standard during your visit. Please accept my sincere apology. We will continue to work hard to earn your business and to regain your trust. We know that you have many hotel options in the local area and we will never take your business for granted. You are very important to us.

Kindly let me know if I can assist with anything before or during your next visit to the area.

Have a lovely week!

Yours in Hospitality,

Elsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    86
    38
    21
    24
See reviews for
116
48
30
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My flight was canceled and the airline booked me at the Hilton. After waiting for the shuttle for 20 minutes, The embassy suites van pulled up and told me I could use my voucher with them so I jumped aboard. I was traveling alone with a very tired 2 year old at 11pm. The driver helped grab all my bags then told me to head on in when we arrived to get a jump on the line and he brought everything to us in line and checked my carseat in the back room. A frustrating airline failure was almost forgotten by the great service, big room and delicious breakfast! We always choose embassy suites when we can and glad we got to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsa j, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate it.

You are very important to us. Our goal is to make the Embassy Suites Dulles your "home away from home" whenever you are in the area.

Kindly let me know if I can assist with anything before or during your next visit to the area.

Have a lovely week!

Very Respectfully,

Elsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

horrible experience, will never come back to this hotel. Poor service, including difficulty with reservations (someone tried to cancel my reservation 4 days prior to arrival!). There were no towels (despite repeated calls)- I actually had to grab towels from house keeping bin myself, and tripped over food trays that were left outside my door for 5 hours. The noise was phenomenal- teenagers screaming outside our door at 1 am, despite repeated phone call to front desk. A member of our party noticed rats in the walls. I observed a hotel staff member (male, in a black concierge-like suit) entering 5 room sequentially with the same key. He'd open door, walk in, then leave after 2 mins- a SERIOUS invasion of privacy! Inhospitable, irritable and unhelpful front desk staff. I've stayed in at least 10 different Embassy Suites hotels- and have never experienced anything like this. It was the most unprofessionally run business I've ever had the misfortune to come across. Ways to improve? Start acting like a "Hilton- approved" hotel by treating guests with the dignity, hospitality, cleanliness and honesty that any paying consumer deserves. I can only imagine what fines would have been incurred if OSHA visited this facility on this weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsa j, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at the Embassy Suites Dulles Airport.

Your feedback will help us improve. We are sorry to learn that our service delivery fell below our usual standard during your visit. Please accept my sincere apology. We will continue to work hard to earn your business and to regain your trust. We know that you have many hotel options in the local area and we will never take your business for granted. You are very important to us.

Kindly let me know if I can assist with anything before or during your next visit to the area.

Have a lovely week!

Yours in Hospitality,

Elsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was very happy with this hotel. There are beautiful swans in the lobby area. The rooms are spacious. There is also a complimentary cooked to order breakfast in the morning that was just wonderful. We went for my daughter's 9th b-day w/ a couple of my kid's friends and I think it was a wonderful experience and a fair price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsa j, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate it.

You are very important to us. Our goal is to make the Embassy Suites Dulles your "home away from home" whenever you are in the area.

Kindly let me know if I can assist with anything before or during your next visit to the area.

Have a lovely week!

Very Respectfully,

Elsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As usual, Embassy provides the best of all hotel worlds; the combination of private hotel room, and the perfectly proportioned mini-suite! The hotel is beautifully updated with restful colors, and always the best toiletries and service. Our suite was perfect in every way, and clean as every Embassy suite I have ever been in always is!

There is an indoor pool in the lobby with a bridge, and two beautiful swans (named "George" and "Martha"....as in George and Martha Washington, if my memory serves me correctly).
Clever! :-)

They have an awesome free breakfast buffet in the morning along with everything you can think of in the way of breakfast food, including an omelet bar where you can get a made-to-order omelet made by the most efficient cook I have ever seen. Her memory for what everyone wants is absolutely astounding. The lady needs a raise!

In the evening there is a reception with beverages, both soft and hard, and hors d'oeuvres to get you through to dinner.

Every person I met who worked there was friendly and helpful. What more could I ask for... good service, restful sleep, beautiful facilities, and friendly people! I'll be back, if I get up this way again.

Room Tip: We had room 610. It was a beautiful room in a great location. We only had one wall that adjoined a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelagegia, Manager at Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. we greatly appreciate it.

We are happy to served you and sincerely hope to welcome you back to the property very soon!

Kind regards,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently spent the weekend at this hotel with my family. Being a frequent traveler and hhonors member, I hold high expectations for Hilton properties. This property boasts more than helpful staff and their service levels are impeccable. The hotel itself is clean and seems recently updated. Two of the problems we ran into were: Weekend breakfasts at Embassy Suite properties should be staffed adequately for breakfast preparation (the grill) and restocking the "pantry"; this property was not. The other snag was this hotel does not have laundry facilities on site for guests, although the sell laundry detergent in their sundries area. Other than those little snags, I would recommend this hotel for family travel or a short business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelagegia, Manager at Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It was our pleasure serving you!

We will address your concerns about the breakfast with our food and service department to make sure that in the future our breakfast is staffed adequately. In addition, we will share your feedback with our wonderful associates!

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and serving you again!

Kind regards,
Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Your hotel was spotless, friendly and convenient to the airport as well as to our children's home in Herndon VA. We would definitely use your hotel if we are in the area again... There was a private party in one of the main meeting rooms immediately off of the lobby, yet we felt as though we were the only ones in the hotel due to the attention and service we received from the employees. It was quiet, we felt safe AND we loved visiting with George and Martha (the swans in the hotel water feature!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelagegia, Manager at Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback.

You are very important to us. Our goal is to make the Embassy Suites Dulles your "home away from home" whenever you are in the area.

Kindly let me know if I can assist with anything before or during your next visit to the area.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Regards,
Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 13341 Woodland Park Road, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Herndon
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Dulles Airport 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Herndon
Herndon Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.